Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
200
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£9.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 September 2016
does it's job.
good value for money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
A lot of people profess to hating this film, yet I think that it's probably the best "rom-com" to come out of Hollywood in a very long time. And there's a simple reason for that: It's completely honest but still contains more than enough magic for it to be enjoyable.
Joseph Gordon-Levitt is an extremely likeable lead, who not only is an engaging presence, but shows both the perks of the relationship and how they affect one positively, and then the come-down post break-up combined with the slight obsessions of a man still in love. This however, is not all down to him. Part of it lies in Zooey Deschanel's performance, playing a character almost impossible to hate, no-matter how much she breaks Tom's poor heart, because she's just so charming and realistic. She is indeed why most people (mainly girls) hate the film, because she portrays females horribly, despite the fact that (NEWSFLASH) in the majority of other Rom-Coms the sterotypical female lead is far more insulting.
The other element that makes both Gordon-Levitt's and Deschanel's roles so well played is the superb script; filled with both the smart and cynical observations of film and real love, it happily straddles the line between magic and realism (if you doubt the element of magic, just re-watch the post-sex dance number) so effectively.
Finally, the director makes all the right choices. The script remains funny and sharp as well as heart-wrenching, yet still, we can leave the film feeling optimistic about Tom's future. In addition, the choice to direct the film out of sequence actually lends itself very well to the story, allwoing both characters to be seen as (un)fairly as possible.
This film is nto totally feel-good, but no-one could really make a solid argument as to it being depressing. It's a supremely well-made film, that not only works as an observation on both the genre and love itself, but as an actualy film. Just maybe not one to watch on a first date.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2012
500 Days is 'not a love story' as the narrator explains at the very start. You shrug and think 'yeah, sure' but it turns out it's actually not!

SPOILER ALERT - here comes a fair bit of story breakdown!!!!

Tom is a bit of a slacker who works for a gift card company 'writing the words people can't say for themselves' - with the implication being that Hollywood romance films are pretty much the same, dealing in phoney sentiment, saying cheesy things we like to hear. And this film will be very different.

He falls in love with Summer and they have an affair until she eventually dumps him for a richer, more successful guy (check out that big diamond engagement ring she's showing around at the end). In this respect it's even more negative about affairs of the heart than 'Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind [DVD] [2004]' and certainly a brave and modern new kind of rom-com for grown up audiences.

But there is a sneaky sleight of hand going on to make this more mushy than it could have been. The script has Summer say their relationship was not serious, so when Tom is dumped her hands are totally clean. In effect then she either chose to be oblivious to his feelings or else is simply a user. Why? well if you reverse the roles and imagine Tom dump a doting girlfriend for a more attractive girl, and on his way out saying 'well you knew it wasn't serious, didnt you?' - how do you think that would go down with women in the audience? ('[You could just watch something like [ASIN:B00004CWP9 Sense And Sensibility [DVD] [1996]]]' for a reminder how it works.)

Still, the impact of such a downbeat (almost) ending reminded me of ']' for a reminder how it works.)

Still, the impact of such a downbeat (almost) ending reminded me of 'No Country For Old Men [DVD]' which was a shock departure from genre but The Coen brothers totally went for it. 500 Days says that it is not a love story - it comes close to being an 'anti-love' story - but it loses its bottle with the tacked on final scene, when Tom meets a new girl and is about to get a well paid, prestigious new job etc - the corny Valentine's card ending so no-one would sputter on their last handful of popcorn and demand their money back.

The non-linear editing gives some great opportunities for crash cutting and the absolute highlight of the film is the edit where Tom sets off to work madly in love and the world is joyful place and he enters the lift at work, a huge smile on his face as the doors close. Fast forward to after the end of the affair and the lift doors open when his world has been shattered and he is a broken man. Astonishingly inspired - and heart-breaking, too. An edit that is up there with 'that cut' in '2001: A Space Odyssey'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2012
When I first heard about 500 days of summer, I thought it would be your usual run of the mill love story like many other people thought. But what you get when you watch it is so much more than what it may seem. It is a love story as we know it but re-told in a very modern style. We start the story at the end of the relationship between Tom and Summer, Tom heartbroken and Summer wanting to be friends. The story then flicks to day (1) of their relationship and the story keeps flocking between the good times and the bad. With Tom wanting to be in a relationship with Summer, and Summer just wanting to e technically friends with benefits, conflicts begin to erupt. One scene in particular, shows the genius of the filmmaking and the initiative in giving the film a leg up over the other rom-coms: Tom and Summer spend their first night together and the next morning Tom is walking to work with a grin from ear to ear and music playing in twice background, he then starts to pick up the pace and a song and dance routine starts with passers by joining in the streets erupt in men and women dancing in step with Tom. Tom then arrives at work and the lift door shuts, the time then changes to after their relationship has fizzled out with Tom looking glum. This hole sequence as cheesy and corny as it sounds it is well executed and highly amusing. Another factor about the film, is that it shows the pain the man feels after a relationship has fallen apart, Tom is seen in a whole new light, only seein the bad things in life. It is a real honest and heart felt portrayal of the fallout from a relationship. Hand on heart; this is one of the finest films I have ever seen and can't get any higher praise. I love it, my girlfriend loves it, there are laughs, tears and above all: it has the ability to make to feel for the lead character.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2010
I normally like these kind of films but I thought this was really poor despite its reputation. I didn't care about the characters, I didn't care about the relationship between them and I didn't find the film amusing, touching or compelling at all. It was a pretty emotionless experience and that had nothing to do with my mood, I was really up for the film but it didn't deliver.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2014
I wouldn't have watched this except that I read a misleading review mentioning that this exposes the trope of the Manic Pixie Dream Girl (which also mentioned 'Eternal Sunshine...' which I love). And having watched it I personally regret the time wasted and the feeling I now have of 90 minutes of nails running down a blackboard.

Don't get me wrong, this isn't a badly made film and I'm sure many, many people will love it and I don't begrudge any of them that pleasure. The problem (for me) is that it's not as clever as it thinks it is and the explorations of ideas like 'expectation' vs 'reality', while well intended, are offset by patronising tropes it DOESN'T criticise (like the mystically prescient schoolkid or the childishly happy ending). I'm not against things turning out well for protagonists, but... I won't spoil the ending for those who'll watch it anyway.

A lot of people criticise modern Hollywood for playing to the lowest common denominator but I like it - it's unpretentious entertainment. If I want an intelligent analysis of love and relationships then I'll read Jean Paul Sartre's 'Intimacy' or at least watch a film by the French New Wave. While I'm on the topic, the film-makers' ideas about what 'love' is is very narrow and immature. Here's another recommendation - 'Amour' by Haneke.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2016
Great product, exactly as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
Wonderful, funny and touching film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2010
Hear me out. First, the good things .... the acting is good, and it made me chuckle once or twice, but the film's plot is frankly a bit dodgy to live up to the marketing of a "click flick that men will like".

First, the plot is confusing - "this is not a love story, it's a story about love". What? The time switching does not serve the film in any way. I would hazard a guess that it is a plot device - to hide the implausible scenario of someone as physically attractive as the Professional Kook offering "free-love" to a greeting-card writer. If this happened in real life a Real Man would be grateful for such a gift. But of course, this is a "chick flick" so the Chick Flick Man falls in love with her - but wait a minute, I thought this wasn't a love story! I am confused. It's more complicated than Krypton Factor.

As a final observation, it is interesting that the film seems to suggest that the Chick Flick Man might have a chance of finding "The One" if he becomes an architect. Referring to the film's marketing, I doubt if this is something men would particularly want to hear, unless you are an architect of course! :)
33 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2011
Loved every second of it. Originality, great ideas, wit , humour amd the lead characters did a GREAT JOB.

Check out the brilliantly done musical piece.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)