Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
87
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 January 2010
This is quite simply the worst and most embarrassing 'Doctor Who' story ever written - it even makes the awful 'Delta and the Bannermen' look good. Think Kate O'Mara dressed up as Bonnie Langford, plaits and all, and you'll get an idea of the 'quality' of this story. After McCoy's debut it was obvious that 'Doctor Who' wasn't long for this world and would go out with a whimper, in contrast to the thousands who complained when Michael Grade 'rested' the programme during Colin Baker's tenure.

Overall a story I wish could be erased from the canon of 'Doctor Who' and quietly forgotten! The one star I have had to give this story is one too much!
1212 Comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2014
Time and the Rani was a good story. It was Sylvester's first story, and it gave us a hint at what we would see later on. Time was easy to order and easy to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2010
OMG its not 'Time and the Rani' on DVD! What do 2Entertain think they're doing?! We stalwart and SERIOUS Who fans are grievously affronted by this release. It's a ridiculous pantomine! It's a day-glo nightmare! It's - SHOCK! HORROR! - toooo camp! OMG it's got Sylvester McCoy in it and he's so NOT the Doctor! JNT in overdrive without the brakes!! This isn't my lovely Doctor Who from its heyday - boo hoo!! Ad nauseaum...etc...etc...Lighten up, get bladdered, watch and enjoy! It's a miracle this ever got made and thank God it did as we'd never have Nu Who which took some major cues from Sylv's last series. And if it wasn't for this regeneration story we wouldn't have had 'Remembrance of the Daleks', 'Fenric' and the sublime 'Ghostlight'. So there! To be watched without cynicism or an intellect - i.e. like most TV!
77 Comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2013
Colin Baker, having been sacked refused to film his regeneration so McCoy regenerates into himself thanks to a Baker wig. First ever all CGI opening titles too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2012
Everyone is going to have different opinions on the quality of the show, thats fair and at the time the budget was low and they did the best they could with what they had. I for one can only be thankful that these were made because without them Dr.who may have never returned.
The DVD itelf is well made as ever with 2Entertain releases, A great DVD quality rework, not the best sleeve art I have seen so far but good and a feature packed full DVD9 disc with commentarys from McCoy and Langford themselves, as well as the usual slew of documentarys, gallerys, snippits and easter eggs.
For the money, this is more than worth it for any Who fan looking to have a fun, nostalgic afternoon.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2016
Great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2009
Words fail me, it's difficult to review given you can't swear on Amazon. I decided a while ago I wasn't going to buy every Who back release just because of this sort of rubbish. The blame lies firmly with John Nathan Turner for wreaking the old run, Sylvester McCoy could have been so much better given his short piece in The Movie which proved a darker, less frivolous style gave him a chance to shine. This was the actual story which stopped me watching any more Who at the time. If you are really considering buying this, why not just burn your money as it's less painful, or even better let me have it!
33 Comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
I own Colin Baker's Doctor episode with the first appearance of the Rani and enjoyed it and enjoyed this one as well!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2009
You all know about this one! So no need to bang on about its bad points for the umpteenth time. I still think Sylv's first scene as the Doctor regains consciouness (and before his first pratfall, of course!)is very Doctor-ish and engaging - but all too brief. The effects are good for the time - goodbye CSO, hello matte paintings and primitive but effective computer imagery. Kate doing Mel is a scream. The Rani's contempt in the newly-regenerated Doctor-chooses-new-costume scene is tangible. The Lakertians with their self-indulgence and sloth could have been more developed - on screen it just looks like a very crude attempt at satirising Thatcher and her ilk. Erm...umm I'm stuck!! Oh yes, the Rani with her pet giant brain and plan for universal dominance are just not engaging for the viewer so it's good that the older Lakertians have some dignity and create some kind of emotional link for an audience. But overall, Pip & Jane's script and dialogue is too stodgy to swallow.
Isn't it about time that Big Finish just grabbed Colin and Bonnie and put them into a proper Regeneration story for the Sixth Doctor and then grab Sylvester and Bonnie for a more palatable post Regeneration Seventh Doctor yarn? And they can very happily re-write the canon doing so! Why not? From the televisual evidence of 'Time and the Rani' there's clearly NOTHING to lose and everything to be gained...
I've just added a fourth star for the extras! Added yet another star as the commentary is so good and puts everything into persepective. Sylv & Bonnie are great duo!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2015
Is i?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse