Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
551
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.45+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 25 November 2009
this is an absolute delight to watch. one of the best versions of a christmas carol ever, probably the best since the allistair sim version. while it might be a bit too dark for young children, the whole family should enjoy this. it's very faithfull to the book, and indeed i was mouthing lines of dialogue before the characters! there are a few comedy slapstick scenes added on, but it's very tastefully done, indeed i think dickens himself would have approved of this film.
i admit, i did have reservations about jim carrey playing scrooge, thinking he would be dreadfully miscast, and i'm a big jom carrey fan, but somehow was expecting the worst from him, but i was very pleasantly surprised. in fact, this could very well be one of his best performances, and he plays the voices of the 3 ghosts as well. the rest of the voice cast are also excellent. in fact i'll go as far as to say that this is one of disney's best films in years, one of the best christmas films in years too, and ties with up as the best animated films of the year. i can't praise this film enough, the 3d effects are amazing. i think pixar might have some serious competition at next year's oscars!
33 comments| 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2009
Ignore those crying `bah humbug', Robert Zemeckis' motion-capture version of Charles Dickens' eternal Christmas classic is a hugely enjoyable yuletide movie, and arguably the best version ever committed to celluloid.

With Jim Carrey taking the lead and also playing the three ghosts, the film sticks to Dickens' story with only a few embellishments which only serve to make the experience more enjoyable. Dickens' overarching themes of poverty and the class schism in Victorian London are clearly flagged-up, and Zemeckis doesn't hesitate in adding scary and sinister touches - the nefarious ghost of Christmas yet to come is as frightening as you'd expect, and I would suggest a pre-screening before sitting down with children under 6. [ASIN:B000BAZD8S The Polar Express], Zemeckis' previous Christmas motion-capture effort, has often been criticised for weaknesses in some of its animation techniques - the eyes of the characters for example - but this time around these have been ironed out and the picture is superb. The 3D experience is simply the icing on the cake - most effective aspect being the falling snow.

Ultimately, this is A Christmas Carol for those who love the magic, chills, and sheer brilliant storytelling that made the novel such a classic, and I for one will be sitting down with this DVD and a glass of mulled wine for many Christmases to come - God bless us everyone!
11 comment| 74 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2009
There have been many many versions of this well known story ranging from the excellent Scrooge (Christmas Special Release) (Two Discs) (DVD) [1951] to modern versions Scrooged [DVD] [1988], animated editions, muppets, musicals, and now cgi. To make another adaptation of a christmas carol something has to be special about the film in order for it to find it's place in a crowded market.

This 2009 Disney adaptation filmed using motion capture breathes new life into the classic Dickens tale. The animation is everything you would expect from a Disney film. Jim Carrey is a revelation, he performs as Scrooge AND the Ghosts yet each voiceover sounds so different, Gary Oldman (Jacob Marley, Bob Cratchitt), Bob Hoskins (Mr. Fezziwigg, Old Joe) and Colin Firth (Fred) also do well in support.

The use of animation in this way allows the filmakers to use techniques not seen before in the other versions. Look out for the scenes in which Scrooge is flying over the rooftops of Victorian England and the tiny Scrooge being chased by the Ghost of Christmas future, the cinematography is stunning. The Ghosts are far scarier than I have ever seen them before.

This is not the definitive version of A Christmas Carol but is definately up there as one of the best. The story may be familiar but this film gives it a new lease of life for the 21st century generation. A definate must see.
0Comment| 64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2016
Love this accurate re-telling of an old classic. Jim Carey's slapstick style was wearing a little thin after Cable Guy, and loving this timeless Dickens classic from reading as a child I bought this 3D version with some trepidation, initially for the visual effects... How wrongly judgemental could I have been. In his restraint, this gifted actor oozes respect for the original narrative, layering appropriate light and shade in his portrayal of Scrooge, and the Christmas ghosts. Hats off to the whole production team. The graphics in their contrast seduce you into the Dickensian Christmas card-like scenes, with a sense of realism that almost makes you forget you're watching computerised imagery. The 3D effects are suitably stunning and pointedly used. The drama builds accordingly to a thrilling pace, and the heart strings are pulled. I now consider this my definitive screen version of this popular tale, which has been aired every year since its Blu Ray release as a Christmas family tradition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2015
This is a great looking movie and the issue with 'dead eyes' that plagued Zemekis's other Christmas movie 'The Polar Express' has been improved upon in many ways. It tries, at least in the first half, to stick to the original story and the use of direct dialogue from the story is greatly received; however, it would appear that this 'Hollywood' director just can't resist the temptation to turn this warm, charming and honest story into an all American, Moms apple pie, yeehaa of a roller coaster ride at Disney land in the second half!
The second (and one could argue most important) ghost is rushed through hardly touching on the fine nuances or details from the original story and then we are thrust full speed into what can only be described as a fairground chase that lasts way too long.
The final chapter is then quickly dispatched and we find ourselves at the end wondering why Scrooge is not indeed dead from a massive coronary brought on by the constant jolt to his system by the Winter Wonderland fairground ride he has been on!
All in all, a wasted opportunity to use the highly skilled technicians that were clearly employed to make this movie and the fine cast that were used for the voices, (Colin Firth is way under used here) to make this movie the great one it should have been.
I know Jim Carrey was very gushing about this movie saying it sticks close to the original book, and in many ways it does and he certainly puts in a good performance with his many varied voices (mind you the voice for the Ghost of Christmas Present is way off) but it just doesn't stick to it enough for my liking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2009
Although this is the latest of many screen adaptations, for me it has the most traditional feel. Technology (both animation and 3D) is totally employed in service to the integrity and (dare I say) spirit of the story instead of galloping off into irrelevant set-pieces as so often happens with computer graphic effects. Finally in 2009, the technical skills are there to produce feats of wonder as magnificent as could be performed by Spirits and imagined by Charles Dickens. Be warned though, whilst the wonders are truly wondrous, the horror is also authentically horrible and not for small children of a sensitive disposition. Jacob Marley in agony and chains, his spirit doomed to be weighed down by all that he held on to so tightly in life is shocking. On the other hand Dickens' London is beautifully crafted and in 3D, the Christmas Eve snow is breathtaking. Last night, the whole theatre was full of children gasping in awe and delight.

Having set this magnificent backdrop, the characters are then exquisitely etched, from a grizzled, bitter Scrooge, to the careworn but loving Cratchit family through to all the other supporting characters. The layered crafting of each individual's characteristics such as facial expressions, manner of walking, body language gives the whole piece a richness which elevates it beyond what I've ever understood from the term 'animation'.

Whilst lavishing this praise, I must say it all pales into insignificance in the face of the genius that has gone into the conceiving and bringing to screen of the Spirits. Every second they are on the screen they are mesmerising and so perfectly interpreted for the film medium. First, Christmas Past as an ethereal, slightly mournful candle - as bittersweet as memory, as seemingly fragile as a sigh, but like the past, impossible to erase - just amazing. Then comes Christmas Present so full of the zest, abundance and joy that can only truly be relished in the moment. Finally, Christmas Yet to Come, which for Scrooge anyway, spells doom, but a doom of breathtaking power and dread.

His transformation then, is all the more beautiful and poignant. Not a dry eye in the house!

An incredible journey for the eyes, mind and heart with a really pertinent message for these materialistic but economically hard times, especially at Christmas. Bring on the DVD!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2012
This version of 'A Christmas Carol' is easily the best since the classic Alastair Sim version from 1951. The beautiful animation gives the old familiar story a whole new lease of life. Jim Carrey is excellent in his role of Ebenezer Scrooge (as well as the three Ghosts of Christmas). I get the feeling that I wont be able to wait until next Christmas to watch this again!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2009
I saw Disney's A Christmas Carol last month when it came out and I absolutely loved it. I am a true fan of Charles Dickens work and A Christmas Carol has been my favourite of his books since i was a kid. I'm now in my 30's. I grew up with the musical version, Scrooge, staring the fantastic Albert Finney, and no other version has even come close to that one in greatest. I've read the book twice and I'm very sceptical as to what version are better than others. Scrooge with Albert Finney will always be my favourite but standing right beside it is this one. Apart from the extra little bits for the kids it does stay true to the book. It keeps to the same language that Dickens used when tthe characters talks. They say what was said in the book. Excellent! Ignore the fact that its Disney's name on the title and just enjoy an instant classic, like the book, it will turn any Scrooge into a true believer. Thank you Robert Zemekis. Merry Christmas!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2012
i had heard about this film didnt realise it had been outso long 2009 i think it was released? purchased from amazon couldnt wait to watch especially on blue ray! pumped through my 1000watt home theatre kit on my 46" led hd tv
Well this film was an absolute pleasure to watch the graphics were jaw dropping and each character such a joy to behold!
The film was very true to the original story, even the lines were true to the original too, which im so pleased they were. Right from the start i was captivated,i have watched various versions of this endless classic and always on christmas eve for as many years as i can remember.
I can honestly say its one of the best films i have ever seen and would give this 10 out of 10 wanna get into the festive mood at christmas time? Then settle down with the family, on a christmas eve, and watch this its simply magical!!!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2011
I saw this in the cinema when it was first released in 2009 in 3D and was absolutely blown away by the special effects and the wonderful adaptation of this classic story. Couldn't wait to get the DVD and it is now a firm favourite in my house during the Christmas period. This version of the tale brings something fresh and special to the classic - and does not get boring even after repeated viewings. A fantastic cast and some brilliant moments which take you on the roller coaster of Ebeneezer's journey with a fresh perspective that makes me want to watch this time and time again. Perfect for newbies to this Dickens classic who will find themselves enchanted by the tale and may even be left wanting to read the original book. Awesome.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse