Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Paloma Faith Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 30 November 2014
A very entertaining and engrossing read with a new slant linking the final fall of The Roman Empire and the birth of the Arthurian legend. The characters are engaging, with the good ones being almost Homeric in their approach to duty and honour, whilst the 'baddies' are evil personified. Personally, I found such a clear cut difference to be refreshing and it certainly added to my enjoyment of the well written story. I would like a follow up to see how Manfredi's style approaches the 'Pendragon' saga.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2017
Could do with lot more editing. Apart from that cleverly crafted story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
seemed a little disjointed, did not flow evenly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2015
enjoyed it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2016
I've had this book on my shelf for years and started it a few times. Having finally persevered with it, I can say that it was both good and bad in equal parts. The opening and closing sections are both well written and engaging, but there were sections in the middle that I found myself losing interest in. Added to this, the inclusion of the Arthurian legend with the fall of the Roman Empire felt a little forced at times and detracted from what could have been a decent plot of a small band of soldiers trying to get the young Roman Emperor to safety. It would certainly pass the time on holiday, but not much else.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2007
Few authors can be better equipped to write about the subject of Rome and its Legions than Manfredi. Professor of archaeology at the the university of Milan, he has carried out many excavations and expeditions in the Mediterranean region. He has produced many factual books on historical matters, mainly military and has still found the time to write several novels and this is one of the best of them.

The story begins the day that the Roman Empire collapses and the eternal city itself is being over-run. In the weeks before the final collapse some British Romano soldiers have reached the city with the express task of rescuing the young son of the last Emperor Romulus Augustus, these are the men of The last Legion . . .

They are there to protect and guide the last emperor on a journey that takes them across Europe to the shores of Britain and into legend.

I found the book exciting and exhilarating. It was another one I did not want to end.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2014
The Last legion is a great tale of the fall of the Roman empire to the "barbarians in 470 AD. THE story is gripping and held my attention totally till I finished it. However, the style of writing was not great, possibly due to translation(but I am not sure). I really liked the book over all, but the writing was not great.

Some people have criticised the the endings to the story, and how they thought it ruined th book. I could not disagree more, it gave the book a twist and is plausible (SPOILER ALERT) (but maybe not to the extent of Romulus being Uther Pendragon) It is true though hat King Arthur was probably after the Roman empire and that he fought off the Saxon invaders for a time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2006
Yes, if you are looking for a historically accurate acount of the fall of Rome and it's last emperor then this isn't it. But Manfredi accepts that in his notes at the back of the book. As other reviewers have stated this book can almost be split into halfs. The first half of the book is concerned with the plight of Romulus and how he is going to be rescued then the second half follows the flight of the heros (and heroin to be politically correct). Some saw this half the book as a bad movie script with an easily discernable plot. Although you can guess that they will reach their destination it is thrilling to find out how they overcome the various obstacles. The presentation of Aurelius as a hero with dark secret in his past is refreshing as he isn't a perfect hero. The ending also comes under scrutiny as it links in with Arthurian legend. What you must remember when reading this ending is that it is fiction and it is a beautiful lead into the legendary kings tale. After all Geoffrey Monmouth's version in 14th century of Arthur as a Knight in shining armour is far less accurate then this ending is. It is a very easy read although i suppose you do have to let the words wash over you a bit as the translation can make the speech seem very American movie-esque. There is bad language so any parents might want to note this before reading/buying for their children. It's not my favourite Manfredi (that's Spartan) but a good read regardless
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 October 2008
This book is quite an entertaining read, and is certainly much better than the film that was released recently. Not his strongest and unlike his other historical novels this is nearly all fiction. However this is still worth a read, and do not judge it on the film!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2009
Another great read by Manfredi. I can certainly see why 'Hollywood' came calling for this one. It has all the elements - love, honour, betrayal, a secret from the past - which film makers love. To add to the mix, there is even a link to the Arthurian Legend. Manfredi has successfully combined all of these elements and produced and excellent read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)