Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Ed Sheeran on Amazon Music Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
79
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£19.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 January 2010
My children (10 and 11) and I watched this movie together and the subject is tough but superbly put together. I grew up on Flipper and Ric O'Barry's determination to find redemption for the entertainment business he helped create is admirable and the group of people joining him are amazing for their commitment. The Dolphin, as recently reported has the largest brain second only to human's, their communication is sophisticated and powerful. Scientists say that we should treat them as 'non-human' persons because of their level of intelligence. I feel that this awareness has not yet got to Japan and to Taiji, but hopefully the ripple effect of this movie will help this awareness spread. Please, if you are so inclined, sign the petition to stop this brutal killing. Google 'The Cove'. We all make the difference.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2010
Little heard of Taiji, Japan has hit the headlines in recent years with their deplorable record on the slaughter of dolphins. Disturbing in lengths the locals go to with regards protecting their 'secret', at least the filming or documenting of their actions, this documentary makes for an enthralling yet horrifying watch. Regardless of the international outcry, despite the attempts by organisations like Sea Shepherd, and interestingly enough in spite of the health implications for their own people, the fishermen and families of Taiji continue to practice their brutal farming and killing practices.

This tale is both a documentary and a thriller. It will keep you on your toes for the duration and you will be enlightened as to what happens every year in a small village in Japan.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
This is a fascinating and increasingly relevant watch. The impact which this film has had on the survival of dolphins and the treatment of marine life worldwide, is incredible. Great insight into how mankind has messed up.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2010
I'm not sure that I'd buy the documentary as I couldn't stomach watching it ever again.

It's so haunting and sickening that you will remember it for the rest of your life. It's a film that demonstrates there really are two types of people on the planet; those who just want to live and love and get on with their lives quietly and those who have no qualms about massacring their way through it for financial gain.

This sensless slaughter of one of the planet's most sentient beings is gut wrenching to behold. I applaud the efforts of the brave few who put themselves in danger to reveal this horrific truth. It's just a shame that their efforts, as with all us little people, won't change a thing.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2016
This is an important film. This should bring about the ultimate demise of the captive dolphin and orca industry as it shows here, they are despicable and cruel in the way these animals are farmed, butchered and a selection are sold to be performers for food in inappropriate and inhumane conditions. Since this film came out, SeaWorld and its ilk have taken a bit of a beating. I sincerely hope this is the film that brings about the demise of the whole sorry business.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2010
This documentary is heartbreaking and gruesome. It reveals some of the shocking facts behind the animal entertainment industry and is enough to make me stop eating fish all together (and I love my seafood!)

It's not a five-star documentary, but it's well-put-together and overall pretty damn good.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 21 November 2012
"The Cove" (2009 release; 90 min.) is a documentary that focuses on the unsavory (and that's being mild) practices going on in the Japanese village of Taiji. As the movie opens, we meet Ric O'Barry, whom we learn became a dolphin training expert on the "Flipper" 1960s TV series. It shows some clips from that era, and then O'Barry explains why he became an activitst to stop dolphin captivity (he claims that one of the dolphins portraying Flipper, died in his arms, deeply depressed and committing suicide by stopping to breathe air). O'Barry teams up with the Ocean Preservation Society (the director of this documentary is part of OPS) to expose the Taiji massacres of dolphins. At that point, the documentary becomes a cat-and-mouse spy thriller of sorts, showing how they try and evade local Japanese authorities in their quest to expose what is going on. I say 'thriller' but not in the sense of exciting-thriller, as what is happening is infinately sad. The last 20 min. of the movie, when all is revealed, is shocking and dismaying.

Several comments: first and foremost, this is NOT a film for yound children, despite its PG-13 rating. Second, kudos to the filmmakers for exposing this brutality to the world. Third, since the movie was released in 2009 (and winning the 2010 Oscar for Best Documentary), this had obviously created a lot of controversy and debate, but apparently the Taiji massacres sadly have not been stopped and continue to this day.

There are a number of interesting "bonus" materials on the DVD, the best of them being a 20 min. mini-documentary called "The Cove: Mercury Rising", on the issue of the dangerous levels of mercury found in not just dolphins, but many other sea fish, and the devastating effects of mercury poisosing for humans. In all, this is quite the DVD. "The Cove" is a MUST-SEE documentary.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2015
Explains issues around the Taiji dolphin hunt in Japan , and why keeping captive whales & dolphins is wrong on many levels .
A must-see not just for conservation-minded people.
Features narration from former Flipper dolphin trainer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2015
Very powerful documentary. Be warned though it can be graphic. But it's necessary to get the point across, that Dolphins don't belong in 'seaworlds' or on anyones dinner plate (unless they want Mercury poisoning). Hat's off to Ric O'Barry
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2015
Difficult to watch because of the disgusting and sickening cruelty. The weird thing is that Japan is also a centre for innovative deep sea predator (shark) research. A huge dichotomy between world class scientific inquisitiveness and epic inhumanity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)