Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
88
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£5.03


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 March 2017
A great toilet book! Ideal to pick up when in session! Impossible to read without hearing Mr Brooker narrating it himself in your head.

Just a note that this book contains an expanded collection of his journalistic columns, so if you've read all of these then you won't get anything new!

I for one enjoyed it though!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2017
Since the early days in the guardian he was good up until this year. Been there done that and nothing is fresh even though mostly all the news stories and programmes are.

Needs to have a holiday or child and start again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2017
Great book, great seller, delivered quickly & accurate description, great price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2017
I'm a big fan, but the references have dated quickly. I ended up skipping half of it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2010
A collection of Charlie's Guardian Columns. If you like screenwipe, newswipe, gameswipe or any thing else Charlie has done then buy this. Most pages contain a laugh out loud moment.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 January 2010
If you know anything of Charlie Brooker, you'll be aware of his many, many angry but incredibly funny rants at targets on TV but also increasingly examples of dumbness in the non-TV (real) world. There are few writers and broadcasters who can produce such insane levels of bile and hatred so often in such a skilled and drop-dead funny way. This is probably why he's co-written with the ultimate pitch-black dark comedy genius, Chris Morris.

What's less obvious to the casual reader or viewer is that Charlie Brooker writes with equal humour but infectious enthusiasm about the really good stuff on TV and elsewhere. Here's the end of a piece from "The Hell Of It All" on the BBC's "Life In Cold Blood":

"This is likely to be Attenborough's last major series: the final chapter in an extraordinary legacy. To change the way millions of people see the world is no mean feat, and he's done it with quiet assurance, humour and respect. TV can be many things. Nowt wrong with a bit of mindless entertainment now and then. But when someone with purpose seizes and commands it, it can also do this. Incredible."

That's why this collection of Brooker's writing works: light to go with the dark. The extreme bile directed against the latest twerp-fest of a Big Brother or Celebrity X Factor comes from a sense that TV can do so much better, it's not hatred for the sake of it, it's a hatred of lazy low standards when so much better is possible. This is hilarious savagery with a purpose.
22 Comments| 65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2015
Inane ramblings not witty sorry I bought this I expected more after watching him on television this has put me off him
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2009
"The Hell of It All" continues where "Dawn of the Dumb" left off, collecting Brooker's columns in the Guardian from Aug 07 to Aug 09. The chapters are divided between his Screen Burn columns where he talks about tv shows, and his G2 columns where he talks about other stuff. I love Brooker's work especially his writing but always forget his columns are up on the Guardian website each week so seeing a 388 page book appear is always a surprise and a pleasure as I know I've got 2 years of Brooker's views to read first time. So seeing "The Hell of It All" appear suddenly on the Amazon website, I had to order a copy. And is it any good? Of course it is.

Brooker's views on tv are always funny and spot on, like his article on Bruce Parry in "Tribes" where he reimagines an episode based in Glasgow, or his potshots on BB housemates. There's also a fairly mundane article on his fear of spiders until at the end he adds a note saying he had to write this one as his first submission was vetoed as too gloomy for a Monday morning - the article posits the question "Why don't you blow your own head off?". The article is also included in full.

His best work comes in the form of the G2 articles where his descriptions of not caring about anything in the article titled "The Black Hole" are, dare I say it, profound, while the travel piece where he stays in an opulent Las Vegas during the beginning of the economic crisis contains a spot on description of Vegas. There's also a brilliantly funny article on Gordon Brown's dreary time as prime minister, a paragraph of which I loved so much I've typed it out below:

"Here is a man apparently allergic to luck. Nothing goes right for the Brown minister. He can't even pop onto YouTube and attempt a smile without everyone laughing and calling him creepy. And they're right. The smiles were creepy: they made him look like the long-dead corpse of a gameshow host resurrected by a crazed scientist in some satirical horror movie. It's Saturday night, live from Television Centre! The theme tune plays on a church organ. Your children shriek when he bounds on to the screen. As he descends the glittering staircase, one decomposing arm drops off at the shoulder socket, hitting the studio floor with a damp thud. Oblivious, he steps over it to approach camera one, gazing down the lens with frozen eyes, intermittently twitching that smile. Your screen cracks. Hot plasma leaks out. This broadcast is over." (p.351)

Charlie Brooker's written another amazing book where you actually prefer to read about tv than watch it. And great timing too as a fine remedy to all the putrid celeb biographies and cookbooks out any day now. Very funny, very readable, highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2010
This book is a genuine paradox engine: Charlie Brooker's wit is cynical, sardonic, misantropic and overridden by a hilarious obsession with all things scatalogical and excretory, yet - somehow - remains the most hilarious, refreshing and often uplifting thing about his writing. His books thus far, including this latest one 'The Hell of it All', are anthologies of his Guardian newspaper columns - both Screenburn and his independent subject pieces for the Guide and G2. Turning his eye and cutting wit to television, amongst all sorts of other random subjects, he subverts, reveals and criticises the media with a kind of reckless despair and wonderful surrealism.

For those of us constantly scoffing and sighing in the face of an increasingly deranged world, Brooker is the perfect antidote.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 December 2009
I'm not a Guardian reader so I always miss out on Brooker's columns unless I look them up online, so a collection of his articles is always worth a punt. He comes across exactly as he does on the TV, which is great and his writing is fresh, to-the point and funny. My only critisism is that some of his descriptive passages are a bit icky, but I guess that's just his style. It's interesting that The Guardian censor his columns to a certain extent, but within the limits of this book he's allowed slightly more scope, hence his inclusion of some 'alternative' thoughts, such as the pointlessness of life.

Some of the articles were laugh out loud funny, examples of this are where he asked readers to submit suggested names for the new Gladiators. The travel article about a road trip in the States was excellent too and shows his journalistic range. Overall it's a great collection of writings and well worth a punt if you're a fan of Brooker's sarcastically dry wit.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)