Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Exclusive playlist - Elton John Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
66
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£6.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 November 2010
Serious, The Autobiography of John McEnroe, 2002, John McEnroe with James Kaplan. In some ways this book brings in the intensity and integrity you would expect but it also contained a large amount of detail about matches and competitions that you have to be a bit of a tennis nerd to enjoy. A lot of personal and quite painful stuff is aired, for example the start of his relationship with Tatum O'Neill and its decline is shared with dignity and a fair bit of agonising goes on about who he is also took some ploughing through. Various joys and tiffs with other famous tennis players, Connors, Becker, Borg, Lendl etc It becomes a bit name dropping at times, Clinton / Mandela and so on. OK kind of book but not one that I will look to re-visit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2014
I was disappointed in the quality of the book, the actual pages had the texture of newspaper and the printing of the photographs was abysmal. Obviously the actual content of the book would have been good to read but the make up of the book would have spoiled any pleasure in reading it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2011
As pointed out in other reviews I am currently reading all the books on the games greats (Tennis) that is!

So, I picked up JM's book on Amazon at a great price and started to read and then started to get annoyed with it!

You see, we all know in his prime and still now JM was a hot head, angry and self wound up!

This is exactly who this book reads, from his personal issue with fans asking for autographs (come on your famous) to the down right I'm king of the world attitude!

Not the easiest of reads either as it tends to flick around a lot, past to present and so on!

I must agree with some of the other comments here about losing a little respect for JM after reading this!

Either way, if you are a Tennis fan, read this and tick the box!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2014
This book gives an insight into how stressful a tennis players life can be. It is not made easy for them when they have to travel the world and leave a family behind at home.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2014
I've always liked John McEnroe, even when it wasn't popular to do so. So I loved this open and honest biopic. Mac does what he is best at: telling it like it is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2012
this is seriously a cool book, i had the day off yesterday and have already read half of the book and anybody that knows me wouldnt beleive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2016
Enjoyed reading this autobiography as I am of an age to remember John McE at his tennis best.probably bit too many tennis scores though!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2014
Serious was very good, it was John McEnroe as I always knew and loved him. Indeed Superbrat turned supermac. Brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2013
Really enjoyed this book in which gave à great in Wright onto bis live and love of tennis and his family
Must read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
Without doubt a hugely talented tennis player but he needed a ghost writer to write this as it was a dull read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)