Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
186
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£3.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 July 2017
Great item
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2017
This album has three excellent tracks and lots of okay or so-so ones too. So if you, like me, happen to dig the two hit singles and want them on cd, then it's definitely worth your while to get it. If you do not own or use a cd-player, (or even recognise what it is) the you are definitely better off just buying the tracks as downloadable ones. However,

I wanted the album to play in my car, which purpose this serves well. I might even grow to like the album as a whole. There is a definite dichotomy to it, I must admit. But it is still early days to really make a definitive conclusion of the artistic quality of the piece.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2010
It is no secret that a lot of Biffy Clyro's longer-serving fans are disillusioned with the direction the band are taking. A move towards the mainsteam has seen them start to produce more polished, rounded recordings, compared to the heavy, angst-filled grunge that they wrote and performed so explosively on their debut album, 'Blackened Sky'.

Their musical journey has seen them grace aspects of prog, metal, and the brand of pre-emo which Pearl Jam and Weezer accomplished before them. Throughout their career as musicians, Biffy's creativity has to be their most delightful attribute. The time changes and instrumental fills, as well as the majestic and sometimes outrageous lyrics that grace 'Blackened Sky', 'The Vertigo of Bliss' and 'Infinity Land' make for genuinely interesting and thrilling music.

With 'Puzzle' came a sound more suited to, for want of a better word, 'pop'. Biffy had finally hit the mainstream, and to some extent, following the progression of their earlier albums, this was a natural move. 'Puzzle' blended the band's thirst for new ideas and concepts with frontman Simon Neil's grief and apathy following his mother's death, with a smoother sound which the band hadn't looked to release before.

With 'Only Revolutions' comes the band's triumphant proclamation that they have made it big on the rock scene. This album is packed full of massive songs, with huge choruses and heart-felt lyrics. It bleeds power and emotion from start to finish. Almost every song is anthemic in terms of content and quality. As a fan of Biffy's older material as well as their new, this album is just as good as any of the others- it is just different to how they began. And what is wrong with that? After all, there would be no point recording the same music over and over again.

'Only Revolutions' is the finished concoction of Biffy's trademark big choruses and heavy guitar riffs, with orchestral sections for an added dimension on a number of tracks- as used to great effect on 'Living is a problem' and '9/15ths' on 'Puzzle'- and a mainstream accessibility which is hard to pin down. It isn't the absence of irregular time signatures- 'Cloud of Stink' and 'Whorses' provide these in seemless fashion. It isn't the absence of powerful, dirty guitars- an immense instrumental section on 'Bubbles', which features Josh Homme, is testament enough to this, or indeed the thought-provoking lyrics, which are everywhere- 'Many Of Horror', one of the most poignant tracks on the album, being a prime example. Perhaps it is just an awareness that now the band are writing for the fans, rather than the relatioship being the other way round, with the fans being written as a result of the music.

Make no mistake, this is a superb album. A combination of brilliantly written songs, complete with heavy instrumental sections and pieces of melodic and lyrical genius (such as the beautiful 'God And Satan' deomonstrates), this album will appeal to any fan of rock music. The band's famed quirkiness and innovation (the irresistibly eccentric 'Born On A Horse') are there, as are the ingredients of any other memorable rock album.

Practically every song on the album could be a potential single release, such is the strength of each as an individual piece. However, this is perhaps a case of the album's strength being its weakness. It doesn't flow in the same what that 'Puzzle' or 'The Vertigo Of Bliss' does. 'Only Revolutions' is, perhaps, a collection of songs, rather than an album.

That said, it is a collection of exceptionally good songs. Loud, quiet, heavy, soft, love, anger- it is all there. Whether it is the pulsating instrumental breakdown in 'That Golden Rule', or the arms-in-the-air anthem that is 'Mountains', 'Only Revolutions' does fulfil almost every hope and expectation for such an album- except, maybe, the desires of the band's original fans. This is indeed a revolution: and it sure is a good one.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2010
Only Revolutions

Have heard mixed reviews before purchasing this album. From the music that I had heard from it I thought it would be worth a punt.

I'm glad I did as It's one of the best albums I've bought for a while. Very powerfull and moving.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2009
Now I'm going to try and review this album in isolation. This is going to be really hard because I've been a fan of the Biffy for a long, long time and my internal fanboy is screaming to slate certain parts of this album, but I will resist until later.

This a strong rock album; much better than a lot of the dross that is currently circulating the Chart toilet bowl. It has catchy sing-a-long choruses and well written, memorable songs. As a snapshot of modern rock it's brilliant and shows that there can be still very eclectic side to rock music. This album firmly shows two fingers to all the Sassenach indie bands that are constantly farted out on Radio 1 playlists. For general fans of pop/rock music this is excellent and I fully recommend that you buy it if you're looking for something different.

Now for the fanboy review....
If you're looking for old Biffy then you're not going to find it here. This band has changed greatly since their first three albums. This radio friendly, slickly produced album continues and enlarges what Puzzle started with tracks like The Captain and Mountains being instant radio hits. If you're very open minded about this then you will be able to appreciate what's on here, but don't think you're going to get much of what was on Blackened Sky, The Vertigo of Bliss and Infinity Land. Admittedly, Biffy Clyro were a niche band; they had a small following and a very, very alternative sound, so this is them trying to broaden their appeal. It will not sit well with some of the old fans, but personally I can appreciate what they're trying to do. It's not my favourite album by a long shot, but it does show originality and spirit that is sadly lacking in current popular rock music.
33 Comments| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2009
The release of 2007's Puzzle saw Kilmarnock's Biffy Clyro garnering an evergrowing
fanbase. Featuring driving, angular rock and some truly anthemic choruses, it appeared to mark their preparation for rightful ascent into the mainstream consciousness.

Perhaps in an attempt to reassure the Biffy 'faithful' (a fervently elitist group refusing to acknowledge any of the band's musical output post-Infinity Land) looking for another `Vertigo of Bliss', record company hype would have us believe Only Revolutions marks a departure from the more commercial leanings of Puzzle. A puzzling (no pun intended) claim then considering that - if anything - it sees Simon Neil and his crew travel further down that path than ever before.

The last 18 months have seen reassuring glimpses of brilliance in the form of
the album's first two singles 'Mountains' and, more recently, `That Golden
Rule'. Both are standout tracks, yet strangely at odds with an album equal
parts pure awesomeness and missed opportunity. It is either testament to the band's strengths or representative of flawed genius that they feel confident enough to relegate such gems as `Time Jazz' and `Eyelids' (That Golden Rule EP) to mere B sides. Yet it is precisely this apparent lack of focus that has produced much criticism in the past, viewed by many as an inability to recognise standout tracks from their own (admittedly prolific) catalogue.

Opener `The Captain' is perhaps the band's most obvious attempt at a hit
single yet, a mantra-like chorus held aloft on a wave of stabbing horns. Met
with more than a little derision by the internet faithful on its release as a
single, it's a definite grower and sure to get fists pumping at festivals across
the land next year. Perhaps the album's biggest surprise comes with the arrival early on of `Bubbles'. A remarkably uplifting gem, it marks Biffy's growing mastery of melody and songwriting dynamics on a track surely destined for future classic status.

`Born on a Horse' boasts an elastic bassline that would be at home on either
of the last two Muse albums. Despite Simon Neil's intriguing, trademark angular riffs and offbeat-but-ever-so-slightly-funky time signature, it ultimately fails to get off the ground. In an album seemingly in thrall to the mystery of
relationships (the title Only Revolutions is drawn from Mark Z. Danielewski's
novel of the same name - a story that explores the nature of relationships)
`Shock Shock' is all relationship angst and raw fury as Neil spits "I don't even
know what the f*ck we're still arguing about".

Puzzle also marked a newfound strength for the band in ballad territory,
featuring crowd favourites `Folding Stars' and `As Dust Dances'. Revolutions
continues this trend with `Many of Horror', a sincere, heartfelt pledge sure to
see lighters aloft live. The album picks up pace towards its close with the
unbridled optimism of tracks such as the rather oddly-titled `Cloud of Stink'
during which Neil invites us to "Swing if you wanna swing" followed by `Whorses' and its relentlessly infectious blend of swelling melody and driving
beats (the less said about `Know Your Quarry' the better).

Album closer `Sky Demon' is a rather paint-by-numbers exercise in versechorus-
verse blandness, ending the album on a strangely disconnected note. It is precisely this lack of cohesiveness that represents Only Revolutions' biggest problem. For every standout track (of which there are many) there is simply uninspired filler waiting in the wings. The resulting whole comes across as confused, inspired and chaotic all at once - making for a strangely disaffecting listen.

Here's to the next album then boys.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2009
Not that is a bad thing however, yes the band have moved on and im afraid to say moshing to biffys songs at gigs is now over as these songs are heavy, but not heavy enough to mosh too such as songs like toys, toys, toys and jaggy snake on their pre puzzle albums.

Im afraid to say to old fans that old biffy is dead, the band have moved on so if you are a fan of the first 3 albums and despise puzzle, then this is not the album for you however i do recommend a listen as some songs such as bubbles and born on a horse could fit quite well on blackened sky and v.o.b. this album is worth a listen and i do not regret buying, but it is a shame old biffy are dead as the concerts will unlikely hear such classics as jaggy snake and strung to your ribcage ever again but i guess i have to accept that the band have moved on and get used to it.

overall if you hated puzzle and loved the pre puzzle albums then i don't recommend only revolutions as it will just get you worked up and angry that biffy have changed, if i have to compare this album to other bands ill say lost prophets and muse and if i could recommend a song it will be bubbles, and if i can recommend a song not to listen to it will be the captain as this song, new biffy or old, is utterly terrible and i can imagine it being sung round pubs and football grounds as it has that karaoke sing along feel to it which i hate.

to sum up: if you like the changed biffy then you will love this album if not then you probably won't, its heavy but in my opinion not heavy enough and one last thing, just skip the captain i don't know what simon and the gang were on when they decided to change the original b side, help me become captain, into this tat.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2010
This dynamic music touches places others can't reach! Biffy Clyro hit top form in Only Revolutions. This is like sticking your head into a hurricane or walking up a mountain in a gale, invigorating! Play it to your gran and she will probably throw away her walking stick and start jiving. I got interested in Biffy Clyro because of the iconoclastic "God & Satan" track laughing at superstition and the walking on water story, see their video on youtube!. See Kenneth Humphreys book and website "Jesusneverexisted" which asks if there is any evidence that Jesus ever lived? The Golden rule is a good idea & part of humanity's shared moral core. [Valerie Tarico writes about this in 'Trusting doubt']It is ascribed by the gospel writers to Jesus but infact it was wide spread centuries before,Egyptian Maat 1600BCE "Do to the doer to cause that he do", 800BCE" That which you hate to be done to you do not do to another", Greek Pittacus 640BCE wrote it too. Biffy Clyro often uses religious terminology but in alternative scenarios -as in the awesome Bubbles track. In "God & Satan" Simon Neil sings "I make you miserable, you stick with me though you know I'm only gonna ruin your life"."Iatrogenic" is a disease caused entirely by the attending physician and his prescribed remedy. Christianity does the same thing by causing terrible fear of hell and then giving a perceived relief by belief in salvation. Quite cruel when the hell myth looks to have been dreamed up by the Egyptians in the papyrus of ani book of the dead. [There is a major exhibit of this at the British museum, london]. Did you know the gospel writers made Jesus say he would return in the first century see Matt 16v28, Matt 26v64, Mark 9v1, Mark 13v30. Rationally, people should be sceptical. The gospel has him rising up in the sky to get to heaven Acts 1v9 ;where was he meant to be going? there is nothing up there!

That golden rule, mountains and shock shock are songs I enjoyed on the radio without twiggin who wrote them. They are all great.
Many of Horror, Booooom, blast & ruin, Cloud of stink, know your quarry are also zinging.
Only Revolutions speaks to me about the revolution that has happened in the last decades where Science and bible analysis has given a new interpretation to books like the Bible. See R. Dawkins "God Delusion" or "The Christian delusion" by J. Loftus or "Jesus Puzzle" Earl Doherty or "The god who wasn't there" DVD. We are entering the Age of Reason, the new enlightenment where we realise this universe could have happened all by itself, we evolved, there is no supernatural, we have nothing to fear, we are free to celebrate and enjoy our life. "Whorses" - Jesus seems to have been mistaken about a supernatural realm, put your faith in the scientific fact of Evolution and cry "Freedom". Humanity can be more loving and caring without the out of date religions.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2009
Don't get me wrong, Biffy are a great band. In my eyes, they've produced some of my favourite songs of all time, and are always electric live. But one of the things that I love most about them is their ability to adapt and progress with the times, unlike other notable Brit rock luminaries. It's what defines a great band in my eyes - none of your stagnation and churning out the same style over substance records that some others do.
I'm good friends with a fair few "hardcore" Biffy fans, and none of them were all that impressed with their previous offering - "Puzzle". I, however, thought that it was a brilliant piece of pop, served up with a hefty slice of Biffy's signature angular originality. "Only Revolutions" follows this through to the next logical progressive level.

Some have commented on the lyrics being slightly lesser than on some of their other records, which I do agree with. But, please, have you heard the lyrics from most other releases this year? They're pretty terrible, and fairly comparing Revolutions lyrical content to these other albums will show that although Biffy's lyrical talents may have slipped slightly with this release; they're still miles ahead of their peers.

Musically, I think that the album flows pretty well, and gives a much more hopeful outlook than Puzzles did. It is the most produced record Biffy have produced to date, and thus they do lose some of their signature grittiness. You can definitely see where some Marmaduke Duke influences have slipped into some of the songs ("Born on a Horse" being a prime example); but in my opinion it's a healthy balancer, and a pointer to what Biffy are trying to achieve.

I do cringe a bit when I'm reminded of when the band came out and said that Revolutions was going to be going back to "old" Biffy territory. A couple of tracks do pertain to this ("Shock Shock" and "Cloud of Stink") by edging towards the slightly scuzzier feel of Vertigo, but most of the tracks are pretty fresh and generally follow the new Biffy direction. As for the singles; Mountains fits perfectly into the flow of the album and is still as strong as it was when it was first released; Golden Rule could've been placed a bit further back into the album, as it does feel a bit weaker here. Now; Captain. When I first heard it, I almost wept. It just seemed so wrong, out-of-place, over-produced, un-inspiring...devoid of "Biffy-ness". But placing it as the starting track of Revolutions is inspired. It really sets the direction for the rest of the tracklist and is a slight hint at what is to come.

Unfortunately, it's only a four star album. At the end of the day, it's pretty damn good pop record, but it's by no means as commanding & defining as Puzzle, nor as exciting as Blackened Sky.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2009
I've been a fan of Biffy Clyro since 2003 and Vertigo of Bliss has always been one of my favourite albums of all time. When Puzzle came out in 2007 I must admit I thought they were steering too far off from their signature genre and I never thought they'd bring out another album quite like the first two although I do still love both Infinity Land and Puzzle. When I first heard Mountains I wasn't interested but after a couple of listens I began to love it and the same thing happened with That Golden Rule and The Captain. I was beginning to get excited for the album and I pre-ordered the limited edition boxset off their official website without looking back once. the album came and I listened to the whole thing through and it is phenomenal. It put me in such a good mood listening to it. The fantastic outro to That Golden Rule was so much Biffy Clyro and listening to Bubbles I felt it was one of the best songs they'd written since All The Way Down; Prologue Chapter 1 on Vertigo of Bliss. God and Satan reminded me of Machines on Puzzle which I loved but with a classic Biffy twist on time signature at the end of the song.

The song Many Of Horror is my favourite on the album, I worked out most of the song by ear on guitar and I can't help but to sing it out loud almost every time I hear it and I can't listen to the song just once at a time, it's such a great song and I can't get over it. The singing in the verses of Cloud of Stink originally repelled me from the song but the more I hear it the more I enjoy it. There's not one song on this album I dislike, which is difficult to accomplish from any band. Buy this album, any Biffy fan from way back should love this album and not boycott them purely because they're well-known and famous because of Puzzle, it's a great album and it shall forever remain as a favourite.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here