Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
24
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.03+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 5 February 2010
Fyfe's first solo album is a mixed affair in terms of sound and emotion, jumping easily through jubilant songs such as the opening track, 'When You Walk in the Room', and laments on lost love like the beautiful 'Barricades'. If you are coming to this album having heard and liked the Guillemots albums then you may be surprised as this is quite different; a collection of brilliant, yet simple, pop songs, rather than a lush experiment in creating soundscapes. The only track that sounds to me like it could have been on a Guillemots album is 'So Brand New', the song from which the album title comes.

Recorded after a break-up, it deals with the singer's feelings about the relationship. There are the exuberant high points that come out in the first track and songs such as lead single 'She Needs Me' with its soaring chorus, or 'High on the Tide', which has a lazy, laid-back summer feel. On the flip side are the tormented, introspective songs that deal with the aftermath; with lyrics such as 'love is a crippled dream', they are not easy to listen to, yet the pain often translates into something beautiful. The plaintive 'Livewire' with its finger-style acoustic guitar backing is another stand-out.

This is a strong body of work, with all tracks intelligent and well-written. The choruses of the upbeat songs are catchy and will stick in your head, while it is difficult at times to stop listening to the more introspective tracks. The joyous songs are good, but it is the quieter tracks which show Fyfe at his strongest. He has a knack of writing fantastic ballads. Yet it is this that perhaps is the downfall of the album; it feels at times that the album is mired in this melancholic, instrospective mood and the pace is somewhat similar throughout.

Despite this, it still comes highly recommend. If you can find the special edition with the bonus disc then snap it up. The extra ten tracks on this bonus disc are just as good as the standard album.
22 Comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
'Fly Yellow Moon', indie-band Guillemot's founder Fyfe Dangerfield's debut album is one of the most instantly engaging that I have heard in a long time. I bought it primarily for the hit single, 'She's Always A Woman', a cover of the Billy Joel classic, which was used in the John Lewis television adverts a few years ago, and it's appearance on a compilation ('My Songs 2014') that I recently purchased, helped to jog my memory of it's existence. However, as soon as I heard the excellent, self-penned (the first of nine) opener, 'When You Walk In The Room', I found myself playing it over-and-over before I even thought about listening to the rest of the album, this indie-rock song and Fyles' vocals grabbed me from the very first listen.

Fast becoming one of my most played albums, I think Fyfe has a terrific voice, and 'Fly Yellow Moon' is packed with great, diverse, intelligently written songs. I would have been happy with just 'She's Always A Woman', and a couple of decent tracks on board, but I do like all of them. 'Livewire' is a lovely ballad, the melancholy 'Firebrand' is a nice and mellow tune, and the superb, dark 'Faster Than The Setting Sun', a single that surprisingly failed to chart, is a real standout.

An all around fantastic musician, please don't leave it as long as I did, buy this addictive and rounded album today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2010
I am disappointed, but not surprised, that this album did not bother the charts. Fyfe is one of the most precious talents of the modern era.
A great little album that very quietly grabs hold of you and makes your life feel better for having listened to it.

some songs are instant, others are growers. None are fillers.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2010
I wasn't familiar with Fyfe Dangerfield's work and bought this album on the basis of a favourable review. But it is utterly delightful. it reminds me in some ways of early Crowded House although simpler lyrically and with less ornamental melodies. It has a freshness about it that will make you want to listen to it again and again. The arrangements and his voice are very clear which makes enjoying the lyrics so much easier. It's not an album for the hard rockers in the audience but if you like a good singing voice and sweet melodies you'll certainly enjoy this lovely album
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2010
Lead single, 'She needs me' and 'So Brand New' are the truly stand out moments but backed up by the most amazing and powerful lyrics throughout the remaining tracks makes this an essential listen, I throroughly recommend this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2010
I bought this album because I enjoyed Fyfe's work with Guillemots and, in many ways, it contains both the strengths and weaknesses of the recorded material of that band. Fyfe is an excellent songwriter and arranger who likes to experiment with different styles: sometimes it works, sometimes not. On "Fly Yellow Moon", the first section of the album works, the music is effective and the songs run coherently together, whereas there is a drop-off during the latter part, so that the "album experience" is weakened: in this instance it may be that sampling and downloading individual songs may be more profitable than buying the album.

"When You Walk in the Room" kicks off the album in fine style: it's boppy with a good pace, there's some good guitar work - it's a great pop song, very catchy. The lyrics of "So Brand New" give rise to the album's title, "fly yellow moon" is embedded in the forst verse - this is also catchy but less overtly poppy than the opener: another good song. "Barricades" features a very pretty melody sung to a piano accompaniment, then later some orchestral strings are added to the arrangement. "High on the Tide" continues this series of catchy, melodic songs, the accompaniment this time centres around strummed acoustic guitar. So far, the arrangements have given us four different musical "flavours" in as many songs, but melodically they have all been superb.

The mood then changes: "Faster Than the Setting Sun" has darker timbres and moods, and although catchy, is one of those of Fyfe's songs that begins to divide teh fans. "Livewire" is much quieter, a pretty melody sung to acoustic guitar, and then "Firebird" is similar, only this time the piano accompaniment dominates. Both these are pretty, but very laid back: "She Needs Me" offsets this mood, being more dramatic, but its quality doesn't approach the best songs on the album and as a result the run of three songs from "Livewire" has lost the album the momentum that it had and "Don't Be Shy"'s melancholia is insufficient to regain it. "Any Direction" is poppier but the synthetic drum sound irritates, putting me off what might otherwise be a good song.

The last three songs in particular are the poorest on the album, which leaves an anticlimatic feeling.

So, overall, whilst there are some excellent songs on the album, as a whole it's not entirely successful. Whilst i will come back to it as an entity again, I am more likely to enjoy these songs if they come up on "shuffle" on my iPod.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 March 2010
If you like the Guillemots then you will like this. While the music is much less lavish and complex than the Guillemots it is however very good with an array of different styles from rock in the first track 'When you walk in the room' through to lovely ballads such as 'She needs me' and 'Barricades'. The second track is excellent 'So brand new' with a great riff in the chorus that will get you singing along. FD has a very wide range in his voice and he uses it very wisely in these recordings. There are subtle hints of bands such as Travis here and there. On the whole this is a very worthwhile album and is highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2010
I bought this album by mistake thinking this was the bloke that writes most of the strings for Arcade Fire!
Well it turns out to be one of my best mistakes ever made; This is a brilliant album from the opening track 'When you walk in the Room through to the last 'Any direction' it has a real 'feel good' vibes throughout.
This should be a number one album, I can only think that it has not had the push from the record company that it deserves.
Do yourself a favour buy this and feel good about life again!
Burty
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2010
I bought this album on the strength of hearing one track "She Needs Me" on the radio. This track very much reminded me of the Electric Light Orchestra, which I was a big fan of as a child. The other tracks on the album do not sound like this but are equally good in other ways and represent a good selection of modern and traditional musical styles. I am certainly impressed with his music and will lookout for future albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2010
Fyfe's new album dropped onto my door mat first thing this morning. From the first listen to "she needs me" on Jonathan Ross's radio show about a month ago I immediately googled this guy and found out he was in The Guillemots.
Thia album is gonna see Fyfes career ascend new heights, I think its a solid first solo album. I dont give new albums much of a chance, and consider myself quite a harsh critic, but this one seemed to just be one stormer after another. well done Fyfe, whens the uk tour?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£12.43

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)