Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
13
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 November 2009
Ms Fullerton has somehow managed to improve on her brilliant first book, No Cure For Love. In A Glimpse at Happiness Josie O'Casey is the heroine and she is every bit as enchanting as Ellen O'Casey. Patrick, her childhood sweetheart, reappears in her life and she realises she still loves him after all the years apart. However he is married and out of her reach.
Although she well remembers the poverty of her childhood she is now a lady and cannot defy convention. When she and Patrick think they have 'a glimpse at happiness' Ma Tugman intervenes and Josie has some impossible decisions to make.
Ma is a wonderful villain, and her with two sons to do her evil bidding she makes a formidable enemy.
I can highly recommend this riviting East End saga, it is action packed, steeped in authentic historical detail and has a rich cast of unforgettable characters. Ms Fullerton's second book is even better than her first. I can't wait for the next installment of this series.
Feenlla Miller
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2016
Not yet read this book but I am about to - am sure this will be another good read from Jean Fullerton - a first class author. Won't be disappointed with this book especially if it is as good as No Cure for Love, which I understand is the case.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2010
Well, I started it on Friday night- read a couple of chapters. Picked it up again Saturday night and never put it down until I had finished! Yes, up all night and forgot breakfast. Now that's what I call a gripping good read. I had read her first book 'No Cure For Love' so saved this for a free weekend. Glad I did and can't wait for the next.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2010
Wow! I have read the first book and though that had humour, tension and romance but that was nothing compared to the second book. If you like all those things and more then this is the book for you!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2010
Wow, she's done it again. Another great novel rom Jean Fullerton. I was hooked from the first chapter. I couldn't put it down. You get sucked in and want to know if Josie and Patrick will ever be together! can't wait for the next one?!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2012
I'm not sure how Jean Fullerton has been able to improve on her first excellent book 'No Cure for Love', but with this wonderful sequel she has done just that.

Once again there are all the ingredients which made her previous saga such a success- the nice touches of humour, the gritty drama and tension and the romance - all set against the backcloth of the East End of London in early Victorian times.

Jean Fullerton manages to include all this in a wonderfully evocative way - you can almost smell the murky Thames at times, and has devised a range of characters with a delightful mix of wickedness and purity.

The choice of a fiendish female villain is a masterstroke.

If you love historical romance/saga - you will love this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
Have been lucky enough to have these books given to me as the person realised how much I loved Catherine Cookson and these books are written in the same way. Have also read No Cure for Love. A tremendous read and I would recommend them to all who love a terrific story with great historical research. I am of an age that can remember how the East End was in the 1930s so to read of the years before puts a lot of things into perspective. Will definitely read more of these books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2011
Great story - couldn't put it down. The period detail and believable characters make Jean Fullerton's books a must buy. Wow.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2014
What an amazingly excellent book this is, from the first page to the last. It is a story that will remain with me forever. God bless Josie, Patrick and all their family.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2013
So enjoyed this sequel, it was full of action even to the very end! Love this author's books, absolutely unputdownable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here