Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Learn more



on 17 July 2016
Awesome album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 November 2015
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 December 2009
This is their best album with every track a winner.If you like the previous work by the Stereophonics you will love this.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 January 2010
O.K. let's start with the good points; a friend of mine sent me a copy of 100MPH which was the reason I bought this album as it is an excellent track and shows a great deal of studiocraft, musicianship and thought.

The rest of the album, unfortunately fails to live up to this high standard and the lead singer sounds like he really can't be arsed with it all most of the time....

In conclusion 1 great track, a few acceptable tracks and a lot of filler....

Hope this does not sound too harsh.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 August 2015
Love the band but this is dross
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2010
OK, the previous Stereophonics albums also had strong and weaker songs. But in direct comparison this one really is a pop album - not that this is bad all by itself. I do especially like the titles "Wonder", "She's alright" and "Uppercut" - the rest is just average, if not a little boring.
Still, compared to what other bands do these days, "keep calm and carry on" is still above the average - hence 4 stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2010
I'm not a Stereophonics-follower- but I know I like some of their stuff and not others. As much as you can gauge how much you'll like something from other people's reviews I decided to buy it and was relieved to find I like it!

The tracks are catchy enough to enjoy listening to, but with a bit of an edge to make them that bit different and worth re-listening to.

Good stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 March 2010
Every stereophonics album is different and this another one of those good albums from the stereophonics. Lot's off brilliant songs on this like innocent, 100 mph, could you be the one, live 'n' love and beerbottle are brilliant. The album is a combination of brilliant accoustic style songs and brilliant rock songs. You won't be disappointed with this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 February 2013
I loved their first two albums and their 5th album. This album is very dull - nothing stands out as exciting. It is a shame, the songs are not awful but just nothing special. Not a dreadful album but it could be a lot better if they returned to the style of their first two albums. If you like slow/ballady rock with a pop beat then you may enjoy this album. If you are new to this group then check out the first two albums initially. If you don't like rock then you will probably like the third album (which I didn't!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 January 2011
Stereophonics have been hindered by a "hit & miss" mentality for the past decade, starting their career with two blisteringly good rock LP's before veering off to explore their acoustic side for the next 2 and, perhaps unfairly, being tagged as dull as a result. They literally shocked everybody in 2005 when their "Language, Sex, Violence, Other?" album showed the band had returned to their rock sound and they absolutely deserved their success as the record speaks for itself - however it was short-lived, with the follow-up (2007's "Pull The Pin") suffering from the pressure of not being able to live upto it's predecessor.

By the time 2009's "Keep Calm And Carry On" swung around, nobody expected anything much and felt the band had smashed their finest material through their 2005 LP and left themselves winding down from then on... this was not the case.

Any rock fan will advise to ignore Stereophonics media reviews, as since 2001's stinging attack "Mr. Writer" the band have been panned by just about every critic and his dog. "Keep Calm And Carry On" is a shock return to the kind of form which we thought was gone. Kelly Jones has found the type of songwriting skills once more which made him such as standout performer in the first place.

From the opened "She's Alright" you can tell Jones sounds confident the way he did in 2005, and when Kelly Jones is in confident mood you're in for a good LP. The opener sets the tone for a very solid record, easily one of their best to date. We also get the typically catchy "Innocent" and the album highlight "Beerbottle", a story of flood victims which sees Jones' voice hitting heights never previously even attempted.

This album is not perfect, however, and they do suffer from their long-term problem of letting the listener lose a little interest. Most notably this time comes on "Could You Be The One?" which, after 4 blistering tracks, shuts the power off and kills the pace of the album for the next few tracks. "I Got Your Number" is a solid rock track in the vein of "Pedalpusher" which is simply hindered by the track before it. By the time "100 MPH" spins around to save the LP we're most grateful. This is one of this band's best performances to date and would stand against any other 'Phonics track.

The final two tracks of the album show hope for the future, with the bouncy "Stuck In A Rut" showcasing Jones' new confidence in stripped down rock in the shape of debut album "Word Gets Around" and the closer "Show Me How", an acoustic track which sees Jones vocals reach impressive levels once again and finishes the album in the now trademark Stereophonics manner of using a slow building epic to close out an LP.

"Keep Calm...." is a tremendous record from a band who, at this stage, were thought to be finished. Kelly Jones is truly one of rock's most naturally talented songwriters and his recognizable hacksaw voice is something which (off the back of this fine return to their best form) we will hopefully be hearing for years into the future.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)