Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 17 March 2016
I'm not sure why this is here to review now as I bought it years ago, but it appears I forgot to review it here -(bad Nicky!), so here it goes:

Well, I cannot rate this higher, I adore the Women of the Otherworld series.

Again, we join Savannah Levine as she and her friends and family fight against SLAM (they gave them the extra vowel) and their dangerous supernatural reveal movement, aided by a certain Lord Demon. There is fighting on both sides of the veil, creatures from hell appearing on the New York subway, rabid werewolves and vampires at a rooftop wedding, demi demons possessing children, action, magic, romance, deadly viruses - this book has it all!

All of the characters that we have got to know and love are here in this final volume and we finally get to witness the reunion of two favourite characters (I won't ruin it and say who) which is quite emotional, but not overly so - this is the Otherworld after all, we'll deal with the emotions later.

We see Savannah growing into her powers, growing into her position and generally growing as a person. I don't want to go into the story as it is a great read that I believe any fantasy fan should enjoy without spoilers - unless you like them of course.

As we know, Kelley Armstrong likes her novellas - something I love her for - so although this is the final book, there are novellas that take place after 13 and hopefully another novel or two...or thirteen later on, maybe when all the Otherworld children have grown?

If you have read some of the Women of the Otherworld books before, definitely finish and get to 13, if you like Kelley Armstrong but haven't read WotO yet, do it and if you like fantasy but haven't picked up this gem of a series yet, I implore you to give it a go. I enjoy fantasy books of all types, as does my partner (though he prefers high fantasy over all others) and he loves the Otherworld also, so it isn't just for us women.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2014
I have spent the last year waiting for this book to be released and when I finally got a copy what did I do? Did I read it immediately? No. Why? Partly because for a while I contemplated reading the entire series back to back and partly because I couldn’t bare to say goodbye to this series.
I have loved this series since the first 3 chapters of Bitten Watching Savannah grow up throughout the series (mostly on the sidelines) I was really pleased when she was finally old enough to have her own voice. I think Kelley Armstrong did a great job of allowing each of the women from the series a chance to have their voice heard in this last book.

I was completely drawn in by this book, I got that warm fuzzy feeling that feels like coming home, or being hugged by your favourite person. I found myself laughing in parts and crying in others (did anyone else do that or was it just me?). While I am sad that one of my favourite series is officially over there are enough ‘loose ends’ to leave openings for several more novella’s and who knows, maybe one day a 14th book in the series. Which makes me happy.

I know a lot of people have felt a little ‘short-changed’ on the ending, but I think its fitting. Not one of the characters leads a normal life, they all live with various dangers and as such there can be no ‘happy ever after’, but they come damn close.

If you haven’t read this series yet then I definitely recommend it. Especially if you like a little werewolf, witch/sorcerer, demon and vampire (amongst others) in your story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 June 2013
The war is here and Savannah and the rest of the interracial council are on the front lines.

The book starts immediately after the bombing of the medical lab and with Bryce critically ill, Savannah, Adam, Jeremy and Jaime are on the run from the members of the reveal movement. Savannah is reeling from the disaster (and also a passionate kiss with Adam) and is soon arrested with Jaime. In the police station, strange things begin to happen and Savannah is left in shock when her mother is brought over to the world of the living. The veil between one world and the next is thinning and with it ghosts, demons and angels are being released amongst the living. There is division amongst the supernaturals and the higher beings about revealing their world to humans and along with it there is a race against time to prevent the groups plans from happening (although somehow there is time for Savannah and Adam to confirm their relationship).

I am so sad about this being the last book of the series but I loved it all the same. I loved the action, the storyline, the relationship between Adam and Savannah and even the ending fit so well and left it open for the short stories that Kelley is planning to write in an anthology. Every major character is involved in some way and a few smaller stories, such ad the fate of Jasper Haig, are concluded. Read this series you will not regret it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 September 2012
The Otherworld is perched on the brink of war. The Supernatural Liberation Movement are poised to reveal the existence of supernaturals to the rest of the world in a bloody display of power, utilizing a deadly virus in hopes of controlling those in positions of power. Savannah Levine is forced to make a stand and lead a group to stop the revelations. Now Elena and Clay, Paige and Lucas, Jeremy and Jaime, Hope, Eve and more must stand with Savannah and Adam to protect their world.

This is the final book in the Otherworld series (which started with Bitten) and is the concluding part of a trilogy within the main series that began with Waking the Witch and Spell Bound. This isn't the absolute end of the series as the author plans to release short stories, but it is the end for now. If you are a new reader I'd encourage you to start at the beginning of the series as this is a conclusion of all the previous books.

Once again Savannah is the narrator although I was thrilled to see chapters from the perspectives of past narrators (Elena, Paige, Eve, Jaime and Hope all have a turn) as not only was it a way of saying goodbye to their characters, it also furthered the storyline. Savannah is still pretty much without her powers but she is learning that wasn't her only strength and is fighting back. Her relationship with Adam finally moves into romance territory, although the sheer amount of action in the storyline means that the romance is in the background.

The storyline is fast paced and densely plotted, packed with twists and turns that leave you breathless. The author manages to pick up all sorts of storylines from the previous books and novellas and uses them to create an action-packed deliciously detailed plot. Even storylines I thought were over (Lucas's role in the Cabal, Jaz's imprisonment, Adele's baby, Savannah's relationship with the Nasts) are picked up and developed further. The relationships between the characters are also developed further, with Lucas struggling with Adam's feeling for Savannnah and Karl finally accepting his role in the Pack.

The ending is perfect but hard to discuss without spoilers. All I can say is that each character ends up with something that makes them incredibly happy but thought they could never have. There is a final note included at the end from Kelley Armstrong that explains why she chose to end the book (and series) in this way and I fully agree with her. This is a beautiful, if bittersweet, conclusion to one of my favourite series.

There is also a bonus short story included called "From Russia, with Love" featuring Elena. Basically it is a brief story that shows how she takes on the Alpha role and for me it's inclusion in this edition was brilliant. Before I read the final three books, I felt the series should end as it began with Elena as the narrator. I loved how the series was concluded but this is really the icing on top as it brings Elena full circle and gives the conclusion I was hoping for.

All in all this was a brilliant end to an outstanding series.

Plot: 10/10
Characters: 10/10
Ending: 10/10
Enjoyment: 10/10
Cover: 9/10

Overall: 49/50
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 June 2013
Book four of my favourite series was once again amazing and lived up to every expectation.

Paige is narrating again and after her world came crashing down in 'Dime Store Magic' she is trying to start a new life with Savannah and Lucas. Unfortunately it is time for the dreaded 'meet the parents' and seeing as Lucas' dad is the CEO of a multi billion supernatural corporation that makes the mafia look tame, Paige is a little nervous. It doesn't help that as a witch, walking into a company full of sorcerers is like waving a red flag at a bull. She is soon more concerned about another problem however; supernatural teenagers are being murdered and Paige is needed to help find the killer before more teenagers are targeted. A gripping read with lots of twists, turns and unexpected surprises. Paige has really grown as a character and has a new vulnerability that I think makes her a lot more likeable.

I really liked the story to this book and loved that old characters (Elena, Clay, Jeremy, Cassanda and Aaron) are back as well as introducing new ones such as Jamie, Benicio, Sean and of course the infamous (and dead) Eve. I loved the crime solving element to the story and overall this book is one of my top 5 in the series (13 books in total).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 May 2015
This book is a fantastic ending to a serial which has kept me engrossed. It was fast paced and made the most of the characters I have become attached to over previous books. The stories of the whole series have been very cleverly interwoven, with wonderfully developed characters. All credit is due to the author for managing to create a world which, although on the one hand is unbelievable, feels as if it may actually run in parallel to our own. At the end of this final book I was left with the feeling that all of my friends were leaving the town where we all live and leaving me behind. I felt happy that they would continue in their adventures, but could not shake off the feeling that I was being left behind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
13 is the thirteenth and final book in Kelley Armstrong's Women of the Otherworld series and therefore this review may contain spoilers for the earlier books. This is one of my favourite series, so I highly recommend going out and getting your paws on Bitten if you haven't been bitten yet...

"Anything you thought you knew about our world? Forget it. Someone has tossed out the rulebook. Ghosts can cross the divide. Hell-hounds can manifest. Demi-demons can possess living children... It's not going to get any better until it's over."

Having just escaped an exploding building, Savannah is on the run with Jaime at her side. Her magic is still on the blink but she knows it's there if she can just conserve it. So it's not very helpful when they both get arrested on suspicion of terrorism. It doesn't take long for them to realise all is not what it seems? Is it the Supernatural Liberation Movement (which Savannah has nick-named SLAM) or could it be another cabal? With Savannah's half-brother Bryce at death's door, time is against them to find a cure. The supernatural community is taking sides but which will win? Reveal supernaturals to the greater world or stay hidden forever?

It's certainly a grand finale for the Women of the Otherworld series. You know in the last episodes of Angel where it all starts hitting the fan and everyone gets involved a bit? Well 13 is a bit like that, but with all your favourite Otherworldly characters; each major player making an appearance. Really, I'm not sure if it will make any sense if you haven't read the series and it is certainly not the place to start (go read Bitten, please) but it's a fond farewell for existing fans. Narrated mostly by Savannah, it makes the last three books (Waking the Witch, Spell Bound, 13) a trilogy within the series.

There's plenty of closure and redemption, although no one character really gets to steal the show. Savannah is a little distracted by the developments between her and Adam, and I found them a little awkward at times, especially her doubt and worrying about what others will think. She comes across a little younger than she did in Waking the Witch and Spell Bound. I loved the demon lords, who developed some personality just in time for the end. There are a few moments when my heart was in my mouth and I doubt very much the ups and downs will be a disappointment to fans.

If you buy the hardback edition, there is a bonus Elena short story. I enjoyed having this as an epilogue as I have always been a fan of The Pack and would have felt a little bit lost without their final say.

Now you may be sobbing over the end of your favourite series but Kelley has promised a brand new adult series starting next year, a third Nadia book, the final book in her second YA Otherworld trilogy and further Otherworld short fiction... and she hasn't even ruled out returning to the Otherworld in the future. She just needs a break and I'm sure we can all understand that. I'm really looking forward to the Nadia book and seeing where her talents take her in the next few years. Plus, I've stored up a pile of short fiction to keep me going in the mean time!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 March 2011
I love this series, but I have struggled a bit with both Dime Store Magic and Industrial Magic. I like Lucas and Paige, love Savannah, find the whole Cabal world interesting but I just couldn't get invested in the storyline of this book. Paige and Lucas are trying to find a serial killer who is targeting stray teens from the cabals.

This book is just as well-written as the others, but it wasn't attention-grabbing and "can't put it down" like the first two. I stopped reading it two or three times because it wasn't quite holding my interest enough. One of the problems was the lack of Savannah for much of the plot. We had brief tantalising glimpses of Jeremey, Elena and Clay as well, but not enough to lift the plot. Towards the end, when the pace of the story picked up a bit, I was more engaged, particularly with the resurgance of a character from the second book. I won't name names, as it would be a plot spoiler ;)

All in all, this is still a must-read but it didn't wow me. I am ready to move on from Paige now. She just doesn't pack enough of a punch.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindle edition- error free, so go ahead and download it :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 August 2012
This is a tale narrated by Savannah, a surprising narrator for the final booking in the Women of the Otherworld collection. I've read them all, had most titles on pre-order immediately after reading the last. So you can establish I'm a fan! I've read most of the titles by this author however, this is the series that I rate above all others. It captured my from the onset in Bitten and just became more riveting as the books came along.

I'm offering no spoilers here so will only go on to say that all the key characters have there part, however small. Their inclusion in this story is never just to tick a check sheet they have relevance. The spell casters in the Otherworld Series have long been a favourite of mine so I was pleased that Savannah was the focus but hoped for a little more Paige and Lucas, which brings me back to the authors relevance in using the characters. She needed to be true to the story so they played their part.

A bittersweet ending to a long running series, I live in hope that the author will go on to imagine another world for her adult readers! I will miss these people.

Thank you Kelley.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 June 2014
This is the final instalment of 'The Women of the Otherworld' and I had always dreaded the series ending but after reading '13' I am glad it has come to a end. As with the previous two books, Savannah is the main character and despite a huge change in her life, she has not changed for the better.

The redeeming feature of the book was Elena, Clay, Jeremy, Paige and Lucas, I enjoyed reading their points of view. The book has a lot of excitement which is good and keeps you entertained. The downside is the changes to a character which are very sudden changes which I found frustrating.

I am glad I read 'The Women of the Otherworld' and I will re~read the earlier books but not the later books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse