Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
85
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 November 2013
Got this as read the book on holiday. Or most of it! It is a much simplified version. Stunning visuals, really makes you want to visit the places. Sad to see Syria as it was before the war. However does not have the depth of the book,
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2011
I am at Theology College studying for a BTh, and in my second year. I bought this DVD to get an introduction to Reformation Church History, and then I studied the period in preparation for writing an essay. I found the DVD to be easy to watch, informative, and my subsequent study has demonstrated that it was balanced and accurate.
I highly recommend this to anybody who wants to understand how Christianity became what it is today from an historical perspective.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2014
This 6 part documentary series is brilliant.
It covers most of the important things in the history of Christianity in a chronological order, though often leaves you wanting to find out more. He interviews practising Christians to dig deeper into particular traditions.
Some topics, however, are treated with very little detail - he doesn't really say much about Jesus at the start, but mainly with the movement he first inspired. Similarly, Darwin is only mentioned in passing for 30seconds in the final episode.

The 5 star review comes from the presenter himself. Between beautiful churches, cathedrals and landscapes, he narrates his history in a very unbiased way. He doesn't take anything for granted, including some difficulties Christians face. He was certainly right in the final episode when his suggestion that Christianity bears responsibility for the Holocaust would make some of his viewers uncomfortable!
MacCulloch describes himself as a "candid friend of Christianity", though not a professing Christian. It appears he has struggled with biblical teaching (particularly on homosexuality, as he is gay) and/or the inspiration of the Bible.
However, he carefully and fairly explains church doctrine and makes it accessible, particularly often complicated topics such as the nature of the Trinity or the hypostatic union.

Well recommended if you're a Christian and want to know your roots - your denomination today probably didn't exist in its same form 100 years ago, let alone 2000 years of Christian history!
For a non-Christian, it'll show you exactly how Christianity has shaped our modern world and continues to have an important global impact.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2014
A high grade and professional production which was an eye opener. Brilliantly educational - especially the features on Eastern Orthodox religions. Will value this production for loaning out to family and friends and as a reference source. One of my best purchases in 2014.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2014
Enjoyable series, although it suffers a bit from having too few episodes (as other BBC documentaries do, eg: David Starkey's "Monarchy"). It has a very slight bias toward Protestantism, and I think it probably would have been a bit more cohesive if it'd surrendered to this impulse, and been instead "A History of Protestant Christianity", with the first three episodes as they are, and the last three devoted to modern Protestantism.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2015
It's a very good overview of christianity. That said it skipped the essential part played by the so called heretics during the Middle Ages and the creation of the Inquisition. Too bad, as, for once, everybody expected the Spanish Inquisition!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2014
A brilliant series. As it happens this copy was bought for a friend in Australia who was bowled over by the quality of the story-telling, the erudition, the tolerance and the open-mindedness, the very qualities which had led me to commend it to him in the first place.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2016
Excellent I have found every episodes informative and enjoyable.
If I had to suggest any improvement it would be that there could a couple of prequel episodes covering the 'first thousand years', ie the Greek and Israelite background before the start of Christianity, as in the author/presenter's book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2015
Brilliant and simple to follow. Much easier and quicker than reading the book (although if you have the time I suggest reading that too!) very good for teachers as an icebreaker to A level christianity studies and he's an excellent scholar for synoptic work. I would also recommend his documentary sex and the Church for those who like this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
I have always wanted to know how this great religion started and why it became so overwhelmingly vast and powerful. I got all the answers in the documentary. It is well done in a sense that much what the authors speaks about has been filmed on location. This makes the viewing very interesting.
Believers and non-believers should watch this documentary to enrich and widen the horizons of their religions outlook.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)