Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Learn more



on 21 October 2017
Great fun, an innocent film of childhood in the 60s (pre-‘68!), when I was still at school, secondary school admittedly, but France being more traditional than Scotland, it’s very evocative of the late ‘50s primary school I knew. Except- the boys are SO clean! (The book is more honest on this score.)
The lads are well cast, Agnan the teacher’s pet, clype (telltale in English), with his lisp and expression of horror at his classmates’ antics, is a star, as is Alceste, the fat boy, Nicolas’s best friend, Clotaire, the hapless dunce is suitably confused.
The adults are up to the task of acting with children!! Kad Merad (“Bienvenu chez les Ch’tis ») copes with being Nicolas’s father with aplomb.
I’m pleased that English subtitles are optional - not all Anglophones are incapable of learning any other language!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 April 2017
Excellent light hearted and wonderfully quintessentially French film seeing the world through the eyes of 8 year old boys. Yes, I do know it's a French film; what I mean is that Hollywood rarely make films as sympathically as the French. Him indoors and his highly critical, film-making son both enjoyed it and voted it a hit. My work here is done.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 May 2017
excellent movie about a french schoolboy and his seven miscievous pals.You will find the children very funny in their tricks to reach treir goals.
Unfortunately that in this english version there are no extras sound: french subs: english
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2015
Fantastic film - my first year (age 11/12) pupils absolutely loved it, and so did I. Beautifully styled with a retro 50s feel, and accurately described on the box as being like Diary of a Wimpy Kid in French, this is a delightful and very funny film for all ages. If you're not a fan of subtitles (or you're a teacher looking for something to amuse a fairly low ability French class) then this is great because it doesn't have too much to read, allowing you to enjoy the visual comedy. Highly recommend this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 June 2015
A lovely film fir one and all.Funny at times,mostly just simple humour. It could have been brilliant with a better director. The medical scene played no part in the story line and was boringly not funny. Perhaps the director likes to see small boys in their pristine clean underwear,who knows.
In the whole very watchable,even worth a second viewing
The young lad with the glasses is just brilliant,as is the sleepy one at the back of the class
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 August 2015
My son and I have read nearly all of the books so when I saw this I bought it for us to watch together. We did laugh but not as much as I'd hoped. There were some good belly laughs though and we enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2017
My S1 (age 11-12) pupils loved this film. They watched in French with English subtitled and although some were skeptical to begin with about watching a foreign movie, they were totally won over.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 July 2017
Good quality product at competitive price.
Exactly as listed online.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 January 2018
Good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 October 2014
Perhaps a tad predictable but nonetheless quite entertaining with some mischievous and adventurous little boys taking the viewer on a journey of sorts. One could see the confluence of factors leading to a classic misunderstanding but understood how looking at life through the prism of childhood innocence the protagonist could be so mistaken regarding a key matter in his life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)