Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
27
4.7 out of 5 stars
Memento Mori
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99


on 31 July 2017
Solid rock album with cutting vocals and amazing rythm section
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 11 November 2009
'Memento Mori' is Flyleaf's second album.
Their eponymously titled 2007 debut was a fine
piece of work saturated with good dark energy
and given solid earthly form by their energetic
and wholly credible singer Lacey Mosely.
It was a raw, rough and ready affair which
pointed to a bright future.

The future is now and their new collection of
fourteen songs and a brief sonic interlude is
an even more accomplished affair.
The electricity is still there but the band's
sound has a more highly polished finish thanks
to Howard Benson's notable production skills.

There are some good tunes here and Ms Mosely
sings them well. The dual guitars of Messrs
Bhattacharya and Hartmann, the bass of Mr Seals
and, in particular the fine drumming of Mr Culpepper
give her a solid platform upon which to shine.

Standout tracks would have to include 'Missing'
and 'This Close' which both manage to combine
infectiously edgy riffs with rousing choruses.
The chiming chords and echoing vocal harmonies
of the latter are particularly affecting.

'Swept Away' is a dense and angular composition bristling
with howling feedback and clattering percussion.
The musical box ending is a haunting idea.

'Treasure' gives Ms Mosely the chance to exploit the
full range of her not insignificant vocal skills.
From a well-controlled fragile vibrato to full-throttle
larynx-rattling top notes she is never less than in full
command of her instrument. A cracking performance.

'Uncle Bobby' delivers a sinister and emotional conclusion.

For those, like myself, who were bitterly disappointed
with Paramore's recent release 'Brand New Eyes' Flyleaf
offer a stimulating and worthy alternative.

'Memento Mori' deserves to be remembered.

Highly Recommended.
66 Comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2011
Flyleaf are a curious band - originating from Texas with a distinctly grunge-metal feel yet held together by a thin-voiced ex-drug addict singer who laces an indisputable pop vibe to their sound. Their debut self-titled album certainly got me talking - short, punchy songs with raw, screaming vocals and a running theme of real-life stories tying the album together. There was no denying their Christian influences, but what has always been impressive about Flyleaf is their ability to take a story with links to their faith and make it applicable to anything in life. Telling the stories of other people's, and their own, tragedies was expertly done but in a way that still sounded as raw and intense as they no doubt wanted it to seem. They were a metal band with a message.
Their second album was widely anticipated by their fanbase, mostly because of the wait they had had to endure - but let me tell you, it does not dissapoint. Most critics repeatedly talk of bands' "sophomore slumps", pinpointing the second album as the most difficult, and perhaps that is why they took so long making it. Each song has a definite place here and each song is as epic (actually, even more epic) than the songs on their last album.
What strikes most about this album is its huge feel - it feels like the world is ending during the recording of some of these songs. It is truly a biblical sensation, and although a lot of that does come from Christian-driven lyrics that lead singer Lacey Mosley writes these songs could just as easily entail a modern day fable. This album is a concept album to much greater effect than Green Day's last effort "21st Century Breakdown", which had no tangible themes and little recurrance throughout, and it's not even noticable whether it was intentional.
Firstly the title of the album itself, reminding to be aware of your mortality, is something that immediately adds a sinister feel to this album. Then there's the crashing army of guitars plowing down through Drop-D tunings with pinch harmonics and tremolo palm-muting, with the equally heavy crunch of the bass. Add solid drumbeats and Mosley's astonishing vocals and you're got an amazing album.
Mosley herself displays a wide variety of sounds to a once one-dimensional voice - from the screaming the fans loved on their debut, to the Texas drawl in parts of songs like Again and This Close, the quiet and thinly voiced breakdowns where she's barely whispering her lyrics and finally the huge operatic belting found in songs like the cataclysmic Circle and Arise.
The album moves through different scenarios, such as worship, disgust, love and , again, that end of the world theme. Songs like Tiny Heart, Treasure, Again, Missing and Set Apart This Dream will please the more mainstream audience they have picked up, while old school fans will be left drooling at the sheer horror of numbers like Chasm, The Kind, In The Dark, Swept Away and the 2 finale tracks to the album (Uncle Bobby being a bonus track). There is a lot to be loved about this album, and is a definite must-have for not only Flyleaf fans, but for fans of other metal-pop outfits like Evenescance and even the odd Paramore fan who isn't looking for pure pop-rock.
A definite and rare improvement from their first album.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 November 2010
Like the rest of my ancient associates I just love to complain how things will not be as good as....
So it is with much joy I signal to my contemporaries `Take a Listen to Flyleaf'! This is a an album full of drive, energy, clear and impressive guitar work as well as a powerhouse of a woman vocalist comfortable with soft, angry and just plain...LOUD, add to that she sings intelligibly and...well!!.
Normally it's the convention to concentrate on the vocalist, but to be fair Flyleaf is a true band effort, behind the words are hard drivin' musicians who aren't just grinding out the tunes; they are completing and complementing the singing.
(And truth be known my colleagues, unlike our day, we have songs here which consistently make sense).
Just the sort of music to get the old blood racing, I listen frequently during my lunch break, certainly sets me up for the afternoon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2010
The first album was an absolute joy, but for my money had a couple of tracks that filled, in amongst sheer genius, and it became 5 stars purely for the fine Acoustics versions. This effort however flows more consistantly, and is dark haunting and poignant throughout. Stand out tracks well, really hard to say as they all have their moments when their come to the surface. the album was a 4 star for me until I saw them live and thereafter the album has been on repeat and gets status as a 5 star effort.

