Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
143
4.6 out of 5 stars
UNIVERSAL STUDIO CANAL VIDEO GIE Le petit Nicolas [Blu-Ray]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£14.24+ Free shipping


on 25 May 2017
excellent movie about a french schoolboy and his seven miscievous pals.You will find the children very funny in their tricks to reach treir goals.
Unfortunately that in this english version there are no extras sound: french subs: english
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2017
Great movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2017
A really good film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2017
As expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2014
I watched this shortly after two gritty films set among young people in the Paris suburbs - what a change of tone! This is a delight from start to finish, and had us all laughing out loud every few minutes. Adapted from a comic, which which I'm not familiar, the look of the film reflects that with use of simple, graphical colour schemes and with slightly surreal camerawork and voiceover techniques that are reminiscent at times of Amélie. For those who speak French, there are some nice word plays that don't translate, but my wife and son who were reliant on the subtitles got just as much pleasure out of it (something of a testament as they were suffering a degree of French film fatigue at the time). The lead boys all give charming performances. I particularly liked the class 'low achiever' Clotaire, whose bewildered hangdog expressions had me laughing even when he had no lines. Sandrine Kiberlain, paying their teacher, is a constant favourite of mine, and this plays to her comic talent for expressing an air of resignation and mild disappointment with life through little looks and nuances. A brief appearance by the gorgeous Louise Bourgoin in a heap of cacti was an aesthetic bonus... Nicolas' parents give broad performances which are right for the comic book heritage and are both genuinely warm and amusing. This is a really refreshing film - simple, warm, direct, drawing its humour from situations and perspectives rather than spite. Absolutely recommended.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2017
Great fun, an innocent film of childhood in the 60s (pre-‘68!), when I was still at school, secondary school admittedly, but France being more traditional than Scotland, it’s very evocative of the late ‘50s primary school I knew. Except- the boys are SO clean! (The book is more honest on this score.)
The lads are well cast, Agnan the teacher’s pet, clype (telltale in English), with his lisp and expression of horror at his classmates’ antics, is a star, as is Alceste, the fat boy, Nicolas’s best friend, Clotaire, the hapless dunce is suitably confused.
The adults are up to the task of acting with children!! Kad Merad (“Bienvenu chez les Ch’tis ») copes with being Nicolas’s father with aplomb.
I’m pleased that English subtitles are optional - not all Anglophones are incapable of learning any other language!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2012
Went to see this film at our local brilliant Macrobert Centre in Stirling which thankfully picks up world cinema ignored by the big boys, based on the fact that it was French and about school (wife and I both Primary teachers and fond of French culture). I have honestly never heard her laugh so much and so consistently throughout a film. Excellent understanding of a child's world and take on reality. Wonderful performances from all involved in this as well. This was early 2011 and still no sign of a UK release on DVD a year later. I do have a copy WITH ENGLISH subtitles now as I was so wanting this I got a copy from Amazon in Canada! Had the hassle of it being Region 1, but worth the pain and extra cost:
http://www.amazon.ca/Petit-Nicolas-Little-Nicholas/dp/B003FTM19G/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1326874604&sr=8-3
STOP PRESS: UK VERSION OUT ABOUT 14 MONTHS AFTER THE REVIEW!
33 Comments| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2017
Excellent light hearted and wonderfully quintessentially French film seeing the world through the eyes of 8 year old boys. Yes, I do know it's a French film; what I mean is that Hollywood rarely make films as sympathically as the French. Him indoors and his highly critical, film-making son both enjoyed it and voted it a hit. My work here is done.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 7 January 2011
Little Nicolas is a French comedy painting an interesting and extremely well told picture of growing up - from the child's perspective. Little Nicolas is a fairly average school kid from a middle-class family of the 1960s urban France. He likes his parents, his school mates and his life in general - and would, of course like everything to stay that way. But events at school make him think significant, and scary change is ahead - the rest of the movie is basically about him dealing with the 'situation'.

What makes the movie truly outstanding, is how well it manages to empathise with a child's point of view. The fears and misunderstandings of the children in general and Nicolas in particular make for a warm but relentless stream of hillarity - it has been a very long time since a comedy made me laaugh so much or so hard. In it's warmth it very much reminded me of Monsieur Ibrahim [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (without the sad ending).

At the same time the entertainment is fairly innocent and can be enjoyed by viewers of pretty much all ages. Some other aspects, involving his parents are pictured pretty amusingly, too - and relate to experiences many families have gone through at some point - the husband's striving for promotion, the entertaining of the boss and his wife at home, the somewhat desperate housewife...

The only unfortunate thing about the movie currently is that I have not yet been able to find a version with English subtitles. So if your French, or in this case alternatively Italian (subtitled) is not up to speed, you will sadly have to wait - but I am sure the wait will be worth it, once an English version eventually appears.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 March 2013
Format: DVD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
'Petit Nicolas' is based on a comic strip by Goscinny (more well known for his 'Asterix'), and features the adventures of the epnymous boy and his group of friends from school. The stories and film are told from the child's point of view thus the film has a very stylised, idyllic 1950's setting (from similar in style and feel to 'Amelie').

The plot follows Nicolas's and his friends (mis-)adventures when they think his parents are going to replace him with a baby brother and need to band together to ensure Nicolas stays within his family. Even though this is being advertised as a family film having children is not a requirement to enjoy this movie.

Overall a delightful French comedy which will have you chuckling with amusement.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)