Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
61
3.6 out of 5 stars
Cracks [DVD] [2009]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 14 April 2016
In so many ways this reminded me of the girls' school books of Elinor Brent Dyer (Chalet School series) and Elsie Oxenham (Abbey School series) and set in the 1930s it befits those so well. I couldn't help noticing that, in the early scenes for sure, Imogen Poots (Poppy) bears an uncanny resemblance to Kate Winslet (Juliet Hulme) in her first film Heavenly Creatures (1994). I enjoyed the film and it deserves the full 5 stars even though I felt the story lacked stimulus in the first hour and I confess to becoming just a little tired of it until things do eventually develop. The cinematography is excellent, filmed on location in Ireland and at Shepperton Studios. The soundtrack is also top class. I doubt I would watch it a second time.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2017
Four stars only because the film itself wasn't amazing. Eva Green's performance is superb but I wasn't keen on the storyline. I won't spoil it as it is still worth watching but elements of the film didn't sit well with me. Good acting performances throughout and would definitely use seller again as prompt delivery, well packaged and item in perfect new condition as stated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2016
Basically, I'll watch anything with the fabulous Eva Green in it and she doesn't disappoint in this. A familiar sort of Miss Jan Brodie tale but more sinister and brutal and no worse of for that. Definitely worth a watch.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2017
Cracks is slow and mostly predictable, but profound. You could argue the story deserves a more harrowing realisation, and I'd agree, but it's a pleasant little representation of a dark tale.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2015
Brilliant film! Eva Green is marvellous!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2017
fantastic film one the best films i seen
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 5 March 2016
Cracks is the directorial debut for Jordan Scott, Ridley's daughter. A period drama set in a girls boarding school in the 1930s, it's a neat psychological tale. It was filmed in County Wicklow and its strength comes not from dialogue, but from dramatic use of the camera to make the point and increase the tension.

The girls are besotted with teacher, Miss G, an eccentric and dark individual whose tall tales have the girl's captivated. She has her admirer within the group and ally's relatively well until a fiery newcomer upsets the balance of the relationships. The drama comes from the devastating effects as Miss G starts to unravel. This is a film which excels in strong and well drawn female characters. There are bits of Miss Jean Brodie and even Lord of the Flies. It's well acted and superbly directed. I'm surprised it hasn't received wider acclaim. Enjoyed it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2017
If you are not happy to watch a film mainly for the sake of watching the skillful (script and film edit wise as well as acting) unfolding of a particular character, then you probably won't get much out of this.

I personally find Eva Green very enthralling and enigmatic, which has very likely indeed increased my star rating of this film (i.e. in contrast to if another actress that I might personally tend to find less so did it). So, if your reception towards Eva Green tends to be different....

The `sad ending' (or nearly ending) that has been mentioned in other reviews I guess is one that had to be quite so much so given it's description of `drama' and `thriller'. Though, in itself not (for me personally) `enjoyable'. And probably needed to make a credible change between what was in the beginning and what was in the end, given the time and the power the main character seemed to have (whether this is at all likely or accurate representation for the time I don't know) over this group of children. Though, the fact that other teachers tended to said group of children at different points would perhaps seem to contradict that desired affect slightly, and taint it a little with confusion. But I assume that is from teachers having different night watches or something. But, that is rather digressing...
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
Really enjoyable movie, set in a girls boarding school, with a teacher who always seemed to take them swimming outside rather than doing lessons, even waking the girls up to drag them out of their beds, a teacher who definitely lives in a fantasy world, I could guess what was going to happen once I noticed the new spanish girl Fiammas condition, but it had an ending which was unexpected and I liked that about the film.
I bought the movie soundtrack first as it is beautiful, Javier Navarrete is a wonderful composer. (he also did PAN'S LABYRINTH music) so couldnt wait to get hold of the DVD after the soundtrack.
Di (Juno Temple) played a great part in the film as the main character and gang leader of the girls.
Put the kettle on, get in your cosy chair and enjoy this girly film
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 28 January 2010
The familiar story of the inspirational teacher is given a deliciously sinister twist in this adaptation of the Sheila Kohler's novel by Jordan Scott. Set in a boarding school in the 1930s, a group of schoolgirls under the thrall of daring glamorous diving instructor Miss G is shook up by the arrival of a talented and exotic new girl. Eva Green at first comes across as a little mannered and not totally convincing, but her Joan Crawford impersonation ends up being appropriate and suited to her character and she carries it off well. The story perhaps doesn't delve as deeply into the strange alien world of the female adolescent mindset as some other recent foreign films on the subject (Innocence,Water Lilies), following instead a mostly conventional line on bullying and female power games - but even that gives rise to events that are truly shocking and all too believable. Beautifully photographed - you'd expect that at least from the daughter of Ridley - with excellent, natural performances from the girls, Cracks is a strong debut from Jordan Scott.
0Comment| 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here