Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Learn more



on 6 January 2017
On a second reading, some years after the first, this episode of the series pleases even more than the first. Full of Hill`s subtle pointers to human foibles and laugh out loud observations, made in equal measure by cast and author alike, it is another triumph from an exceptional author. Pascoe gets star billing this time out, as Dalziel is relegated to a supporting role with cameos as Hill`s philosophical spokesman. A satisfying detective story and a worthy novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 February 2018
Love the Dalziel & Pascoe books and this was a great read as always
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 August 2015
Abridge version. Despite Dalziel being blown up in the opening minutes Pascoe does well to to put all the parts together in this story of terrorists, bombs, Templar ideology and insider betrayal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 March 2007
I tried to read this as slowly as possible to prolong the sheer self-hugging joy of it all but, of course,I was unequal to the task. Swept along by the helter-skelter pace of the story line, I paused only to look up all the words and references with which I was not familiar. (Quite a few, as usual, when reading Mr Hill). To describe the plot would probably render me fit only for a Dalzielesque verbal broadside from other readers, so all I can do is recommend it with all my heart.
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 January 2013
This could be almost a good read if it was reduced to 300 and some pages, 600 pages drifts into dribble and tedious monologue, page after page of boring script, there is a basis of a good story but staying with it is an act of endurance, I am determined to finish it leaving one of his books left to read that I got for Christmas.
Am I the only person who thinks this is a most overrated author?
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2016
He writes excellent plots and keeps you guessing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 April 2015
Not read this book yet,though expect it to be as good as previous books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 December 2012
D and p have grown in every sense over the years. This is first class. if you read this as your first you would start looking for the others. there are referenes to earlier books but not so as to spoil this one. but probably best not to read the later ones before this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 April 2014
Very poor , nothing like the other books, is the real author struggling for a decent plot x x x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 August 2014
The usual high class novel from one of the best authors around.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse