Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
79
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 September 2005
"Stolen" is the sequel to Kelley Armstrong's first book, "Bitten" (2001), and thus the second book in the "Women of the Otherworld" series. If you can, read the books in order, because then you will enjoy them even more. Even better, before reading "Bitten" visit the author's website and read the 3 free prequels to the series, "Savage", "Ascension" and "Beginnings". I can guarantee you that they are excellent, and the fact that you don't have to pay for them is a great added benefit :)
Elena Micheals, the only female werewolf in the world, is again the narrator in "Stolen". That means that we are told of everything that is happening from her sometimes ironic but always funny point of view. She is working on her relationship with her boyfriend Clay, another werewolf. Of course Jeremy, the pack leader, is also present in this new adventure, but... all of them will have to keep an open mind, because it seems that there are some things/people that they didn't know about out there.
Hmmm... what about some witches, wizards, shamans and even some vampires?. An what if you add to this already dangerous mix some half-demons, and a billionaire intent on creating a zoo of supernaturals, whether they are willing or not?. The results are explosive, especially when Elena is one of the supernaturals stolen...
On the whole, I think that you are highly likely to enjoy this book, if you appreciate an original story that blends action, some horror, lots of magic and a bit of romance. Moreover, "Stolen" introduces us to Paige Winterbourne, a white witch who will be the narrator of Armstrong's next two books in the series, and who plays a role in rescuing Elena. What else can I say?. Find a comfortable sofa, start to read "Stolen", and enjoy the show :)
Belen Alcat
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2004
This is the second book written by Kelley Armstrong. The first book (Bitten) featured only werewolves and was really fantastic.
In the second book she makes her world bigger: if there are werewolves, you also have to have other magical and preternatural creatures, right ? Like whiches, sorcerers, deamons, half-demons, vampires...
And what if you take people with loads of money and no new challenges who find out that these other races excist ? You get what they had on Buffy. Quote Elena: "Boring. I slept through half the episodes." But quite so boring when she's the one who gets kidnapped...
Of course, her captureres didn't take in acount her Pack (Clay in particular) and of course, Elena herself, who will not go down without one heck of a fight...
This book is a bit different from the first one. Not so many inner thought from Elena or finding her place in the world. This deals about what you're willing to do to make sure you get out alive... So it's different, but it's still great ! Looking foreward to read number three !
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2006
Accidently picked this one up to read before the first book in the series Bitten unfortunately, but despite that, throughly enjoyed it, to the point of not being able to put it down in the last half and staying up all night to finish it. Have now ordered the first book and the following ones in the series. The author's website is also a good read for more information about characters and the like. Definitly would recommend it for those who are interested in Werewolf themed novels.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 December 2003
Stolen is the brilliant follow up to Kelley Armstrong's 'Bitten', we follow the development of Elena Michaels, the worlds only female werewolf. In 'Bitten', Elena was aggressive and determined to cut off her ties to her Pack including her former lover Clay, but in Stolen we see Elena accepting her werewolf side as well as Clay.
In Stolen we catch up with old characters and meet some new ones most notably Paige an acerbic apprentice witch, as well as half demons, psychics and mad scientists. Werewolves are no longer the only creatures who go bump in the night, Elena when acting as Pack enforcer meets two witches who beg for her Pack's help against a mysterious elite group of scientists and ex-military who are kidnapping and menacing the paranormal community.
Elena is snatched by this group who use paranormal beings as lab rats to find out what makes them tick. The stakes are raised when the Bill Gates type techno mogul takes a shine to Elena, but he doesn't only want her body- he wants to hunt her. It's a race against time to see if Elena can break out of her prison or whether Clay and Jeremy can find her in time. To add to her problems Elena's plan to finesse her way out of her prison backfires, when the spoilt rich researcher who she befriends injects herself with Elena's saliva and suddenly there are two female werewolves.
Kelley Armstrong delivers on the promise of the excellent Bitten with this follow up, the dialogue sparkles and Elena is developing a nicely twisted but playful sense of humour. The love scenes between Clay and Elena are as steamy as ever, and the new characters of Paige and Adam a half demon, who can burn with his touch, are interesting and add depth to the series. The mix between werewolves and a prison break out shouldn't work but it does, as we learn more about the process of being 'bitten' and the change.
I can't recommend this book highly enough, this is definitely one for fans of the early Laurell K Hamilton books and Jim Butcher. An unusual take on werewolves that won't disappoint, I would recommend that readers buy Bitten as well as Stolen as you will definitely be left wanting more. I can't wait for Paige's book 'Dime Store Magic'!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2012
So i loved Bitten, no way around that, it was fast paced, interesting and dealt with a variety of situations, not only that but the characters are brilliant. So truly, I had no hesitation in buying 'Stolen', but I must admit I did not expect it to be as good let alone better than Bitten!

In this book Elena is living back with the Pack and taking things a day at a time as far as Clay is concerned. Acting once again as pack enforcer she travels to meet two witches (unbeknownst to Elena at the time) who had advertised information regarding a real werewolf sighting. However she fsoon finds herself in the middle of a much larger situation, and go figure, witches, vampires and demons are real! Not only that but a group of humans are hunting them down to lock away as research subjects... and Elena is on their list.

Anyway, no spoilers, but its a really exiciting read and I couldn't hardly put it down (damn you work.... an 8 hour gap between reading was painful).

Overall: 5/5
Characters: 5/5
Plot: 5/5
Pace: 4/5 (there are one or two instances where nothing much happens, but its still kept interesting)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2005
In my opinion, 'Stolen' is the best book written by Kelley Armstrong. I personally prefer the first two books in the series because they are written by Ellen, a werewolf. However Armstrong's later works are from the perspectives of witches and ghosts. Although all of her books are worth reading.
This epic is full of adventure and intrigue. Ellen is captured by a group trying to discover the supernatural. Ellen tries to use her intelligence as well as her physical strength to escape imprisonment. She faces trouble throughout her stay and constantly is blocked by obstacles. This is book is full of exciting twists and turns, a very thought provoking tale.
Kelley Armstong creates characters that are instantly 'friends' you like them, sympathize with them and on some level, it is easy to relate to them. This is her greatest success within her writing.
'Stolen' is her second book in the series after 'Bitten' which is also a good read. So far there are 5 books in the series but there is a another one coming out next spring in the perspective of Ellen again, this is going to be a long wait!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 October 2012
As a fan of Kelly Armstrong, I may be biased but this is yet another fab book by her. The sequel to Bitten, where (spoiler if you haven't read Bitten yet) she resolves the issues surrounding her and Clay, (the werewolf that she loved, but who bit and turned her).
Stolen is a continuation of their story. Elena stumbles into a whole world of supernatural beings; witches, half demons etc. As the title hints - so too does the blurb - so no spoilers here, she is kidnapped and a whole lot of crazy is unleashed. A good paced, page turning, read well into the night novel. Thank you Kelly.
Urban fantasy readers will love this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2003
Stolen is the second installment from Kelly Armstrong featuring Elena her moden take on the classic werewolf theme.
In this adventure Elena with the help of her pack have to find and distroy evidence that could prove werewolves exsist. Along the way her eyes are opened to the world she is a part of with other gifted indiviuals that share the planet.
A brilliantly written tale of love, hope and pain. Armstrong has weaved a love story with action, drama and a layered plot twister to keep even the most caual reader to want to read on and find just what has happened next.
Any werewolf fan will love this as will anyone interested in wicthcraft or any of the other world yarns. A truly interesting and believable story. Armstrong has shown that it wasn't a one hit wonder she has a gift that must be shared with all that are willing.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2003
Wow! In this gripping sequel to Kelley Armstrong's Bitten, (Which by the way was also a brilliant book), Kelley Armstrong gives you another brilliant insight into the world and mind of the only female werewolf, Elena Michaels. Introducing a mixture of new characters, and bringing back some old ones, Kelley manages to take you on a rollercoaster ride of emotions, from gut-wrenching disgust, to utter joy and happiness, with a lot of comedy moments on the way. I reccomend this book to anyone and everyone, absolutely one of the best books i've ever read, easy to read and excellently written. I Loved every minute of it!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 April 2005
This 2nd book from Kelley Armstrong in the Women of the Otherworld series sees again Elena Michaels where she meets two witches Paige and Ruth Winterbourne. In this book we see the introduction of several new characters. This one is my least favourite out all the 4 Women of the Otherworld books Kelley has wrote so far but, that's not to say I did not enjoy this one.
We see a new character Ty Winsloe who with the help of his scientists they study supernatural species often with fatal consequences, however this time they want to study a werewolf but, when Ty Winsloe catches Elena Michaels he doesn't realise he has met his match! Elena soon realises that when Ty captures he releases them again only to hunt them and kill them in a very bizarre version of a live video game.
We again see the return of Clay, the scenes with Elena & Clay are as brilliant as they were in Bitten, Jeremy also re-appears and he is not in this one as much as he was the first which I found slightly disappointing as I think he is a really good character.
This is as fast paced as the previous, and alsthough brilliant we see less of werewolves in this one whereas I would have preferred to see more. Some have said that this can be read as a stand-alone, I don't agree I think you need to have read Bitten to get the full story on this.
Sadly this is the last time we see a great deal of Elena until the fourth book, and I hear that the 6th novel is going to be centred on Elena which is great, she is my favourite character from the whole series.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse