Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
76
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 August 2013
Very powerful message to be heard and seen everybody should have a copy of this!! And everyone should aware of what goes on in taiji maybe that way we can make a difference and stop it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2010
I was very very happy with my purchase. The cove is a dvd MUST have, and i recomend everyone to buy it. It certainly opened my eyes to whats going on with in our world.
A *****
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2011
The Cove is shocking and mid altering. This film IS A REQUIREMENT FOR ANY ZOOLOGIST/MARINE BIOLOGIST/CONSERVATIONIST
It is a must have!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2010
Let's get the hype over with first. The packaging of my Amazon DVD shouts (quoting the Daily Telegraph, apparently): 'A SEAT-OF-YOUR-PANTS Bond-style THRILLER'.

No, it isn't. It's a fairly run-of-the-mill but well-meaning documentary with some spurious gadgetry thrown in to spice things up. This isn't to say that the dolphin-bloodbath at the centre of the film is any-the-less horrific or worthy of exposure. But this actually occupies very little time or footage, and the rest of the film is padding (interesting padding, showing up some of Japan's dubious policies in pursuit of its 'right' to hunt cetaceans, but padding never the less).

All the skulduggery - cameras disguised as rocks or slung beneath model helicopters, underwater microphones planted by free diving experts, a miniature airship painted to resemble a whale - is just gimmickry which gets in the way of the film's message. Many of the toys don't even appear to get used. And maybe I'm just cynical, but some of the night-vision 'action' sequences seemed to be staged... and where were the cops? A group of guerilla activists descend on a Japanese hotel (and get through airport customs!) with enough black-bagged hardware to invade Iraq, and yet every night they manage to evade their police tails to successfully trespass around The Cove to conceal their surveillance equipment.

Just for the sake of balance, the film would have been improved if we'd heard the fishermen's point of view, if only to allow us to judge how indefensible it is. Still, the film does succeed in throwing a spotlight on a particularly unpleasant practice, and also raises wider questions about dolphin intelligence and the plight of whales, and fish, in general.

But we don't need to have James Bond on board to get the message across.
33 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2011
A documentary created with a risk in the life of the documentary crew . Very informative upon the atrocities that happen in the world (although it involves japan).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2013
The world should revolt against cruelty against all living creatures , this is shaming & particularly barbaric & this type of exposure should be applauded.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2012
This movie should be compulsary viewing in every school, in every country. The events that take place in Tajii are Japan's continuing shame and disgrace.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2011
this is tough to watch in places and found myself shouting at the fishermen to stop on more than 1 occassion, an unbelievale piece of film making
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2012
This is an excellent DVD but not for the faint hearted, it does prick the concience so be prepared to become an activist for the dolphins.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2012
Really sad to watch but if you can watch its really good! I cannot believe this is allowed to happened to such beautiful animals :(
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)