Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
52
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£9.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 December 2015
Did the job now out of date
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2009
The live lounge albums usually have some really good songs but the albums as a whole are spoiled by the less worthy tracks that always seem to make it on, and this one is no exception.

There are some great songs like Lady Gaga's "Poker Face", Lenka's "Jump In The Pool" cover, Little Boot's cover of "Beat Again" and i was pleased to see Biffy's fantastic cover of "Love Sex Magic" (i wasnt a fan of the original versions of the latter 3, the covers are great though). N-Dubz's "Papa Can You Hear Me?" might've been good if it wasnt ruined by the other guys inappropriate outbursts between the lyrics (this problem comes up on a few other tracks)

But there are a few great songs that seemed to be overlooked (Paramore's "Use Somebody", Fightstars "Battlefield"??) and this is made worse by that fact that they are replaced by some frankly terrible ones (Metro Station's blood curdling acoustic version of "Shake It" literally makes me feel a little sick...) which is a shame.

It's an average album which isn't worth the money I paid for it, it couldve been so much better. Sort that out Radio 1...purty please.
22 Comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2009
Quite frankly, this doesn't live up to the standard set by Vol 3, which in my personal option was the best of the lot so far. There seems to be more people playing their own songs than other people's. Artists such as the BEP's have quite literally stuck to the format of the recorded version, and haven't pulled out the stops for a live audience. Their live stuff is very lacking anyway. I'm dissapointed that there aren't more covers on this album, as that's what always makes live lounge unique.

CD 2 is better than the downbeat boring CD1, but only marginally. I'm dissapointed. I've loved the last few albums, and look forward to this, the only good thing to come out of radio one, and I'm quite sure there have been a lot better live lounge performances than what's on this CD. Sorry to say it, it just aint that good in comparrison to the others....!!!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2009
Very dissapointing. Loved the first 3 volumes but this one did not live up to expectations at all. It seems as if it was cobbled together and thrown on the shelves at the first possible opportunity without any regard to the quality of the output. Lady Gaga's version of Poker Face was a surprising highlight for me, but the rest left me very dissapointed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2009
There have been some fantastic and surprising covers in this series - Lily Allen doing the Kooks, Orson doing Push the Button, Arctic Monkeys doing Amy Winehouse - but this new selection is just dull and safe - it's all too slick - there just doesn't seem to be imagination or humour in it. What interested me was always the cover versions - and frankly, these are disappointing.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2010
One of the best songs done in the live lounge in fact the best song is...the paramores cover of the kings of leon use somebody.It's not on the cd so don't buy it it's a waste of time there is only a handfull of artists on the cd that can sing what a dissapointment radio 1 got it wrong this time.If u would like to hear the paramores version you can check it out on you tube it's well worth a listen
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 1 November 2009
I loved the first 3 albums and was impressed with the line up for number 4.

Part of the charm is sticking it on and trying to guess the song and/or artist. Poker Face is so mellow that you find yourself instantly recognising the track but struggling to think of the song as it is miles apart from the original.

Half the songs are superb, such as Kasabian's version of Gwen Stefani's The Sweet Escape, some are odd but engaging (Sex on Fire by Alesha Dixon), some are comical (Bonkers with a hillbilly twist) and some are deadly dull or virtually the same as the orginal.

All in all enough here to thin you've got good value but a bit disappointing after the rest of the series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2009
I am inclined to agree with a number of previous reviewers, this is just not as good as previous live lounges. What made them good was bands doing leftfield covers, but this time everything is a little safe and boring. Probably the last one I will buy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I am a keen fan of Radio 1's 'Live Lounge', and have collected all of the albums. However, this fourth entry, released in 2009, doesn't rank anywhere near as the best. Don't get me wrong, there's still some good stuff on it, but not enough for me to rate it the usual four stars. I know that what's bad and what's good is personal preference only, so what I don't like, might be something that other people love.

This I one of those very rare occasions where I actually favour the second disc much more than the first. Calvin Harris' 'Ready for the Weekend' is a tune, Kasabian do a good, if not 'odd' cover of Gwen Stefani's 'The Sweet Escape', a song which I didn't previously like, and the great Paolo Nutini delivers a great performance of his own song 'Candy'. On the first disc, there are a few pleasant surprises, Scouting For Girls, an indie band more commonly known for upbeat, humorous pop songs, do a considerable version of Take That's famous ballad 'A Million Love Songs', and the Noisettes create an interesting spin on The Killers' 'When You Were Young'. I'm a fan of Jamie T, and enjoy his delivery of the Beyoncé song 'If I Were A Boy', and U2 with 'Beautiful Day' is as great as usual.

Volume 4 of 'Live Lounge' is well worth a listen for the good stuff, but it's just not on par with the rest of them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2009
the positives of the cd are that they bring together some well known artists and some great covers, such as florence and the machine's cover of "Halo" by beyoncé, however the overall content and quality of the songs are not as good as previous live lounge releases.
i'd still reccomend the cd to any music fans keen on hearing their favourite artists from a different perspective.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)