Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 December 2007
because this latest outing for Dalziel and Pascoe is utterly absorbing. The story is partly about vigilantes who are 'getting their own back' on Muslim terrorists, but also about the close friendships and relationships between the lead characters. It's laugh-out-loud funny in parts and eye-prickingly poignant and touching in others, and heart-thumpingly tense in others. The characters, even the cameos, are well drawn; the relationships between each of them are spot on; you really feel like you know these people.

On the crime side: the plot is tight and intricate, very cleverly detailed (in my inexperienced opinion anyway) and keeps you guessing right until the very last paragraph of the very last page. In the present climate the story is particularly relevant and I was aware that several instances or even just sentences Hill wrote made me think about things long after I'd finished the book.

However even if you're not in the mood for deep thinking, this is a rollicking good read. Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 December 2007
In this latest Dalziel and Pascoe offering, Hill combines the interest in Grail related themes in the form of the Knights Templar, and the Muslim terrorist threat to create a story that still seems fresh and new.

The usual cast of characters are there, Pascoe, Ellie, Rosie and Wield, though Dalziel is unconcious for most of the book, leaving Pascoe to carry the investigation largely on his own, with assistance from Wield.

Pascoe is seconded to work with the security services for much of the novel, and it is not clear who can or cannot be trusted there - is he there to help or is he being kept out of the way of the real investigation?

I wouldn't want to spoil the book for you by revealing too much of the details or the ending. Suffice to say if you are already a fan of Dalziel and Pascoe this latest outing will not disappoint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 5 October 2007
After a couple of what I consider to be slowish, overly "intellectual" tomes, Hill is seriously back on form with a witty and fast-paced story. Part of the denouement is a bit obvious but there is a surprise or two around the corner as well. Does Dalziel Die?

Not telling!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2007
I've read all the Dalziel and Pascoe novels and this is one of his best. I would put it second only to "On Beulah Height". It is topical, in that it is concerned with an investigation into terrorism, and it is unusual in that Dalziel is rendered unconscious and close to death by a bomb at the very outset. So the story is largely about Pascoe trying to find out who is responsible for the incapacitation of his boss. But it is also full of delightful humour including the mental adventures of the unconscious Dalziel. These adventures lead to a beautifully constructed twist at the end. A tightly constructed novel of high quality and a terrific read.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2011
I have a big problem with books giving a chapter of the next book at the end of the one you are reading. Sometimes you start reading and then think i have read this before. Then you think maybe i just read a bit . I went through both of these and then i realised i had read this before. I still kept reading it was just so good. Reginald Hill is so good , very witty , great characters, shame the tv series got rid of Ellie. She adds so much, as do all the supporting characters. The best bit Dalziel does not die , this does not qualify as a spoiler when we know he has written two more books about Dalziel and Pascoe
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2009
I don't read many crime novels, but I do love the Dalziel and Pascoe series. They are a wonderful double act that has evolved naturally over a number of years and stories. Unfortunately for most of this book Dalziel is hovering in a coma and Pascoe is trying to act as both parts of the partnership, the absence of the rest of the team doesn't help him either. The story and mystery rattle along, touching on a number of current issues in a very interesting way. I enjoyed reading the book, but was disappointed at the huge Dalziel shaped hole.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2008
I've always enjoyed the D&P novels but have felt a bit let down by the last few. This one follows in the same fashion - just not as good as they used to be!

An explosion leaves Andy Dalziel in a coma whilst Pascoe rushes about trying to solve the case. My problem is that I find Pascoe far and away the dull half of the duo, so it makes for a dull book. Dalziel pops up from time to time in odd little 'dream' sequences but the rest of the time it's Pascoe!

It's not really terrible, just a little bit .... erm, dull!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2007
Another book in the superb Dalziel & Pascoe series written by the prolific Reginald Hill

The plot and humour are superb and keep the pages turning
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2017
On a second reading, some years after the first, this episode of the series pleases even more than the first. Full of Hill`s subtle pointers to human foibles and laugh out loud observations, made in equal measure by cast and author alike, it is another triumph from an exceptional author. Pascoe gets star billing this time out, as Dalziel is relegated to a supporting role with cameos as Hill`s philosophical spokesman. A satisfying detective story and a worthy novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
This could be almost a good read if it was reduced to 300 and some pages, 600 pages drifts into dribble and tedious monologue, page after page of boring script, there is a basis of a good story but staying with it is an act of endurance, I am determined to finish it leaving one of his books left to read that I got for Christmas.
Am I the only person who thinks this is a most overrated author?
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse