Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 February 2013
It was great to buy such game after so many years it came out, once bought I started enjoying the Assassin's Creed saga and bought the remaining chapters of the series (well, I got until Brotherhood, need to finish that one to move on!). Great quality and great price. Thanks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2013
Happy with this product, it arrived promptly and although i had a slight issue the supplier resolved promptly and without any issues. Would use the supplier again! Things can't go right all the time, so it is good to see that when things do go wrong the supplier is one that will communicate well and work to a amicable resolution.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2012
Assassin's Creed (AC) is an intense and exciting game. The graphics and immersive environment are spectacular. You can interact with the terrain in amazing fashion giving you lots of freedom. Use crevices, door and window frames, landings, etc to climb just about anything you want. AC lets you ride a horse and fight from a mount.

The combat in AC is fun. It takes a little while to get use to, but once you do watch out. You must use timing and defense to avoid death when faced with overwhelming odds. As you continue the game you get access to new weapons and fighting skills. Before long you can do amazing counter-attacks, dodges, and grab and defensive breaks. The action is very fluid and thoroughly engaging.

Without giving too much away, the storyline is entertaining and will keep your interest. There is a duel storyline going where a modern day guy is reliving the memories of his ancestor. I found this part unnecessary, but it didn't detract from actual game. Yes, the whole premise of the game is assassinating people. So, no, the game is not for kids, hence the mature rating. Several reviewers have described the game as slanted towards killing Christians. It's not. It's really more killing everyone Muslim or Christian that gets in the way. However, the game does have it out for the Templars. They are portrayed as evil villains in the game. Most of the people you are sent to kill think they are serving a good cause, but their actions are misguided. Much like the actions of the main character.

Some things I didn't like. While you have tremendous freedom to interact with the terrain, you can't do some simple things like open doors. Also the environment is not destructible except for rare exceptions like vendor carts. You don't have many items / weapons at your disposal that could cause much damage, but rails could break, tables move, open a chest etc. Maybe I want to set a fire as a distraction. Oh well maybe next time.

I didn't have any problems with game stability. I don't think it ever crashed which is saying a lot these days. The only thing I had a problem with is the game opened as a window instead of taking over the full screen. This caused problems when the cursor got off the screen. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

I would agree that the investigations leading up to each assassination attempt do become repetitive. You don't have to do them all, but they make completing the assassination easier. The game is also kind of short, but you will enjoy the ride. I'm looking forward to Assassin's Creed II (PC) to expand the experience.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2011
I missed Assassin's Creed the first time around, but I'm quite glad I finally got around to it as it's certainly a unique experience that's good, if flawed.

The plot is intriuging and very compelling, based on both the assassin Altair's quest to rid the Crusades-era Middle East of nine or so villians along with interludes where a shadowy corporation aims to find out a mysterious piece of information by forcing the assassin's decesdent, Desmond, to relive the genetic memory of his ancestor's murderous saga using a hi-tech contraption for some dire purpose.

AC, for the most part, is a free-roaming sandbox with you largely left to find your way in each city in the same vein of GTA. However, the ledge-leaping and rooftop free-running along with the sword-swinging combat feels more like Ubisoft's Prince of Persia titles. The movement controls feel very solid and intuitive, and commanding Altair's acrobatics is effortless and fun. Combat is utterly fantastic, especially the deeply satisfying counter-attack. Though, the controls often do let it down somewhat, with targeting going awry and some odd flailing at times from Altair for seemingly no apparent reason (which normally leads to some forced insertion of pointy metal objects by angry guards).

The graphics are still gorgeous, even today. The busling, large-scale recreations of ancient cities such as Acre, Jerusalem and Damascus are stunning (especially from the vantage of some of the extremely tall structures you can climb up).

Each assassination follows the same formula of going to city district, performing random tasks for victim information and then performing the assassination itself. Whilst each assassination introduces (by virtue of a overly-long cutscene) it's own twisted villian and requires it's own strategy and employment of Altair's stealthy / deadly skills, you'll be spending most of your time doing the information gathering missions. These missions usually require you to perform such tasks as pickpocketing maps, interrogating enemies and assassinating certain guards for your informers.

The main problem with AC is that these proceeding tasks and the formula as a whole gets very old once you've completed the first three assassinations and have visited each of the three cities. Even gaining new abilities / equipment (such as the ever-useful throwing daggers) and the addition of new mission-types doesn't really prevent the onset of frustration at the dull repetition the later assassination procedures (though not the assassination events themselves) represent. Though, there is much joy in developing your fighting skills and becoming a master at navigating the cityscapes on offer. There's a certainly a certain guilty pleasure in silencing rooftop archers before they get a chance call for help and flawlessly dispatching thuggish guards that have taken to abusing innocent citizens.

