Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 July 2017
Great cd great price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Excellent CD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2009
The cd was a present for but I have also got this album. I was pleased with the promptness of the delivery considering the time of year it was ordered.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2009
The sound quality of the movie "this is it" and the performances by the band during the rhearsals that were captured are are absolutely amazing.

To release an accompanying album that does not contain these performances (but is instead a repackaged greatest hits) is a fantastic opportunity completely missed.

The sad thing is, true MJ fans who wish to honour his memory are the ones most likely to buy this, whereas they shold be the very people who boycott it.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2009
The dissapointing thing is the fact we know there are live recordings of the track list featured on "this is it soundtrack" so why didn't sony use those live versions, that would have been a must for fans. instead they throw together another greatest hits. I expect Sony will release the live one shortly after the sales of this album start to decrease. They only reason I give this 4 stars is because the music is of course fantastic, the booklet is nice, original, has loads of nice pictures of michael performing in the rehearsals. The single "This is it" isn't bad, it's a pretty song, however the song is unfinished and its apparent when listening the track, it's obvious its a demo, and one in the early stages of development, still worth having but there must have been other songs they could have included.

On the whole the cd makes a nice programme to the film, rather than anthing else. If Sony had included the live versions on this album It would have 5 stars and no complaints.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2009
I am shocked as on going to iTunes they too had This is it as an 'Album only' track!

The reason I don't intend purchasing the whole album is due to the fact I have ALL of Michael Jackson's studio albums already, including History. Why are customers expected to purchase the whole album? A great shame I say.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2009
Well This isn't it folks as there are lots of unreleased and new material that sony are witholding for release for a later date but they are quite content to dangle a small carrot infront of your nose in the form of the average "This is it" song and then package it with everything else you already own save a couple of demos !!. Everyone who didnt already own jacksons albums before he died sure made up for lost time and bought them when he passed away. So why give the public what they already own and dress it up slightly ! MONEY of course ! Please avoid this but by all means go see the movie..just dont be giving your hard earned money to Sony for this rubbish.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2009
Knowing that this CD contains previously released tracks may not fill the prospective buyer with excitement, but it really should!! The collection of music on CD1 is amazing, and after seeing the movie, you can see them in your mind's eye, being performed (albeit at rehearsal level, which although obviously not the finished product, is awe inspiring and incredible) and feel the energy behind each note. The tracks follow the sequence of rehearsal numbers in the film and therefore work really well together. CD2 contains previously unreleased tracks, - She's Out of My Life, where a young Michael asks to do it again, as he sang the wrong lyrics! Wanna Be starting Something demo, Michael's pure voice singing the harmonies of Beat It (whilst beatboxing) and last but not least the beautiful, haunting poem "Planet Earth" which Michael wrote and was published in 1992 in his gorgeous second book "Dancing The Dream". Michael's voice is clear and so expressive, and I could listen to this on a loop for hours on end! As if all this is not enough, the 36 page booklet formation of the CD case is lovely, and an unusual "book" design, with great pictures of Michael during the rehearsals for his planned This Is It concert run. He really does look great, and I'm so sad that he is no longer with us. We've lost a true treasure. I totally recommend this CD, to all MJ fans and indeed anyone who appreciates incredible musical, artistic talent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 22 October 2010
While it may be hard for some to appreciate, the passing of Michael Jackson was (and still is) a major event in a lot of people's lives. To some (including myself) he was more than just an artist, a performer, an entertainer - he was both a GENIUS an inspiration and a genuinely good, kind hearted and grossly misunderstood man-boy. What has this all to do with a review of a cd? Everything - because for those of us that loved and admired Michael, 'This Is It' is far from a 'cash in'. Yes, it is yet another 'Greatest Hits' album, yes it is another repackaging but to Sony's credit it has also been intelligently and compassionately complied to bring both happy memories, laughter and tears to the eyes of Michael's TRUE fans.

Why do I say all this?

Simply because just one listen to the running order of the first cd convinces me that this album was put together primarily as a tribute to a great man with a huge talent. All are some of Michael's best loved and most iconic tracks. 'Thriller' reminds us of how MJ reinvented music videos, 'Smooth Criminal' how he blew us away with his dancing, 'Black Or White' reminds us of his love for ALL of the people of the world and 'Man In The Mirror' was his message to each and every one of us. Jarvis Cocker and his like may have thought of Michael harshly (I admire Jarvis also I should state) but while Michael was not a God (nor thought of himself as such) he truly did try and make the world feel and be unashamed to feel. In showing his own feelings and writing songs that left him vulnerable to attack he was both brave and foolhardy but some of us loved him for doing so...

'This Is It' not only contains some of Michael's greatest songs it includes two versions of the previously unreleased title track and a second cd of very personal sounding (hence priceless) demos that are not only VERY different versions to the finished songs but really do give the listener a chance to hear the artist at work. Last of all is "Planet Earth' - a spoken poem. Michael's both brilliant and childlike words and speaking voice are sure to tug at all but the most skeptical of hearts and are sure to bring a tear into the eyes of those of us (like he was) unafraid to feel.

Cash in or touching reminder? That depends on how you felt about Michael Jackson I guess...
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2009
i was hoping to see more unreleased songs on the album such as one more chance and ive found loads of unreased tracks on youtube so this album was the last opertunity to get them out there for his fans as a last gift to us so where are they.

yes i am happy with some of my favouret trackson the last album but why have not the family got together with a tribute of there own and said a few words to introduce this album to his fans.

the poem on here is great its a final opertunity to hear his voice one last time!
the photos on the cd cover and inside the cd are great. i was unsure about some of the other recordings that were on the second cd though. however as for cd one i expected to see a repeat of the history cd as it was what his fans had asked for for the concert. anyway its a tribute and gift from the king of entertainment and the king of pop rock and r&b : ) look forward to the cinema experience thank you mj!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)