Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
20

on 24 November 2012
Love this lens I was debating for a long time before I decided to purchase the 85mm over the 105mm as it did not have great reviews but am trilled I choose it. I didn't realize how close this lens is and if I had purchased the 105 I cant imagine how far back I would have to go to get some of the super shots I am getting with the 85 so If you are in the same predicament as I was you have far more opportunities with the 85mm. Happy shooting!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 November 2013
Considered getting a cheaper alternative but had the loan of this one at a Nikon workshop and this made my decision. My images are razor sharp now that I have got the hang of manual focussing. Worth every penny
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 June 2017
A great product!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 August 2016
For my other half and she is very pleased that says it all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 July 2017
Rally like this lens.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 September 2014
Superb lens, lightweight easy to handle lens with fantastic results.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 January 2017
Love to use it. So good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 April 2013
A cracking good lens and a good introduction to macro photography at an affordable price.

Build quality is light and plastic, however its good and not unlike like the the 18-55mm kit lens in weight and feel, just a little heavier.
It doesn't feel as heavy or robust as the DX 18-200mm superzoom.

Some of observations on this lens after a couple thousand shots.
1) Stop down to F8-11 for sharpest results. Set ISO to 100 and you are in for some wonderful, punchy pictures that have pop and presence.
2) Tripod is a must for macro.
3) Auto focus is god awful at macro level. You will understand when you get round to using it. Unless you have a really contrasty subject with clearly defined edges, the lens bounces in and out without finding anything to focus on. Manual focusing is and will become necessary.
4) Bokeh is pleasing.
5) Depth of field is ultra shallow at macro levels even stopped down to optimum aperture. This is to be expected and we are talking focusing zone in fractions of a millimeter.
6) The 52mm filter thread allows it to be used in conjunction with a Raynox clip on macro lens and the two make a perfect combo. This makes the magnification even more powerful, up to 1.5X over the 1:1 ratio this lens provides as standard. It makes for mega macro pictures, its like looking down a low power microscope.

As a portrait lens, the bokeh is more pleasing than DX zoom kit lenses and marginally faster. The VR is always welcome in any DX lens.

4/5. Recommended and a solid option for DX macro.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 December 2014
As ever a beautiful Nikon lens !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 August 2014
First class images from this lense
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 10 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)