Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
227
4.0 out of 5 stars
The Crow Road
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£5.49


on 11 May 2017
good book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2014
Seller recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2017
I got what I paid for yes. It certainly was used, but that's ok. Happy purchase.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
I found the going backward and forward in time confusing and the relationship between the characters also hard to follow. The ending of the book almost Gilbertian. It took me almost hundred pages to identify all the characters. Most of the humour excellent. Still an enjoyable read.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2014
Nice wee twist at the end, though I had suspected it for a while through the book. Iain Banks is not for the faint hearted though, but this first novel certainly rattles on apace to a suitable ending.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2014
This is the stroy of Prentice and the mystery surrounding his home village and his uncle Rory. It's the first Iain Banks novel i've ever read, and i have to say it wasn't really my thing. I've seen the bbc adaptation, and thought the story was great, but the book was a bit dull and the characters didn't really leap off the page or make me care about them. It is a very good yarn though, and if you can get past how annoying and petulant Prentice is at times, it's worth a read.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 August 2006
Not just Iain Banks' biggest book, but his best in my opinion. This sprawling tale of dark family secrets and unrequited love is a modern classic and highlights Banks' talent for characterisation and believable cringeworthy situations. His heroes are never without their flaws and never lose their ability to strike a chord with the reader and such is the case with the sardonic, smart alec Prentice.

Iain Banks books are always easy to read but this one requires a tad more discipline than his others as it's not always immediately obvious which of the many characters is narrating each chapter. However, the book flows beautifully and builds to a magnificent and unexpected climax.

A great read for confirmed Banks fans and the unitiated alike who wish to indulge themselves in a great read. Hats off, Mr Banks.
0Comment| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2010
Prentice is a 22-year-old student in Glasgow, just back to his own little town of Gallanach for his grandmother's funeral. It's mostly through his eyes that we're introduced to the McHoan's family, as well as all the other funny characters that people this book. It can maybe take a while in the beginning not to get lost among all their names, not to speak about the many flashbacks that Banks uses to unfold his plot, but it's all worth the effort. Little by little you'll start putting together all the pieces in the story of the McHoan's clan, until the moment you'll find out its deepest secret... "The Crow Road" is a really entertaining book, well written and really funny most of the time. I suppose when you start a book with a sentence like "It was the day my grandmother exploded", you're really setting the tone for the entire book!

For the most curious of you, I leave you with a passage I particularly enjoyed...

"People can be teachers and idiots; they can be philosophers and idiots; they can be politicians and idiots... in fact I think they have to be... a genious can be an idiot. The world is largely run for and by idiots; it is no great handicap in life and in certain areas is actually a distinct advantage and even a prerequisite for advancement".
22 Comments| 63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2017
Liked: Lots of character building
Some good descriptive language

Disliked
. Kept expecting the story to evolve into an interesting plot, but nothing too u expected happened at the end.

I wouldn't reccomend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Whit
£6.99

Need customer service? Click here