It is one of those rare breed of albums where theres no need to press skip !!!!

My personal favourite tracks are Again, Missing and the evocative Arise with its inspirational yet haunting refrain.

A band that desrves so much more recognition this side of the pond, and Laceys vocal is fragile, ethereal and brutal in equal measures.

Great stuff
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2010
Like some other reviewers I wasn't too impressed at first with this and thought the songs had a few new production 'gimmicks' but weren't as high quality songs as the previous album. But after a lot more listens I've really changed my mind and find myself wanting to listen to MM more than Flyleaf. I'm not religious and some of the lyrics are a little cringeworthy but that really doesn't detract imo. And Circle & Arise - what an epic way to finish. Brilliant stuff.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2013
This is the second Flyleaf disk I have purchased. I bought this without hearing any tracks based upon the strength of the self titled
Flyleaf album. I was not disappointed, the high standard of the first album is maintained throughout. If you are a fan of Evanescence this will be an eyeopener..same genre but tighter and in my opinion much superior
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2010
I thought Flyleaf's first album was pretty good. No doubt, Lacey's vocals mixed with the intricate guitar work and liquid melodies of this new album are just above and beyond anything the band have ever done before. For the first time I feel a connection to the lyrics and the tunes are kickass. I'd say this is my favourite female fronted rock band release this year; and that's up against the allmighty The Pretty Wreckless.
It's noticable that the band is heading in a more early Paramore-esque direction, but I think Flyleaf are a lot more promising - these tunes are awesome! Treasure, Arise and This Close are some of the best from the album and stick in your head in a really good way.
There's something unique about this band; the heavy rock/soaring vocals/haunting instrumentation combo just beats its' competitors by miles.
If you're a fan of Paramore, Evanescence or Stream of Passion you'll love this - gauranteed! If you're not, then you'll probably still get a lot out of it. 3rd album, please!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2010
After a long time since the first official album stormed America and gave them gradually growing cult success in Europe, here is the second. It is not reallt too different from the first album, but that is no bad thing at all. It is just as catchy, with similar huge choruses, melodies, hooks as the first. There may not really be any tunes as huge and great as Fully Alive, All Around Me, or Cassie but a good many of the tunes are really great big stormin songs, with heavy riffs and uplifting positive lyrics once again. However they do stretch themselves musically, using different instruments, melodies, and the vocals are much more developed and used in more interesting ways.Fantastic return for a special heavy band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2010
I bought this album shortly after it was released, as I had heard of them previously and heard some of their old songs, so I was eager to hear more of them and see if they'd improved etc. Memento Mori is an awesome album and I'd definitely recommend it to people that are fans of Paramore or Versaemerge. My favourite song from the album is most probably "This Close" people can relate to the song quite a bit I'd say. Also "Beautiful Bride" and "Again" are also great songs and I think they've chosen the best songs to make into videos from the album first.

Well done Flyleaf and keep up the good work! I hope to hear more from you!

Gemma C
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)