Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Amazon Music Unlimited Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 January 2010
A very classy looking knife to have available for a dinner party with the added bonus of working well too. Robust and with a decent sized guard to protect you from the odd slip when dealing with a reluctant mollusc.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2011
This is a great product, as the guard protects your thumb and fingers from damage. However, Oysters are still very difficult to open - but perhaps I am not an expert!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2012
Utterly useless. Near impossible to insert the tip of the blade in. Stabbed myself twice doing it. You are better off and safer using a small kitchen knife!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2015
Do not buy. It bent after the first use. ( < 6 oysters). And then the blade completely broke off on the second use ( Again, < 6 oysters) .... The problem is that the blade is glued/attached to the handle, it is not one solid piece of metal. No good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2011
This is very good knive for the purpose. It is the first time I have shucked oysters and whilst it was at first difficult after about half a dozen you get into it. The secret is using the tip to get in, use the surated edge to to widen the gap and then twist upwards. Easy really ! !
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2012
broke on the first oyster, the blade came off the handle. We then opened all 6 oysters with a normal table knife in under 5 minutes. do not waste your money.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2016
This is a really handy gadget for shucking oysters for those with a passion for these delicious sea delicacies. No more cut fingers; easy to use and of a sturdy stainless steel construction. The plastic sheath covering the blade is a bit flimsy so keep the impliment away from little fingers - it's sharp!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2016
Great little shucker and excellently priced. Impresses all my guests (why yes daaaahling, that is an oyster shucker).

Makes opening oysters so much easier as I was previously doing it with a regular kitchen knife.

The handle is just regular stainless steel but I haven't found it to be slippery. Looks much better than the alternatives available for the same price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
Better than plastic ones and sturdy metal handle that is guarded.

Also better than my old method of tea towel, flat head screwdriver (cleaned), hammer and filleting knife!

Hands don't bleed as much these days, the red sauce really is 100% Tabasco now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2015
A stylish product, and eagerly anticipated. On first use however the blade bent away from the handle making it dangerous to proceed. Given oysters will always need some force to open them, it disappoints. I suggest buying a cheap and cheerful oyster knife, as used by fishmongers everywhere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)