Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

  • Whit
  • Customer reviews



on 16 June 2017
Whit by Iain Banks

Here Banks has created a cult with members that have no outside reference by which to make judgements. Thus, when Isis is sent out into the world to bring her cousin Morag home to the fold, she is supremely confident in her ignorance. This book has an intriguing premise, is of course expertly crafted and a major thought provoker.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 June 2017
An interesting story about a cult religion but with flaws and as always someone trying to take advantage. It is an interesting lead character, Isis, who is gentle but nobody's fool. She has a clear view of what she should do and when faced with an accusation she is upset but uses her clear thinking to resolve the situation through investigation, research and a clear mind. She knows where she wants to finish and without hold a grudge brings the bad characters to account. A slow moving story but knowing the area where the story is set it is an interesting read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 September 2013
I have to come clean and admit to being a huge Iain Banks fan. His books do not fit any one genre and are just storytelling at its best. Whit doesn't disappoint and the you get a story unfolding with the usual mix of Bank's commentary on society. Obviously if you are a kindred spirit to Banks then you will find this more satisfying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 June 2017
An intriguing story, you just could not put the book down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2011
I came across this Banks novel by chance (for the Kindle), and enjoyed every page of it. Very funny, sarcastic but not mean. I agree with other reviews, the synopsis does not do the book much justice. I really like many other of Banks' novels, but this one was a nice change to his SciFi and I was surprised about the storyline.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 August 2013
I read it for Book Club and all five of us found it okay, but no better than that. Isis isn't a very convincing woman in my opinion, she seems to take some stuff in her stride that seems very unlikely. Also, Zeb's speech patterns made me murderous.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 October 2016
Interesting read and an eye opener for some about religious sects, fake gurus etc. I'll read more of his books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 October 2016
A*
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 June 2016
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 April 2016
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse