Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
60
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 April 2017
Love Sookie!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 November 2005
I thought this was better than the others, it had every one involved plus some new as well. The vamps, don't take a back seat, but are in it all way through, but these tales are focused on Sookie, as they are about her and her life with her supernatural friends, so cant understand why peeps would think they were about the vamp scene pals all the time. I love the shifters and find myself wanting to join all the fun with them....
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2006
Despite the supernatural characters and 'incidents' that appear in this book, it is pleasantly down to earth in tone and language. I am not saying the language is bad or the tone is bland; it is entirely the opposite.

The flow of the story does not go away from the details of everyday life as they do sometimes in stories that have heros and heroines in them. Buffy is all cool and glamour but I do like something a little more practical than just one destined saviour of the world.

Sookie is no saviour and she does not slay vampires. However, she is down to earth, hardworking and sweet. She goes through life with cheer (most of the time) and the ability to be thankful for what she's got, instead of wanting and wanting and wanting. I am not saying that she is a saint because she is not. She gets jealous; she gets mad; she gets violent but it is all part of her very human nature, just like you or me. I love her for it. If you dislike first-person narratives, which I normally do, you won't dislike this one but it relates, it really does.

Just another note, Ms Harris sure has a sense of humour when she was naming the twins that appear in this book. Come on, two pairs of twins; one pair named Dixon and Dixie; the other pair named Claude and Claudine:) I loved it!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Sookie Stackhouse is a telepathic waitress in the small town of Bon Temps, Louisiana. Her ability to read minds keeps the normal people away from her. They fear her ability, even those who claim not to believe in it. However, the vampires and other supernatural beings flock to her.
Her brother, Jason, has recently been bitten by a werepanther. Once he makes his first shift, Jason finds that he enjoys his new ability. Problem is that a sniper has begun shooting the local shifters and Jason's new brethren suspect he may be the shooter. Sookie and her friends have until the next full moon to find out who the real sniper is.
Sam, Sookie's boss, is one of the shifters who has been shot. Unable to tend his bar, Sam has Sookie go to Eric for a temporary bar tender. Charles, a vampire, begins work the very next night. Charles is soon protecting Sookie. Seems someone is trying to kill her for simply associating with supernatural beings. If all this is not enough, the local packleader has died. Sookie must attend the funeral, as well as, witness the competition that will select the new packleader.
**** The vampires Bill and Eric take a back seat and play only secondary roles in this installment of the series. Focus is kept mainly on the shifters and the sniper. Author Charlaine Harris has a winning series with this cast of characters! Harris makes the night come alive with her imaginative, supernatural, and dark shrouded community. As usual, I find myself longing for Sookie's next adventure. ****
Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
0Comment| 69 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2006
This is the best Sookie Stackhouse book yet.

With each edition of the marvelous Southern Vampire series, author Charlaine Harris expands the repertoire of characters and environs of the supernatural world of telepath Sookie Stackhouse. At first we readers were confined to the warm intimacy of Sookie's first love Bill Compton, a vampire of considerable seduction, and to Sookie's tiny peripheral world of her boss Sam the shifter bartender, her brother Jason, and a few assorted other extraordinary characters of Bon Temps, Louisiana. Each installation in the series has expanded on that initial narrow world to bring us weres, witches, and the power structure of the Gulf Coast vampire community. What would have been far too complicated a fantasy world to explain in one lump narration effortlessly unfolds thanks to Harris' patient revelation.

In this, the fifth and arguably best volume yet, we are introduced more fully to the world of the weres, in particular the secretive shifter community of Hotshot, a neighboring town to Bon Temps. Sookie finds herself once again inveigled in multiple intrigues. A sniper has set his deadly sights on area shifters, and Jason has fallen under suspicion. Sookie must solve the mystery before the next full moon, and her task is complicated by the killer's targeting her as well. What really goes on in the close, apparently inbred community of Hotshot? What role does the seductive fairy Claudine play? How can Sookie help her friend Tara out of an apparently abusive relationship with a sinister vampire? Sookie must walk a diplomatic line between her various allegiances: to Eric the owner of Fangtasia, to the Herveaux clan of shifters, and to her old love Bill, and all the while stay true to herself. Now she is truly a woman, capable of great maturity and bravery.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2009
Sookie Stackhouse has got just a month before the next full moon to find out who wants her brother Jason (and the Were population at large) dead. Sookie Stackhouse enjoys her life, mostly. She's a great cocktail waitress in a fun bar; she has a love life, albeit a bit complicated, and most people have come to terms with her telepathy. Now Jason is about to turn into a were-panther for the first time: she can deal with that, but her normal sisterly concern turns to cold fear when a sniper sets his deadly sights on the local shapeshifting population. Sookie has until the next full moon to find out who's behind the attacks, unless the killer decides to find her first...

She's still on the outs with her former lover Bill, her first love. She also has to contend with Eric after his little bout of memory loss after the last book. There's also Were politics a plenty in Dead As A Doornail! We see more of Alcide and Sam, plus Sookie's rascal of a brother Jason Stackhouse.

I enjoyed this book, I especially liked seeing more of Sam and Alcide (who tend to be among my favourite characters). But it did take me a long time to get through the book -- I think because the plot was a little unfocused, and didn't involve anything new about the characters I care about. I liked Living Dead in Dallas so much because it revealed many new things about Sookies world, Sookie herself and Bill. This novel however, whilst enjoyable and added a little more worldbuilding, it didn't really tell me anything new about the characters.

I enjoyed the humour and the friendship between Sookie and Sam (romance for them is on the backburner at the moment), and it was interesting to see how Sookie dealt with the consequences of what happened with Debbie Pelt in the previous book. Hopefully the next one will be a little more about the charcaters I love than this huge cast of newbies that are less interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Shapeshifters are targeted. Who next for a bullet? Is Sookie's brother Jason the culprit - revenge for the captor's bites that turned him into one?

Focus in this fifth novel is very much on the shapeshifters - from Sookie's boss Sam, an early victim, to the extremely unpleasant contest to become next werewolf packmaster.

Vampire Bill features more than of late but barely seems to register amidst so many flamboyant characters - including Claudine, a six foot fairy, and Charles, an ex-pirate vampire, complete with eyepatch.

Telepathic waitress Sookie's bubbly personality forever shines as, with humour and a great eye for detail, she relates the latest traumas. Who can fail to be moved by the fire that destroys much that she holds dear and by the way friends rally round in support?

Charlaine Harris knows well how to grasp attention and to hold it. She also knows well how to surprise. Prepare for startling revelations. My own biggest shock? Despite all the clues in previous novels, I have only just cottoned onto the true identity of Bubba - he whose transition to vampire went disastrously wrong, because of all the drugs in his body. Goodness! This is Charlaine Harris at her most audacious.

Another enjoyable, bloodsplattered read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2006
Charlaine Harris's Sookie Stackhouse series is just getting better and better. I loved the first book, Dead Until Dark, where Sookie got together with Bill Compton, her next-door neighbour who happens to be a vampire. Charlaine Harris introduced us to some of the not-quite-normal people in Sookie's town of Bon Temps in this book - Sam the Werewolf bar owner being one of them. Once Sookie got together with Bill, Sam showed his interest.

In the third story in the series, Club Dead, Sookie and Bill split up after he was unfaithful. This rather spoilt the book for me (I like happy endings and it rather negated the happy endings of books 1 and 2) but more characters were introduced, such as Alcide Herveaux, a Werewolf, who were possible love interests.

In the fourth book of the series, Dead To The World, Eric Northman the Viking vampire finally got into Sookie's underwear, not that he could remember anything about it after the event (amnesia is so inconvenient).

Dead As A Doornail is the fifth book and it starts where the fourth left off. Eric and Sookie's fling is over (and Eric has his memory back, but amnesia now about what took place when his memory had been wiped by the witch) and Jason has been bitten by a Werepanther and is awaiting his first full moon.

This story has lots of complex plot threads and different strands within it which make it interesting. There's Jason's new situation which is immediately made worse by the discovery that someone is shooting shape-shifters and he is a suspect. Calvin Norris, head of the Shifters in the village of Hotshot, is in hospital having been shot himself but tries to protect Jason - mainly because he's after Sookie. And this is the first hint at one of the significant themes of the book - Sookie is becoming mighty attractive to all the men around her. Alcide Herveaux, the werewolf whose former girlfriend Debbie tried to kill Sookie at the end of the last book (and was in turn shot dead by Sookie and buried by Eric) is trying to persuade Sookie to have a more permanent relationship with him. Eric is hassling Sookie to try and find out what took place when he had amnesia and still trying to get into her underwear (not knowing that he already has); Bill Compton, although not featuring much in this book, still wants to get back together with Sookie; and Sam the shifter is being a support to her because he loves her.

Wow! This woman has SIX dishy men after her. Well, none of them are just men - they're all shapeshifters or vampires or whatever. This made me wonder somewhat - granted, Sookie's sweet and nice and caring (although also a disaster area) but is she REALLY that appealing? And can't she choose, rather than stringing them all along (even Calvin Norris who seems rather old for her)?

Anyway, on with the story. Or several stories. Sookie's house is burnt down and she's rescued by Claudine the fairy. She had a bodyguard in Charles Twining the Vampire English bartender, but also has every other male in the vicinity trying to rescue her. She's trying to keep Jason safe, work out who's killing the shifters, keep herself financially stable, avoid becoming beholden to Eric, work out her feelings for Bill (who she seems to find the most comfortable of her beaux) and avoid becoming part of Alcide Herveaux's wolf pack. Phew!

Despite all this going on, the book works well as a leisurely read. Sookie comes across as a nice, simple girl - with an incredibly complex life. She's definitely becoming wiser about the world although her ability to choose and stick with one man is rather suspect.

And at the end we meet a seventh applicant for Sookie's attention, the enigmatic Weretiger Quinn, who I suspect is going to feature in future. This section of the book seemed slightly strange to me, tacked on after the resolution of the main plotline (who's killing the shapeshifters) but is probably a set up for a future book.

If you liked any of the previous Sookie Stackhouse books you'll certainly appreciate this one. If you're fed up (as I am) with the direction that Laurell K Hamilton took in her Anita Blake books this is a refreshing return to the fun side of the vampire world with sex but not sex mania.
22 Comments| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 14 April 2010
The first sentence is a massive spoiler if you haven't read these books in order. A great book again, the series is really starting to settle down now with the world surrounding Bon Temps getting more real with each release. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2009
How can we begin to describe this series of books? Vampire stories have rocked my world since I was 12 years old and first saw "Bram Stoker's Dracula" on the big screen. Since then, I've been a steady consumer of books, movies and tv series of the genre, always searching for the "next IT thing" for me.

I've read all Stephenie Meyer's, Anne Rice and others, but I have to say that Charlaine mixes up a combo that I find particularly good: the premise is indeed the vampire genre, but we end up more wrapped up with Sookie - and all her single-attractive-working-girl dramas- than with the vampires, wolves, fairies and other surreal humans in the story. It's funny, enjoyable and delivers a good balance - it feels "real" - as far as real can get with all these supernatural creatures.

So cudos to Charlaine for delivering another great story!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse