Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
85
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 January 2010
If ever there was two days when half the female popularity had their heart broken, one was the 29th October 2008 when the very talented, gorgeous David Tennant announced he was stepping down as everyones favourite Doctor, but we had over a year to come to terms with it.
second was 1st January 2010 when the moment many had dreaded happened, and the 10th Doctor was no more.

I found Waters of Mars creepy one of the scariest episodes to date. I work in a nursery and I was praying that the children didnt watch it, as some of them do like Doctor Who, but to my relife they hadnt watched it.
The ending though sums up the feeling of the very last episode, you know its going to be sad..... but just how sad, no one realises.

End Of Time - end of the 10th Doctors time, maybe should have been a more apt name for it.
It starts off a bit slow, but to its credit, a tremondous build up to what we all know is gonna happen, all the way through, David portrays the emotion that not only the Doctor felt, but that as he himself must have felt as well, saying himself that he is a fanboy of the show, so that emotion probably didnt need much acting.

Beautiful performance also from John Simms, especially when his Master and the Doctor meet face to face properly since the Doctor held him while he died in The Last Of The Time Lords.
This scene held the anticipation of what was to come and it didnt dissappoint.

In a medium nutshell, David Tennant was the best Doctor ever, and it wont be the same without him.
If you havent seen it, about 15 minutes before the ending there is a twist, and it involves the two Time Lords.

David Tennant, the nation salutes you, whether you like it or not.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2010
There has already been a lot said on this subject. The positives have tended to focus on David Tenant and his portrayal of the Doctor, while the negatives have tended to focus on the writing/story. In my opinion both are true.
It's a difficult one this, and I can see the reason for RT (the writer)'s conflict.
On the one hand, the passing of all previous doctors (while dramatic) has almost simply been a fact of the last episode of a seiries and you could argue that the transition from the 10th to the 11th Doctor should be no different. On the other hand (regardless of what the detractors may say) we have in David Tennant, without doubt, a superb actor who has captured the public's imagination in this role, has played it for loger than anyone in recent memory and as a result someone who is held in very high public affection. In these circumstances, in my opinion, it is only right that this is in some way acknowledged. So it's a bit of a ballancing act, acknowleding what has gone before and turning out another Doctor Who tale, but at the same time not ignoring the current circumstances. My own conclusion is that the ballance is not wholely successful with the the writing focussing too much on the fact that it is David Tennant's last outing as the Doctor to the detriment of aspects of the story and the overall cohesion of the episodes.
POSITIVES -
First and formost, let nothing detract from the quality of the acting of the key players (cactus people asside) here. Sims as the Master, Cribbins and Tennant as the Doctor. All Superb. All accusations of over indulgence asside, you can't really argue with what the actors do with the material they are given. Tenant especially. You may find yourself questioning the the direction the storey goes (especially at the end), but there is no denying that David Tennant superbly conveys every emotion the doctor is feeling.
The other superb element is the Wilf - Doctor story arc, culminating in the fact that it is Wilf, in a very quiet an unassuming way, who is the key player in the Doctor's death and regeneration.
NEGATIVES -
The surrounding storey and events of the episodes. The general premise is a perfectly valid and potentially effective one. Everyone watching knows that the Doctor is going to die/regenerate, so have a big event that creates a loud distraction that everyone expects will bring about the expected result, then when the dust has settled, quietly reveal that this is not the case at all and the 'event' unfurls in a wholely unexpected manner. As I have mentioned, the 'quiet' bit works wonderfully, it's just the 'noisy distraction' that doesn't and given the fact that this is what takes up most of the double episode running time, that's not insignificant. Despite the grand nature of the events, the return of the timelords/galifray thing just does not feel significant enough. They've necver been a feature before appart from the odd mention and so they do not have the feeling of being one of the Doctor's significant enemies. The master is a different kettle of fish, but then it didn't end up being between them really and as a result it just didn't feel weighty enough. If you think back to the end of Series 4 on the other hand and the whole return of Davros etc, THAT felt significant and definately a main event that could have incorporated the 'quiet death' arc very effectively.
The drawn out post radiation / pre regeneration section. Much talked about, much malligned. As I have mentioned previously, Tennant's performance remains faultless throughout, but it is too much. Too long, too indulged. A couple of minutes to say a few words after coming out of the booth would have been enough.
CONCLUSION -
RT (the writer) clearly loves the Doctor, but more specifically he clearly loves David Tennant as the Doctor and as such, after 4 years felt the need to give him a decent send-off. The trouble with love is that it effects your judgement and that is exactly what has happened here. The focus is on the death of the Doctor and the fact that it is David Tennant's last outing to the detriment of the other elements of the story. As a result we have a very strong and well written Doctor/Wilf arc, an over indulgent, over written and over long lead up to the actual regeneration and everything else feels underwritten / like not enough time was spent on it. Having said all that, the perfomances and the key Wilf/Doctor arc still make this a rewarding and enjoyable experience, just not as good as it could have been.
11 Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2010
David Tennant was brilliant in his final adventure as the Tenth Doctor. Bernard Cribbins was like everyone's best and favourite Granddad, ever. Both brought tears to my eyes as Ten's swansong unfolded.

But John Simm as the Doctor's tortured nemesis the Master was simply spellbinding throughout. Quite simply he stole every single scene he was in - it was sheer pleasure watching the whole range of human (and Timelord) emotions chase across his face. Prior to Russell T. Davies and John Simm's take on the character of the Doctor's old adversary (and one-time friend) I'd always found the Master to be a pretty unimpressive character - I never quite 'got' him. The dressing up, the doomed-to-failure plans to take over the universe/any planet you care to name/kill the Doctor (except mostly he didn't seem able to quite do that, either)never seemed to make much sense. But Russell T. Davies wanted to hold off bringing back the character until he'd worked out how to write him. And what he did was (and pardon the pun) quite simply Masterful: he made the Master insane. Not evil (Davies doesn't like the word and doesn't believe in evil for it's own sake) but clinically insane. A psychotic, high-functioning Sociopath. But he didn't stop there - he explained why the Master is insane. And this story arc (begun in Season Three with Utopia/The Sound of Drums/Last of the Time Lords)came to it's sad conclusion in The End of Time.

What a story! Perhaps there were a few things left unexplained (doesn't bother me - fuel for speculation and fan fiction galore over the months and years to come, no doubt) but the overall effect is an emotional roller-coaster of a tale that will have you reaching for your tissues as the two frenemies discover the Master's sad story. I won't give anything away here (although I'm sure most people buying this will have already seen it when it aired) but it's a corker. Lots of moments for the fans, some of which will go right over the head of any casual viewer but which had this long-time fan gasping and exclaiming like a ... well, fan.

And just in case you're in any doubt, John Simm (for me, at any rate) simply steals the show with his performance. He takes the character from the depths of despair to hysteria to glee, wistfulness, anguish and disbelieving rage... He is, quite simply, amazing. There aren't enough superlatives to really describe his performance here and if this doesn't bring him a whole new generation of fans, I will eat my hat. In fact, there is a Face Book group (which started with people changing their profile picture to John Simm/The Master for the duration of the Festive Break) which has 4300 members at the last count. Some of the photoshopped profile pictures are hilarious and clever, well worth a peek!

So I'd thoroughly recommend this Box Set. If you've never seen Dr Who before you could do much worse than start with this - I guarantee you'll be ordering every Box Set from Series 1 to 4 to catch up on the best thing since sliced bread...
22 Comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2010
I have to admit that I am a huge Doctor Who fan. I am (unfortunately!!) old enough to remember the originals (all though not the very first I might add) but didn't really become a fan until the Christopher Eccleston / David Tennant incarnations.

For me DT has been the best Doctor and whilst some of the episodes have been imperfect, that is some of the joy of the programme. I accept Doctor Who for what it is, sometimes flawed and sometimes brilliant.

I have now watched The End of Time twice and love the performances given by all the cast, especially the 3 key players, The Doctor, Wilfred Mott and The Master. Yes the episodes had plot holes, but it also had real emotion. The scenes between The Doctor and Wilf were heartfelt. At the end I just wanted to give The Doctor a big hug and tell him I didn't want him to go either!!!

Brilliant family entertainment - David, you were brilliant!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2010
This is a three disc set featuring the last two stories featuring David Tennant as the Doctor.

In The Waters of Mars the Doctor encounters one of his "fixed points" in time when the crew of the first base on Mars are all killed in a catastrophic explosion. The Doctor leaves Bowie Base One when he realises that he has arrived on the day that this event occurs, but as he trudges across the surface he can hear the men and women screaming and dying. An explosion knocks him off his feet and debris falls around him; and this is the turning point. Can he really turn his back?

The End of Time is the last of David's appearances, and he is teamed up with Bernard Cribbins as Wilfred Mott. "I am going to die," he says. "So am I," says Wilfred. Two old geezers together and it even turns out that Wilfred is the cause of the Doctor's regeneration. The Doctor battles with the Doctor but it turns out that they have to stand together to defeat a greater menace. One of my favourite moments is when the Doctor points a gun directly at the Master. The Master thinks that he may pull the trigger but the Doctor bellows: "Get out of the way!" and blasts a control panel. John Simm plays the resurrected but definitely unhinged Master perfectly and he has a most unusual way of conquering the world.

The features together give 193 minutes of entertainment and Doctor Who fans will thoroughly enjoy them. Everyone else should find plenty them thrilling adventures as well!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
I'm not usually so keen on the 'trapped on a space ship' episodes of Dr Who, but Water of Mars is done very well and is genuinely scary in places. We really like 'The End of Time', though others don't rate it very highly, but David Tennant was our favourite Doctor and it was particularly poignant at the end when he was saying goodbye to all his companions. The relationship between the Doctor and Wilf is great (Bernard Cribbens - brilliant!) - yes the storyline is stretched a little thin in places but very entertaining - John Simms in a dress and as Barack Obama?!? Suspend disbelief and enjoy a rollicking tale and say goodbye to the best Doctor! Oh, and we love Wilf!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2010
AT first I thought it an odd choice to release The Waters of Mars and The End of Time together, a all previous Specials (bar The Christmas Invasion) had their own stand-alone releases. I certainly wasn't prepared to pay twenty-odd quid for this set either. But thanks to Amazon, I can now enjoy yhese episodes all over again

The Waters of Mars- Disc 1

The Waters of Mars is probably up there with Planet of the Ood as the best Tenth Doctor story. Initially starting off quite light in tone, the story quickly darkens into a tale of the conflict in the Doctor's mind about whether or not he should change history. The Flood are some of the best monsters the series as done, which contribute significantly to the fear factor of this story. The crew are excellently portrayed by actors/acrresses of varying nationalities, particularly Lindsay Duncan as Adelaide who injects the character with a sense of toughness, and I wasn't expecting the character's suicide at the end. COmic relief is provided by the base's robot GADGET, who ultimately saves the day by piloting the TARDIS. The Tenth Doctor's descent into darkness is well handled, flashback scenes and a vision of Ood Sigma woven into slow mo shots of the Doctor giving off a nice effect.

The episode of Doctor Who Confidential is also presented in its entirety, giving a detailed account of various aspects of the production. I wonder if that girder will return again.....?

The End of Time Part 1-Disc 2

The first part of The End of Time is probably the oddest episode in the set. At times dark and at times funny, its sole purpose is to set up the Tenth Doctor's swansong, the Master's return, and the return of the Time Lords for the big climax in Part 2. The return of the Master is handled well, even if it is a bit cheesy, and the return of Wilfred Mott is genius, who else should acompany the Tenth Doctor on his final journey? The Master's plot is actually quite convincing, using alien technology to spread his genetic code throughout the human race, perfectly intertwined with one of the best cliffhangers ever, the Time Lords returning to initiate the end of time.

Once again the relevant Confidential episode is included in its entirety, giving a brief overview of the Master's appearances, which should delight any fan.

The End of Time Part 2- Disc 3

Part 2 of The End of Time is noticably different than part 1, with the characters set firmly in their places ready for the Tenth Doctor's final episode. I couldn't think of any better way to see the Tenth Doctor off than to see him forced once again into tragedy, forced to see his 'best enemy' presumably killed, and to have to kill his own species. The ensuing four knocks on that glass door and the sacrifice the Doctor makes is quite poignant, as is the ensuing 20 minute ending, allowing the Tenth Doctor to visit all his companions again before finally regenerating into Matt Smith. The final scene with the Eleventh Doctor is brilliant, perfectly capturing the essence of theperiod after regeneration, and setting the tone for The Eleventh Hour.

Once again, the relevant Confidential is included, detailing the regeneration, and showing how some of the effects were achieved.

Overall view of this set: 10/10
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2010
Was it just me? Or were the final two episodes of David Tennants tenure as Doctor Who - dare I say it - mawkish, drawn out and, well, disappointing? David Tennant has been an excellent Doctor, with some great stories - Waters of Mars being one of them - but, although he, John Simm and Bernard Cribbens turned in excellent perfomances, The End of Time story itself was just not good enough for a two part Christmas special, especially as we have been starved of Who this year, with no series. I know that this will not find favour with the die hard fans for whom Russell T Davies can do no wrong, and perhaps one of the problems with combining a Christmas special with the departure of the lead actor is that the result cannot live up to the weight of expectation, or the hype. Don't get me wrong, I've given it 3 stars and you should definitely see it, because any Doctor Who is better than none at all, but I was hoping for sharp, compelling and exciting storytelling and what I saw was complacent and overly sentimental.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2010
I've given this 5 stars, but the overall boxset only three. That is because this release excels expectations, the "complete" box set fouls up on them.
For a start, there are three discs, and three full length Confidentials. The stories are individually packaged, so you can slot them next to your other releases. What could have been all on one disc with no extras has become magnificent. Well done.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 January 2010
And so it came to pass that David Tennant was no longer Dr Who and the whole world mourned , or so it seemed. On the plus side the new Doctor has got legs so there will be lots more running down corridors . The Christmas specials that heralded the end of David Tennants tenure as the sonic screwdriver wielding Timelord were much anticipated and unlike Doctor Who - Planet Of The Dead [DVD] [2009] they( mostly ) did not disappoint.
So the master (John Simm ) returned ( he was officially dead but the beauty of sci-fi is that anything can happen ,though how that explains how the Doctor can survive a long fall through a glass roof onto a very unforgiving marble floor is another thing .Who does he think he is -Tom Cruise ? ) took over the world and almost precipitated the return of the Timelords , portentously lorded over by errr the head Timelord (Timothy Dalton ) The Doctor ,warned by the Ood that he was going to die and that it would be heralded by four knocks found out that his death was to come more from compassion, empathy and sheer buffoonery than from any intergalactic menace or despotic ambition.
And that was the real beauty about The End Of Time . It subverted our expectations in what would precipitate the Doctors demise and made it something wonderfully simple, banal even. The fact that Wilf ( Bernard Cribbins ) is the harbinger of the Doctors regeneration was a real fait accompli and the fact that The Doctor railed against his fate before doing the inevitable act of self sacrifice gave the moment real dramatic tension -aided it must be said by some terrific acting . You can focus on the scripts lack of cold hard logic as indeed some reviewers have done but Dr Who is not hard boiled space opera so all this ire is a bit misdirected .
I've been critical of Russell T Davies sentimentality in the past but even his rather self indulgent coda of having the Doctor say goodbye to the numerous companions who have shared the Doctors travels while under RTD,s tenure ( a point acknowledged by the man himself in the extras Confidential which incidentally is very good ) is beautifully judged. Okay so it's true that RTD is overly affectionate ( if not head over heels ) for DT,s, incarnation of the Doctor and that bleeds into the script to somewhat overly-dramatic effect. Why even the TARDIS has a hissy fit and starts to fall apart when the much heralded change occurs.
"Waters Of Mars " which precluded The End Of Time and was a stage setter of sorts was also a far superior episode to the previous special. Here the Doctor tampers with the time line and the set order of events in order to save the Martians colonists vying to stop an alien zombie invasion of earth . Imaginative and exciting this is sort of escapade that makes this programme so utterly vital . And the ending is quite bleak which makes a refreshing change.
With the Timelord baton now handed on to Matt Smith ( who i must confess i,m not entirely convinced about , but time will tell if you will forgive the weedy pun ) and the overall reins passed to Stephen Moffatt hopefully the series will now take a darker less frivolous timbre and the Doctor will have his soapy edges trimmed off. David Tennant has gone and time will march on without him.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse