Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
17
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 October 2015
This is by far the worst album in the whole Rolling Stones' catalog, no matter how much criticism you've heard about Emotional Rescue, Dirty Works, Flashpoint, No Security, or any other of the usual targets for scorn.
"The world's greatest rock and roll band" sounds here like one of those semi-professional classic covers bands playing Rolling Stones' songs at weddings, birthdays and open air parties. I mean, everybody plays the right notes, the bassist and the drummer follow the beat in the most insipid way you can imagine, the guitars play the correct chords but merely play the minimun necessary solos, and the singer pushes the whole band in order to finish the set as soon as possible, so they can plunder the table plenty of liquors, appetizers and sandwiches, get paid and rush to the next gig.
The cold, aseptic, discouraging simplified, soulless, hasty and rushed performances only will make you desperately want to run towards your library, pick your copies of the studio albums and play them just to remember why you thought you had a good reason to like these songs, and how the guitar solos were, how the drums and the bass sounded, and how Mr. Jagger used to sing them.
The only good thing about this album is that being so short for a live recording (40 minutes), you don't waste so much time with it. (By the way, just in case you feel tempted to buy this fiasco for "Going to a Go-Go" alone, I'm afraid that this version adds nothing to the delicious Smokey Robinson's original).
An atrocious product. Steer clear.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2010
I went to the concert and bought the LP, now I have the CD. Great price, lots of good stuff on there. I don't go in fo all this what is/was their greatest album stuff, give it spin and you'll be rocking away in no time. Fits in very well with all the other Stones discs that I've got, great to listen to in the car as well.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2016
Listening to this album you might well wonder why they are the self styled greatest rock and roll band in the world. The album features less than 50%of a typical show from 1981 and largely skips the hits in favour of more recent album cuts and cover versions. It's not all bad;Under My Thumb and Let's Spend The Night Together sound vibrant as does Time Is On My Side but who needs live versions of Let Me Go ,Twenty Flight Rock , Going to a Go Go and Just My Imagination? If you want a souvenir of the 81-82 tour then you will be better off getting either the full shows from Hampton and Leeds available as part of the From the Vault series. Avoid.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2017
This is by far the best live album in the Rolling Stones' whole catalogue. Beautifully recorded, it somehow does the impossible - to bring the warmth and intimacy of a club gig from the vastness of the auditoriums the Stones were playing on this tour, all the way to your home stereo. Its fun. And it rocks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 October 2006
I won't deny an album release like this frustrates the hell out of me - especially when it's from the group proclaimed to be 'the greatest rock 'n' roll band in the world'.

What's unusual to begin with is in normal circumstances a Stones tour pretty much reflects their latest release at the time - if not always in terms of style almost without exception in terms of quality. The Stones recent album at this time was 'Tattoo Tou' which was very good - unfortunately i can't say the same about this.

'Still Life's title very much sums up what's on offer - yes the evidence is the Stones are still alive - but only just.

The Stones by this time had very much lost their mystique and there's also no hint of danger, as they were sounding more and more like a business proposition though Keith and Ronnie played at times with some great vitality, complementing each other fairly well in a stripped down lean fashion. The biggest problem is Jagger, however, who sings in a gruff passionless voice throughout.It sounds like he was often enjoying the spectacle of these shows without being aware of his own shortcomings.

It's an empty and passionless album overall where the performances lack conviction. It may have seemed great to share the experience at a venue but the musical performances outside the spectacle of the occasion are overall extremely lacklustre.

This album fuels the fire to those who claim the Stones aren't that great live. It's annoying because there's so much recorded evidence (in particular 70s bootlegs) that prove otherwise.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2000
A good start to album with Start me up sounding as fresh as ever.Shattered and Time is on my side are unusual but welcome changes to the usual tracks on these sort of albums.Going to a go-go and Twenty flight rock are excellent sing-a-long numbers and help to keep the album moving along when mixed in with the more predictable and run of the mill stones tracks which are featured on this album.Satisfaction is the predictable encore and sounds tired.This album is a worthwhile addition to your record collection but sometimes the stones with their enormous talent should try to be a bit more varied with their choice of tracks on their live and compilation albums.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2009
I'll come out and say that Still Life and Tattoo You were my introduction to the Stones in '81 and I love those albums. Still Life plays out at a frenetic place and is characterised by a kind of 'hard and loose' style. Richards delivers some awesomely slack solos and they sound like they're having fun in an environment of total chaos and hysteria.

Unfortunately, as with almost all RS releases, this could have been bolstered by more tracks from the tour and, as mentioned, the album itself, which featured probably the last quality Stones offerings....

Also: Check out (100% legit) Wolfgang's Vault for some awesome high quality mixing board streams from the '81 tour or 'The Let's Spend the Night Together' Tour movie - a genuine delight.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2004
Still Life is a fast paced, exciting Live album that came from the 'Tattoo You' tour, so why has it only got one song from the album on? It is a good album but we've heard it all before.
It opens up with 'under my thumb' just like 'Got live if you want it' and includes 'Time is on my Side' and 'Satisfaction'. I would have personally liked to hear the likes of 'slave' or 'hang fire' off the album. There is a fantastic version of 'Let me go' and 'going to a go go'.
The sound quality is better than previous attempts but still a bit dodgy.
If you're wanting a live album that really shows how exciting the stones are live, buy 'Flashpoint'.
Good for collectors though.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2013
Great service and a brilliant cd stones at their best.have looked for this cd for yonks and im not dissapointed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2013
Main reason for buying this album is Jagger's introduction after the first track which I remember from listening to it when it first came out on a friends tape player.

To paraphrase " For all you watching on TV hope your sipping a few beers, smoking a few joints, Well alright !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)