Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars
78
3.4 out of 5 stars
Rob Zombie Presents The Haunted World Of El Superbeasto [DVD] [2008]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 16 May 2017
As a huge Rob Zombie fan, this seemed like an interesting option to increase my collection. It has everything you would expect from er..Mr Zombie; psychedelic imagery, crazy story line, great score and creativity. Its not for everyone, and as other reviewers have mentioned its pretty adult in content. Plot wise, its maybe a little less strong than some of his other work. What I love about Rob Zombie is his all out creativity, fused with nods to his influences and a healthy dose of good old fashioned uniqueness. If you're a fan, you'll love and appreciate it. If you are new to his work I'd start with "House of a thousand corpses". This isn't without its humour, but its not really "laugh out loud" stuff. Animation gives every creator a blank canvas, and this is bold. I think the medium suits his style. Visually its up to his usual standards. I'm not sure i'd recommend it as a stand alone piece of work on its own merits, but it fits into the Rob Zombie vibe if that's your thing, and that's enough for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2017
Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2017
Everything you want in a film. You need to watch it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 26 February 2010
Format: DVD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This feature-length animated adventure veers from mildly incoherent to outrageously offensive in a blink. Lurking amid the slapstick, fart gags and explicit sexual content are some piercingly witty jokes and delicious observations on celebrity culture, hackneyed movie plots and over-used cliches.
If you are offended by nudity, sexuality, Hitler's head in a jar, zombie Nazis, robots with 'fully functioning' appendages and the like then you shouldn't even be considering this film.
Get over being shocked (there's nowt really *that* shocking about bodily functions after all...) and El Superbeasto is a romp. A silly, shrieky, roar with laughter romp. It suffers from the dialogue being delivered too fast so it's a little difficult to figure out what's going on at first -- the alternative intros on the extra features reveal that earlier versions had a more user-friendly beginning which the makers would have done well to hang on to. Some of the deleted scenes could have been left in, too, which would have made more sense of the plot. Cos there is a plot, be it everso thin and largely obscured by mammary glands.
A perfect movie to watch after ten pints. Not one for Sunday afternoon with the family.
8/10
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 February 2010
Format: DVD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Rob Zombie's El Superbeasto is a short movie that certainly doesn't pretend to be anything high brow. In fact this is pretty low brow on the whole. Much violence, much nudity, much swearing, with just the hint that somewhere there's a point to all of it.

While the animation is very Ren and Stimpy and the music is pretty funny it feels like something I should be watching on a Saturday Morning (if you take away all that gives this an 18 certificate). Rather than something an adult would be happy to sit and watch, let alone buy on DVD.

Rob Zombie's obviously known for his B-movie slasher films (and being in various bands) but this is anything but a homage to the classics. This is a crude cartoon for those that like their humour Viz-mag style. Although not devoid of anything entertaining it's not something I'd watch again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 February 2010
Format: DVD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Rob Zombie has been on the receiving end of far too much criticism in his career as a filmmaker. Nearly every one of his films have had mostly negative reviews despite the fact that he clearly has a stronger understanding of horror than most of the PG-13 hack-jobs that fill out the genre these days. THWOES is perfect for his hyperactive imagination to take full advantage of world of cartoons.

Superbeasto himself is a actor-slash-director dressed as a Mexican wrestler. His sister Susie X is some kind of secret agent hunting zombie Nazis. They're supposed to work together but Superbeasto's womanizing and laziness often prevents him from taking part. His old high school punching bag Steve Wachowski adopts the guise of Dr. Satan and plans to take over the world once he weds a girl with a 666 tattoo on her ass. That girl just happens to be a stripper Superbeasto has the hots for and he's not going to let Dr. Satan have his way.

THWOES plays a lot like a feature-length skit from MTV's Liquid Television back in the early 90s. It's often surreal and rapid-fire. If you like the maniacal humor of Harvey Birdman: Attorney at Law and can keep up with the madness then you'll get a kick out of El Superbeasto. There's lots of blood and gore and nudity too if that's your kinda of thing.

Keep a lookout for Captain Spaulding and Otis Driftwood too, and stick around for the end of the closing credits.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2010
Format: DVD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
You know sometimes before reading a Vine Book or watching a Vine video I look at the other reviews prior to get an idea what I am in for. Pleased I didn't here as I would have been given the idea that this DVD is pants. It isn't its funny and pretty unique.

First a warning. The DVd carries an 18 certification and it is clear why. Its rude, crude, obscene and filthy - the sales will go up now!!. But it is also very funny and as I said I bought a new portable DVD player and this was the first DVD I played on it coming from work with my headphone duly plugged. I roared with laughter at some of the one liners and the looks I got, and smiles, from the passenger opposite made me laugh even more. Yes it can be basic humour and titillating but it is a very different story which merits a view.

I am an avid comic reader but I have never come across Rob Zombie. I like the conversion into a comic book cartoon and won't be looking for the comics but I did have a lot of enjoyment from the DVd and would recommend it to the broad-minded ones out there.
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 November 2012
This feature-length animated adventure veers from mildly incoherent to outrageously offensive in a blink. Lurking amid the slapstick, fart gags and explicit sexual content are some piercingly witty jokes and delicious observations on celebrity culture, hackneyed movie plots and over-used cliches.
If you are offended by nudity, sexuality, Hitler's head in a jar, zombie Nazis, robots with 'fully functioning' appendages and the like then you shouldn't even be considering this film.
Get over being shocked (there's nowt really *that* shocking about bodily functions after all...) and El Superbeasto is a romp. A silly, shrieky, roar with laughter romp. It suffers from the dialogue being delivered too fast so it's a little difficult to figure out what's going on at first -- the alternative intros on the extra features reveal that earlier versions had a more user-friendly beginning which the makers would have done well to hang on to. Some of the deleted scenes could have been left in, too, which would have made more sense of the plot. Cos there is a plot, be it everso thin and largely obscured by mammary glands.
A perfect movie to watch after ten pints. Not one for Sunday afternoon with the family.
8/10
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2010
Format: DVD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I've never seen what all the fuss was about with Rob Zombie, and have never read the comic this film is based on so I came to this animated feature film completely without any options.
While the art style reminds me alot of Ren And Stimpy - Series 1 And 2 [DVD] the paper-thin plot is hidden among a series of alernating ultra-violent action sequences and boob & bum sex gags which appeal only to the saddest of teenage shut-ins with only the very rare parody moment which provides the only laughs.
This film is a lonely teen boys dream come true and will only amuse that target demographic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 March 2010
Format: DVD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I'm a big fan of adult shows like Southpark and graphic novels in general. This was just rubbish! It was so bad that I only managed 17 minutes of it. The humour (for want of a better word) is juvenile and centres largely around breast and penis jokes. Dont bother, no really! Absolutely awful!
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse