Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
78
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 12 June 2010
This is a great film. Captures the class divide, 80's Yuppies and the social changes. Those that disagree where probably not even born when this was set. Tough, real, violent and up close. The film captures the feel of the time, perfectly.

With excellent production techniques & casting this feels so much bigger than just a film about football violence. It should be considered a 'cult classic'.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2016
Not as good as the original BUT it is a more honest account of the football violence of the time. The original tried to portray a delusional view of certain teams' supporters. This one is more realistic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2010
A pretty enjoyable remake of the 80s TV film. This version differs from the original in a number of ways but still retains many of the most memorable scenes.Where as the original placed almost all the emphasis on Bex (the top boy in "The Firm") and his rivalry with Yeti (his nemesis and leader of a rival firm), in this version,although the rivalry between Bex and Yeti is still there, there is more emphasis placed on the rites of passage into the firm of Dom, a young lad from a down at heel estate.
As Bex becomes more obsessed (and unhinged) with his need to fulfill what he sees as his destiny as top boy in a combined English firm,to follow the England national team into Europe, realisation dawns on Dom that the buzz and the clobber cannot compensate for feeling bullied, afraid and to some extent, betrayed.
The original suffers in comparison when you look at the attention to detail in this newer version. The clothes in particular in this version are a very accurate refelection of what was predominant at the time on the terraces -some of the Fila,Tacchini and Diadora etc, gear worn in the film still can't be beaten when it comes to football fashion.
In some ways (although obviously impossible) it's a shame that we could not have a hybrid of the old and the new version. Gary Oldman was excellent as Bex in the original for example but as already touched on, the clothes worn in the original, were rubbish (the new version took advice from a specialist 80s casual clothing website for authenticity).
This is not a tale that anyone could argue glorifies violence and fighting at football, the repercussions (both potential and real) on family and self of being involved are well explored in the many darker moments of the film(although there are some pretty funny moments as well and it certainly scores on the nostalgia front).
All in all, a pretty good remake, the clobber is great, the music is thumping but as the previous reviewer has pointed out some of the dialogue is a bit iffy.
Very enjoyable but probablly not a 100% "classic" British film.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2016
Comparing this to the original if I had to date this I would say the original stems from the very real situation prior to the 88 euro championship in Germany and that this new version with the riot! of colors and labels and the jazz funk/ electro music it is set in spring of 1984. By the time of the original film terrace fashions had toned down a lot so the clothes in the Gary oldman film aren't that way off the mark. To me they are quite different films with the oldman version having that air if 'executive' hooligans about it with the board meeting in a hotel, Bexys whole character. Both enjoyable films with a very strong southern England feel to them. Watch Awaydays for a more northern and arty experience!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2013
A good re-make from a different preception of the original film.
A good watch but not as good as the original film.
despatched quickly thanks
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2014
Nick Love's The Firm certainly has a love for the 80s, but the film doesn't quite pull it off. We are never emotionally attached to the actors, and by the end you don't care who gets hurt when the fighting breaks out. This is partially due to the poor script but also because the film focuses only on two main characters- Bek, the head of the firm and Dom a naive shy kid who wants a bit of excitement but bites off more than he can chew.

The realism of the hooligans which dogged English football in the 80s is pretty much spot on and there are as you would expect in a Nick Love film some hilarious scenes. But dare I suggest there could have been more impact violence? Not violence for violence sakes, but for an emotional response, from us the viewer. Without it, we are left with an empty yet fairly enjoyable 90 minutes.

Try and find the original TV movie that this film was based from, it has A list actors and is much better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2012
I wasn't ever a real fan of the original Gary Oldman film "The Firm". So this gave it the much needed refresh and rethink that it needed. I think overall origianl Firm fans wern't overly impressed by this remake, but if you were like me and didn't really enjoy Oldman's version then this was the film for you.

There are a few familiar faces in the cast from other hooligan and gangland films, Calum McNab in the joint lead role who you will recognise as Raff from Football Factory, his dad you will recognise from The Business and other actors such as Paul Anderson and Daniel Mays have large roles. The soundtrack is fantastic, a typical eighties soundtrack.. all that keeps playing back in my head is "Don't you stop it..don't you stop..don't stop the music". Nick Love really nailed everything down in this, the clothes..Fila and Sergio Tacchini tracksuits..everything in this film just transports you back to the 1980's. The storyline has been toyed with a little bit, but I think that benefits the film and its actors, and like foremmentioned..I didn't like the original, as much as I tried.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2012
its set early 80,s its better than football factory and thats good,, cass dvd rise of footsoldiers buy them as well..
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2010
I was a big fan of the original, so was always interested in how Nick Love was going to do with this one . . .
Unfortunately, he's done a terrible job. I'm a bit hot and cold when it comes to Love's creations - I like the fact that he makes these movies, but he places too obvious an emphasis on the music and the fashion of the era, to the point where it becomes suffocating. It's almost as if he writes his movies for people that have NO idea what the 80s was and patronises those that were there (sadly, the majority of his viewers)! Back to the movie - it's nowhere near as raw as the original which was made more convincing by the fact that it was made for TV and therefore had a lower budget. Oldman is completely convincing in the original whereas Bex's character in the remake is somewhat strained. The peripheral characters are probably those that didn't make the final cut of Love's other films, but for fear of typecasting other actors such as Danny Dyer, Tamer Hussan and Geoff Bell (too late if you ask me), these ones made it in. If you haven't seen the original, spend your money on that. Fortunately I watched this on PPV. I think the lesson Love needs to learn is, is you want to make an 80s/90s movie you should have filmed it then - to summarise: 90 minutes of my life I'm never gonna get back. . .
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
After watching the Football Factory and Green Street I thought I’d dabble and watch the 2009 re-make of The Firm. OK its loosely based on the original with Gary Oldman. I was impressed with the film and I really enjoyed it. I not heard of any of the cast before and this was refreshing. The 2 main characters of Bex (Paul Anderson) and Dom (Calum McNab) were played with a bit of conviction. Anderson and McNab were a breath of fresh air and delivered convincing performances. I say ‘breath of fresh air’ because it was great to see this type of film not featuring Danny Dyer, Tony Denham, Craig Fairbrass, Billy Murray and all the Ex-Eastenders cast offs who star in anything with Essex in the title. The designer sports ‘clobber’, the superb 1980s sound track, the bleak London estates, the electro-grade night clubs and hair cuts all contribute to a cracking film. Plus the Clockwork Orange-esque dialogue added humour to a fairly morbid subject. Certainly worth a watch.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)