In the end, Assassin's Creed isn't a bad game. The controls are mostly great, though they have their foibles. Running missions and navigating / fighting in the city is fun, if repetitive. The story is good, though the ending may leave you a little frustrated. Mastery of the various mission types or activities on offer can be a joy when you succeed as much as they can be a frustration when you fail. It's more good than bad, but even so it's rather limited (hopefully the later games improve on this). Still, it feels like nothing else out there and it's certainly well worth trying out. Now, where did I put that copy of Assassin's Creed II...?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2010
Overall a good game, there is fun to be had by simply moving around the gameworld. Action gets quite repetative though, you will find yourself using the same moves again and again, and the sandbox appearence hides an essentially linear game. The storyline is a little cliched, but to be fair, if you're going to find a secret Templar conspiracy anywhere, it'll be in the holy land at the time of the crusades.

I would strongly recommend playing this with a gamepad (the xbox 360 usb pad for instance, though my Xbox pad with a modified cable worked well) as this is very obviously a console game; the controls and menu system haven't been optimised well for the pc.

I did finish it, and overall I had a good time, but it's worth considering forking out the extra for the sequel. If you've only played the sequel and are considering this for backstory, be aware that backstory is pretty much all you'll get; you will find the game much more limited.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2011
So the story of the Animus and Desmond Miles starts here, captured by Abstergo Industries, a fictional specialist company with direct ties to the Knights Templar, a group specializing in control of the people. While Desmond has been found out as an Assassin, and this group specializes in keeping everyone else safe from these plotting Templars. The story goes back but you will have to find the 20 truth pieces in Assassin's Creed 2 to find out more, but Sufficed to say, you play as Desmond Miles who is forced into the Animus machine which digs up genetic memories which helps Desmond reveal them as if he was really there.

His previous ancestor one Altair, an arrogant Assasin who has no choice but to conform to punishment and realizes there is more to the Assassin order rules then he would of ever realized, again extended info on this is found in the codex pages on the codex wall in Assassin's Creed 2. Meanwhile Desmond also realizes between the time in the machine and one of Abstergo's co-workers, that the reason why he was captured by the group and why his parents made him live the way he did was to keep him from a bigger plan from unfolding, however that Abstergo Co-worker helps Desmond understand his plight and the plot much more then he could of ever realized.

The game itself is fun in the animus, having 20 odd guards chasing you, with enough skills such as having the ability to block and counter attack, with a few more health bars, you can waste them guards as you see fit and the story is entertaining to a point; that is pretty much enter the city, gleen information from the various means at your disposal and to carry out an assassination on a key templar target, all 3 based around Damascus, Jerusalem and Acre. each target position is within either the rich, the middle and the poor districts of each city. After each target is eliminated you gain a rank and regain a lost weapon or skill in the process.

i will give this a 7/10. if your looking to kill some time and waste some enemies in the same fashion, this could be your game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2010
Imagine hitman 47, combine it with GTA without the cars and guns then transport it 1000 years into the past combine with with a sci fi back plot and there you go.

Graphically this game is stunning, wide expansive cities, which remind me of the middle eastern cities in hitman 2. However much more densely populated. I would note that this game tends to use the de-saturation trick a lot of the time where the world colours are drained heavily in an attempt to make the game look more realistic. This back fires though as sometimes you feel like you are playing a black and white game. Along with it being virtually monochrome due to the desaturation it gets hard on the eyes. The lighting seems messed up too as it can change to night and day in the space of a few seconds.

But graphics and exploration aside, there is actually very little to do in these huge cities other than your main objectives and to look for flags whch are like the parcels in GTA3.

Combat is pretty shallow as once you earn the counter move all combat is made easy and you use this move over and over and over and over again. Also the missions even though in a sandbox world are pretty linear. There is often only one way to complete the task. Which makes the replay value low. Compared to say the first hit man which came out nigh on 10 years ago. Whereby each mission even the small starting missions had 2-4 methods to complete the game. Assassins creed often only has one, or that it is a set piece job which again is just the counter attack again and again over and over to win any fight.

I'd note that the game has several very annoying things. The controls are designed around Xbox and PS3 I assume meaning things are really counter intuitive. Also there are LONG story scenes which are unskippable lots of talking.

Additionally there is fake difficulty too by way of camera screws.

Finally this game is short. Unless you decide to trek back and forth through the kingdom it can be finished in a single sitting <8hours. The GTA style find the flags,crosses or whatever feels tacked on but you get nothing for this.

Also another huge irritation is extremely long cut scenes of chit chatter which are unskippable deeply annoying on replays meaning you often sit around for 2-3 minutes waiting for the chat to end. Same thing before killing your target where you can wait 5-6 minutes of chatter before you get to move again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2011
This game is really good fun. The missions are great as well as the stories that run along with them. The graphics are also pretty decent and I had a lot of fun-very addictive! Although it took a bit of time until I became confident in fighting, once I did the game was brilliant-just in time for the final battle, but fighting was still fun throughout the game. I only had trouble with this because my computer was often quite slow. The informer challenges are pointless and not that great-i didn't bother doing them anyway and the conversations could run on for ages sometimes-made even worse by the fact that movements from the characters would happen, then 15 seconds later a speech will occur, supposedly linked with that movement-so a bit slurred, but that was probably just my computer. Also it said that I wouldn't have enough memory or something to play the game...but I had plenty so don't worry if that happens to you. Finally, i originally found the controls incredibly confusing-probably better with a game pad type thing, although I simply changed the control settings and then the game became accomplishable. Overall this game is great though, especially the ending-extremely recommended and the killing is very satisfying. Having said that, the game was pretty easy and I only died twice and that was when I fell of the top of a building without pressing the right buttons-perhaps this was fortune as there were many times when I almost died in combat and became very panicky and stressed. Final, final point is that it said that being able to see blood was turned on, but I never really saw it but that's not that big a deal, compared to the vast greatness of this game as a whole.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
This game is a victim of its own success. In just a handful of years, the production standards in games have dramatically improved precisely because of games like the Assassin's Creed series. It's picked up many new fans with its sequels, but a surprising number of AC fans have never played the first game.

That's a pity. New players might struggle to understand just how revolutionary this game was in its time, but the price is so low now that every AC fan ought to give it a try and see how it all started.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 27 November 2009
This is on of the most anticipated games to be ported to PCs. For this, the Director's Cut edition was produced, adding some content over the console versions (mostly roof-top action missions), and care was taken to make the gamepad-to-keyboard/mouse-transition as seamless as possible. For the most part it was successful.

This is a TREMENDOUSLY BEAUTIFULLY GAME. The first thing that grabs you is how REAL the city environments feel. The graphics are just OUT OF THIS WORLD! You will need a very good PC to enjoy their full potential (minimum requirements provided below), but real skies, dynamic shadows, facial expressions and realistically flowing robes are only beginning to describe it! Run on a roof and the other citizens will gather around and comment on your crazy behavior! Throw someone on a vendor's cart and he will come after you complaining about his ruined produce! And the city is alive well beyond your character. If only BIOWARE could take some lessons for its next BALDUR's GATE...

Adding to this is the wonderful sound! From the crowd murmurs and the NTCs cries for help, to the whistling of the wind and the well-chosen background music, a good sound-card and speakers set is recommended to truly enjoy this game. If you have a 5.1 speaker system (I do not) I can imagine the experience to become even more immersing.

As to the gameplay, you control Altaïr ibn La-Ahad ("The Flying One, Son of None"). He is a member of the Assassin Brotherhood that sides, well, with both...sides, during the 3rd Crusade. In a story twist, he is also your ancestor, the game being your/his flashback memories. This is a twist I could do without, but I would guess it lays groundwork for the sequels.

The Third person perspective works beautifully and will never loose your interest. Most missions require sneaking and murdering in the shadows. Others will have you eavesdropping for passwords or pickpocketing documents to gain access into target buildings. Some will have you sharpen those sword skills. Still, the game does not avoid its share of stupid "keep this...suicidal character from getting killed" missions. Keep in mind though that ASSASSIN's CREED is rather a strategically thinking action TPS, not a hack&slash fast-paced one.

Controlling your character with a keyboard/mouse takes a lot of getting used to as you have to manage running, climbing, fighting as well as modifying your actions from low to high visibility. The keys are remapable but their complexity will never let you forget you are playing a game. Now for some bad news.

These are the official MINIMUM Requirements:
* Pentium D 2.6GHz (YES, Dual Core!) (or AMD equivalent)
* 1GB RAM (WinXP) or 2GB (WinVISTA) (3GB RECOMMENDED!)
* nVidia 6800 (or Shader Model 3.0 compliant or ATI equivalent)
* Dual-Layer DVD-ROM (or BluRay disc)
* 12GB HDD Space (although my install folder was no larger than 7GB)

As one can see, this is worse than CRYSIS! What I cannot get is how on earth ASSASSIN works on only 512MB of RAM of the XBox, yet it is recommended to have...3GB of RAM on a PC! Sure, the extra content is nice but who did the porting, unpaid interns? Has ANY PC optimization been attempted at all?
Keep also in mind that (as with CRYSIS) in order to fully enjoy the game, barely meeting the minimum requirements means you will barely experience the game. I refuse to deal with WinVISTA so, obviously, this review pertains to DirectX-9. The game is also DirectX-10 compatible, something I cannot comment on though. And now for some good news.

UBISOFT has been recently hit with a $5million class-action suit for hardware (OK, "allegedly") damaged by StarForce bundled with its games. Since, they have announced to be abandoning its StarForce partnership - so let's all rejoice: unlike other UBISOFT games, ASSASSIN's CREED does NOT sport StarForce! Instead, a much milder SafeDisc is used.
It is a pity it took litigation to finally listen to their own customers (suing StarForce would make much more sense, but try finding them in Russia!), but let's count our blessings.

So, overall, this is a well made and beautiful, immersing (although quite short) game that needed more work in PC optimization (where it looses 1 star Overall) and character control (where it looses 1 star for Fun).

As Altair himself would have put it: "Nothing is true. Everything is permitted."
Well, not everything - and certainly NOT StarForce.
22 Comments| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)