Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
100
4.1 out of 5 stars
Bright Star [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 30 April 2010
No film has the quality of depth, truth and heartfelt simplicity as Jane Campion movie. What Jane Campion brings to the screen is a way of experiencing life that has almost gone lost in this day and age; a slowness and a way of experiencing every moment to the fullest extend and be allowed to sink into the understanding of words never spoken together with the full meaning of potent words spoken with earnest feelings.

As in the Piano, every scene is a picture of poetry in itself and it is an eye delight to watch every scene in this completely delightful moving and dramatic romance.

Fanny Brawne is an accomplished artist herself with her needle and thread, and as Keats produces his lovely loving and anguished poems, she in her way crates little masterpieces of clothing for herself which depicts her changing moods compellingly.

Go for it it is a gem of a film, a bright 6 star movie - Far surpassing most of the movies made to portrait the artists of the age and this particular period of age generally, because this is a small believable peephole into the life and love of Keats and an eyeopener to Keats genius for those not already in love with and familiar with his poems.

I totally loved it and will enjoy seeing it again and again in the future for the sheer joy of Campions talent and the brilliant actors going all the way to show us their capacity for feeling and being true to what they felt portraying John keats and Fanny Brawne. I believed in it.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2012
I saw the film when it first came out, and i have read Andrew Motions's biography about Keats. The film made me cry at the end, like it would have for most anybody who has a heart and has lived any normal sort of life - lust, love, longing and loss. I don't know if it is really absolutely true to Keats's story, because although you have his wonderful and eventually tragic letters to guide you (and all of his biographers), there must be many things that he experienced that didn't make it into the public domain.. Another reviewer here said something about the fact Keats might have used brothels up to and including his courtship of Fanny Brawne - I would think that was almost bound to be true, judging by the way society worked in those days. He probably didn't think there was anything much wrong with it, and I don't think it should make him deserve our affections any less. Putting people on pedestals only makes for a bigger fall. Apart from all that, there is no disputing the unbearable sadness of the story - a young man, struggling with poverty and a horrendous illness, unable to marry the woman he loves and his work ignored in his all too short lifetime. It is a beautiful film, and I would recommend it. Take plenty of paper hankies and be prepared to have your heart squeezed at the end. Then go to Keats House in Hampstead, close your eyes and try to imagine him there, living, working, and falling in love with the girl next door.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2016
Probably not the greatest film ever made but I really enjoyed it this biography of the brilliant young poet John Keats because of a) the education into the excellence and breadth of the work he achieved before his death aged 25, b) the uncynical exploration of his romantic liaison with girl next door Fanny Brawne and c) the portrayal of a relatively normal & relaxed 19th century family, neither aristocratic nor poverty-stricken and not in service either and behaving to each other like normal non-dysfunctional people often do in real life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2012
A very real and moving drama that subtly depicts the passion and heartache of first love with beautiful attention to detail and stunning cinematography.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2017
This is an achingly beautiful and poignant tale. Visually stunning with amazing cinematography and superbly directed by Jane Campion. Abbie Cornish and Ben Wishaw are entirely convincing in their roles as Keats and Fanny ,their performances are nothing less than spectacular, they inhabit their characters in such a way that you truly care about them. This is a wonderfully evocative depiction of romantic love and is an absolute feast for the senses. Film making of the highest order.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2011
This is an unusual film. I would rate its period setting as first class. The acting of all the characters in this dvd was thoughtful and natural. The delightful little girl who played Fanny Brawne's younger sister, was charming. The film had a stillness and restraint about it that is really powerful. Not for people who like a lot of action. However, I hope to keep it for some time to come, it certainly deserves more than one view.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2010
BRIGHT STAR deserves 5 for the stunning photography, costumes, and set decoration alone. But you get so much more than that. It's a subtle, deliciously Romantic film with great acting (just watch the little girl Toots discovering Keats lying in the garden!) , and a very good script, clearly written by a woman. Dialogues are well-crafted and so full of subtext it's worth several views. If you want to get a taste of the world of the Romantics, this is surely a film to see. And SEEING is the word here. Nothing less than visual poetry! So far no BD, but DVD pic quality makes this almost unnecessary.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2015
I love everything about this film! Jane Campion is a masterful director, her rendition of this true love story is both powerful and sensitive, Ben Whishaw, Abbie Cornish and Paul Schneider give brilliant performances, totally embodying their characters, the costumes are gorgeous, the story captivating, and every frame of the film is a work of art. Simply gorgeous!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2011
Anyone familiar with Jane Campion's work will not be disappointed, this film is a treat for the romantic soul and a feast for the visual palate. Ben Whishaw is simply splendid as Keats and Abbie Cornish takes the role of Fanny Brawne and delivers a bold yet tender and vulnerable lead that haunts you. Every scene is poetry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2010
Admittedly, beautiful, heritage coloured paint, but paint still. It was so slow that by half way through I was yelling "for goodness sake, hurry up and get consumption!"
That fact that nothing happens leaves one free to dwell on how utterly unrealistic is this lovely dream-like vision of the early 19th century that we are presented with (though granted Campion and her designer are far from the only offenders in this). From the brilliant white paint on the walls to the many candles in every room almost everything about this vision is a 21st century invention. The heroine appears in an endless series of gorgeous silk dresses, just to hang around at home! Even given the explanation that she sews them herself, how on earth would she afford so many sumptous materials? Then there's my bete noir, a howler which appears in almost every costume drama, woman in organza dresses at Christmas. Do they have any idea how cold those houses were? Why do you think he had to go to Italy?
Of course none of these niggles would be noticed if there was a story to distract the viewer instead of just an endless sequence of beautifully composed pictures.
22 Comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)