Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars
136
3.4 out of 5 stars
Price:£7.63+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 July 2017
Good game with creepy storyline
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2014
There was no code following the game - nor would the seller give me a code - only if I returned it - which would make it just about twice as expensive as buying a new game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2010
Played on windows Vista 64 bit.

Well first off, yes, this is a post apocalyptic set game similar to S.T.A.L.K.E.R. &Fallout , but that is where the similarities start to end. The only other similarity apart from the setting, between Metro 2033 & those games, is that they are first person shooters with a survival horror emphasis. Visually & atmospherically Metro 2033 is very nice, it certainly conveys the feeling of the setting which you are in. The mutant enemies are scary to a point, basically the point being that there are allot of them at times, which makes you panic, looking around for where they are coming from. Additionally it does have some occasional set pieces worth the admittance fee alone, but then the other side of the game starts to drag this title down to an average FPS.

I certainly liked the fresh concept of the games currency, being military grade bullets, which you then use to buy ordinary ammo, better weapons(there is no inventory, so you can only carry 1 weapon of each type in a Half Life style system), armor or other gear. The story is good, and nothing wrong with the voice acting quality for this game, but pardon the pun, the wheels do come off a little. Firstly the game is VERY linear, you are given usually only one path to take, which is where the other side of the games problem links in, the checkpoint save system. We cannot save the game at certain points when we like, the game saves for us at certain sections of the game, which does drag the fun out of this. Nothing more annoying then collecting ammo & gear off fallen enemies, then to get killed by a silly mistake or an enemy you didn't see & then have to restart & do it all over again & again *sigh*. It got to one point where i just threw this game down as i was doing one particular section, set on a rail car(which is moving on like a snail), where i have been doing it over and over 5 or 6 times because i have to start form the checkpoint beginning again when i get killed argh!!!

In conclusion, it's by no means a perfect game as the pros & cons point out. The game is very good for a bit of simple run & gun fun with a little bit of stealth here & there (stealth isn't well implemented) but don't go expecting the quality & depth of Fallout 3 or say Stalker, as you will be sorely disappointed. There are a couple of different endings, so be sure to keep a save game near the end to try them out. An added little bonus is that you also get Red Faction Guerrilla thrown in(at time of purchase), i played the original but didn't buy the sequel, so that's nice to have as an extra. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2010
I first purchased this game as a 2nd hand copy from ebay, I would like to warn people that all 2nd hand copies have been linked by the previous owner to their steam account which can be done only once so you wont be able to play them.

To the game, the game itself is such an imersive and frightening experience that had me quaking in my boot, from the low powered torch light bouncing off the walls of the Metro tunnels highlighting every shadow and making the experience truly scary.
The Nature of the game is highlighted in the fact that the ammo that you use too dispatch enemies is also used as currency, so you can have a really nice shiny gun but no ammo to fire it (dont worry you always have your knife)

The main dissapointment for me was the truly high specs of the game, long gone are the days when I would go out and buy a new computer just to play Halflife 2. I spend over 2 hours tweaking the game settings and display settings just so I could play but when I did it was truly worth the wait.

In short great game excellent replay vaule due to different endings, as well as game play style's (sneaky coward or gun hoe), you need a powerful computer to get the best out of the game but it is more than enjoyable with the lowest graphics settings.

cheers

Frankthetank
44 Comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2012
First of all, this game is fantastic. It places you in the constantly terrified shoes of Artyom, fighting to survive against some of the most terrifying creature you can think of (barring anything from Dead Space because that stuff is nightmare fuel). The weapons are fun to use, all of them carrying that retrofitted feel, and the way the currency works is spectacular in the experience. By making bullets your currency, it gets you to constantly think about ammo conservation, and to scavenge around at every single opportunity, just like the destitutes that inhabit the metro would.
My main problem, though, was that it simply did not work right with my screen. I have a widescreen monitor, and the game actually cuts off a large section either side, making it inhumanly wide. I fixed this with a mod, but this in turn forced me to read things with altered text - but despite this, if you allow for this 1 problem, the graphics are truly something to behold... and to lag. The game has horrible optimisation, and you need to tone down the amazing graphics just for it to work.
Overall, this game seems to use a large points pool for it's attributes, and seems to have shoved them all into fun, fear, atmosphere, beauty, and Russians, and seemed to ignore graphical usability entirely. But it has cheats, in that regard, so by and large, buy this game.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2012
This was an impluse buy for me as I was 'in-between' games.

I wasn't expecting much. An immersive first-person shooter. Something with some orginality.

And, this game delivered.

The setting is unusual - post-apoc Moscow. The scenario brings some new elements into play, such as different factions & of course the mutants. The levels are well-paces & atmospheric. The gun-play has the right feel & the upgrading system makes sense as you make your way through the levels.

Overall, it's a fun game which can be creepy at times. The drawback for me was that it was very much 'on the rails'. I know all games have an element of this but I came from playing Fallout3 New Vegas so I did miss this. At times, the game is so linear that you get to point and everyone stands around waiting for you to 'do something'.

The graphics look a little dated now but nothing wrong with that. The coding all seems robust so no crashes or glitches in my version.

So, nothing offensive in the game. It's a brave attempt to bring something new to the busy genre. The story was solid enough although I didn't find it that immersive....I cared about the characters but not that much. Still, a good game if you can get it at the right price & the over-kill of AK-47s is a big plus!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2010
I have not finished playing the game yet, but am finding that half way through I am doing it for completion sake, rather than enjoyment.

good bits:
DX11 graphics - simply stunning
Interesting storyline without too many boring cut scenes
The feeling of a real underground community is really well done. It all makes sense, people sleep in bunkbeds and "apartments" the size of kennels, but spend their waking hours in the communal areas. electrical and kerosene ligths add to the yellowy unhygienic surroundings. Children are drawing with chalk on the concrete floors and are generally just entertaining themselves whilst adults go about living out their existence. There are mini jails for thieves and there are scammers about. At one point I overheard a conversation between a little girl and her parents. The girl asked for a pet rat, but the parents tell her that she has her teddy bear to play with, and that she shuold stop playing with food (i.e. the rat). so it really is immersive and believable.
There are some scary moments too and the characters you meet are voice acted well (mostly).

the not so good bits:
Character animation is at times shambolic. at one point you see a kid run past some adults at quite some speed and then make a 90 degree turn without banking or slowing down. So an animation of a running kid being on invisible rails, come on who does that in a modern game anymore?
Attacking monsters do not collide with each other or you. since they are melee you can find that you are being attacked by 5 monsters who occupy the physical space of one and are also half way within your body, so you are shooting at their backside, rather than their head...
There should have been more variations of clothing or at least faces. I saw "quadruplets" in room once.
There is a shrine to people who have presumably gone missing or perished and it looks like 3 source photos have been used, then randomly multiplied and scattered about to look like the shrine is to 30-50 people.
Same bloody "metro 2033" novel poster and book is everywhere you turn.'
Being a native russian speaker myself, I found that most of the Russian voicing is done by what must have been Russian actors, and their English had a typical Russian accent (so add a star for the massive effort to make this world authentic and believable), but then the kids all seem to have an American accent(take away a star).

These seemingly minor (i say minor because compared with the attention to detail that has gone into the rest of the game) really do break the suspension of disbelief and you are reminded that you are in a flawed game almost every minute... It's a real shame this..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2011
It's not very often that you see video games being developed outside the English-speaking world. Apart from German RPGs and Japanese Fantasy games, most other countries don't have big software companies with the necessary budget to bring out big titles. Least of all Ukraine. However, after more than four years of development, 4A Games, founded by former employees of GSC Game World (known for the Cossacks and S.T.A.L.K.E.R series) has now released the latest survival-horror First-person shooter, Metro 2033, which is a welcome change to the current wave of Call of Duty oriented FPS games dominating the market.

SETTING
20 years after an apocalyptic nuclear holocaust turned most of the world's surface into a radioactive wasteland, Metro 2033 follows the story of Artyom, who has been living among forty thousand other survivors of Moscow in the city's underground metro network, which is the only home the inhabitants of Russia's capital now have. The game's biggest and best feature is exactly this setting and the atmosphere it creates. Not only is the game engine rich in detail, but the developers have also exploited the linearity of the campaign to make each game level as realistic and unique as possible, breathing life into the tunnels of the Moscow metro. Each Metro station has been transformed to provide housing for hundreds of people, everything feels cramped and cosy at the same time. On the other hand, tunnels leading to other stations feel ghastly and foreboding, while the surface radiates a sense of bleak hopelessness making you shudder in your gas mask, eager to return to the tunnels below.

GAMEPLAY
Metro 2033 is a First-person shooter with RPG elements. This involves limited interaction with the enviromnent (unlike Crysis, you cannot pick anything up and throw it about) such as turning lights off or on, knocking on doors (much to the annoyance of its owners), giving handouts to beggars and also buying and selling weapons and ammunition. The currency in Metro 2033 is pre-apocalypse military grade ammunition, which can be exchanged for a great deal more bullets, albeit post-apocalyptic, "weaker" ones manufactured in the metro. This definitely makes for a cooler and more realistic and likely post-apocalyptic currency than Fallout's bottle caps.

There are several basic weapon types, this involves your usual handgun, shotgun, assault rifle and explosive, but also some more exotic weapons making use of electricity or air pressure, requiring you to keep charging or pumping up these weapons periodically for maximum effectivity. And unlike most other shooters, ammunition is hard to come by in Metro 2033 - you have to be constantly looting corpses for bullets or you'll run out of ammo pretty soon and a knife can only get you so far.

The game has a steep learning curve - the use of gas masks, filters, nightvision, head torch and weapons that need constant recharging, a stopwatch to determine how long an air filter will last and the whole concept of military grade ammunition as currency takes a little while to get accustomed to. Similarly, the weapons in this game require some experimenting before one can settle down with which one suits the personal playstyle best. My favorite is the Volt Driver, aka Railgun, deadly at close to mid-range and dirt cheap ammunition. Throwing knives and silenced (or suppressed, for the purists) weapons are quintessential for stealth gameplay, which is an alternate option of playing this game: almost any overhead lights can be broken to render you invisible in the darkness, with an LED on your watch indicating your visibility.

There are some bugs however, that I am not happy about. First of all, there are some glitches in this game. For example, characters partially vanish into walls when they get too close or when loading a save, you start drifting off in one direction and the only way to fix this is by fumbling about with the movement keys. There are also some other bugs I've heard about but didn't personally encounter, such as infinite gas filters and dead enemies flopping about. Another drawback is that despite the game designers taking so much time in making the singleplayer experience immersive, they threw in a crappy checkpoint system almost as an afterthought. The game saves at irregular intervals, in the weirdest of places. This often ends up in the last checkpoint being half a second before a headshot kills you, and unfortunetely, Artyom doesn't have the skill to continue with a bullet lodged in his skull. Games from the last decade already had the ability to save wherever and wherever you wanted, so this is not a technical limitation, rather sloppy programming.

But the main problem is the initial installation process: getting this steam game to run in the first place, requires some patience. The first time I tried running Metro 2033, it wouldn't get past the THQ logo screen and kept crashing. I had to run the game in safe mode and experiment with the video settings to find out what caused the crashing until I found out the culprit: DX10. With my GTX295, I can max out the game (1920x1200, no AA though) quite well with DX9 and get 15 - 30 FPS depending on the situation I'm in. About 5 FPS worse than Crysis maxed out running with DX10 and 4xAA, too. As you can see, Metro 2033 is, while graphically a close competitor but not superior, an even more demanding game than Crysis. Nevertheless, the promised next-gen capabilities of the engine regarding DX11 disappoint - the DX9 version of the game looks identical to its DX10 and DX11 counterparts in almost every aspect. You have to look really hard to spot the differences. Direct X 11's hardware tesselation for example, turns octadecagons into proper, round objects - but cuts the average framerate by a staggering half! Such subtle effects aren't noticable in regular gameplay and are certainly not worth shelling out half a grand for. At least not for anybody who bought a new graphic card 2007 onwards.

CONCLUSION
Overall, I can only recommend Metro 2033 to anybody who is seeking a deep singleplayer experience without having to resort to a full blown 50 hour RPG. The storyline itself may not be very gripping, but the journey Artyom takes from his home station to the grande finale is a rollercoaster ride of atmospheric awesomeness that just cannot be measured by words alone. It took me 15 hours to finish the game, which involved some exploring, watching all cutscenes and dying a couple of times. Metro 2033 is not only a refreshing change to the typical American setting for almost any given post-apocalyptic scenario, but also full of setpieces and cinematic moments, despite mostly being set in the tunnels, with occasional excursions to the bleak surface. The choice of playing the game guns blazing or utilizing stealth and the scarcity of ammo also make for a unique experience that you won't be forgetting so quickly. Metro 2033 is one of the few titles that make you lean back and think about what you just experienced after you finish playing the game, leaving plenty for open thought. A four, out of five stars.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2010
Initially I had posted a less than favourable review on Metro 2033 - because of various frustrations I had while playing the game (lack of ammo, feeble weapons etc)

Any yet - even after posting that review - I was still drawn back to playing the game.

Why? Because of the compelling atmosphere and - once I got the hang of it - the total immersion.

After watching a few walkthrough videos of Metro2033, I began to appreciate what a great game this is - and also, what a quality game it is.

Some may say that it's a very linear game - and in a way it is. But it's based around adventuring in an underground Metro system where all tunnels have to lead somewhere - so that's totally logical.

It is also very story driven, so you don't find yourself getting sent on pointless side-quests; there are no go-here-and-get-that-then-bring-it-back-to-me-to-get-useless-reward scenarios here. You're continually scavenging for weapons and ammo - and when you arrive at secure Metro Stations, you're able to trade ammo and buy upgraded weapons etc.

In between stations - it's a fight for survival. It's a stark world portrayed in Metro 2033 - and living in it isn't easy. But that's how it should be in a game portraying post-nuclear Moscow - and the game's graphics, sounds and AI portray this beautifully.
22 Comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is not a game to pick up to have mindless fun. Because everything that can go wrong eventually will. Unfortunately not just in the game.

The game is set in a postapocalyptic Russian cityscape where only the lucky(?) commuters in the famous Moscow underground survived the nuclear blasts - and are now tormented by the cruel conditions they have to face. The underground tunnels belong to surviving humans ranging to both ends of the moral spectrum and various mutant creatures, all trying to make the most of their life.

And life is harsh. Ammunition is so scarce it is used as currency. So you have to be very careful with your aim. Having to make every shot count may sound fun but the next time you get caught with an almost empty weapon between nasty mutants and bloodthirsty enemies you may long for a more generous game design.
The weapons are not many but they are well designed. Both the pre-war and the improvised ones offer more or less realistic mechanics and satisfying results.

Light and shadows play an important role and stealth is something you will be thinking quite a lot - especially if you are low on ammunition. The graphics of the environments are detailed and beautiful whereas the movements seem fluid and natural. The game designers aimed in increasing the immersion factor wherever they could (there is no HUD besides your cross-hairs, you have to hit T to take a look at your watch - very important when venturing into the irradiated cities); however, pop-up messages and stuttering take a big bite out of that.

METRO 2033 will inevitably be compared to S.T.A.L.K.E.R.. I found that S.T.A.L.K.E.R. is more of an RPG (hence its open sandbox nature) whereas METRO 2033 is more of a shooter with a predestined path to follow.

The PC I run this maxed out on was a year old system (WinXP SP3, P7 920 on MSI Eclipse with 3GB of RAM and an ASUS nVIDIA GTX260) and the game showed a proneness to stuttering, especially when enemies swarmed. I guess a future patch could take care of that but I would had preferred to receive a finished game and not one rough around its edges.

The retail version of METRO 2033 comes with Red Faction: Guerrilla as a bonus. It is not a bad game and, contrary to METRO 2033, it offers more fun than immersion.

Finally, even he retail version of the game will require to be tied to a STEAM account. Yes that means ownership of your game will be stolen back and you will be allowed to play with it but not actually keep it. Whether this is acceptable to you or not you can now make an informed decision.

TREAD WITH CAUTION.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)