Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
44
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio Download|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 May 2017
Short story but really like Stephen Leather. Keeps you wondering.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2014
Excellent
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2002
Another graet effort by this author . All of his books are well written and fast paced. Overall if you have never read a Stephen Leather book I would suggest that you start with The Chinaman , a great read.
This book tells a tale set in Hong Kong and you get a real sense of the City prior to the 1997 hand over. Geoff Howells a well trained killing machine is brought out of retirement to kill Simon Ng , a Chinese Triad leader. Along the way Howells kidnaps Ng's daughter Sophie. This is the only part of the book that I had a problem with as large sections of the book ignore the fact that the little girl is locked up and alone in a toilet on a boat. However a very good book and a satisfying read.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2011
Another great book from Stephen Leather.I enjoyed the book as i visit Hong Kong alot with my work and it was easy to relate to places mentioned in the book. I will not go into detail about the story as it would spoil your read , i will say if you enjoy Stephen Leather you will enjoy this one, happy reading.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2000
Not one of Leather's most known books, nonetheless it ranks right up there in value with his other works. From the beginning the reader is caught in a web of twisted conspiracy and international spies, a world of murder, treachery, revenge power and love. One can actually visualize the events as they take place, you are transformed into the times and surroundings by the author. One can "feel" the characters, they live and breath and the build-up reaching to the headlong confrontation between ex-SAS Howells, Dugan and Ng is unbeatable. This is a well-constructed stunning thriller that's well worth digging out-especially if you are a Stephen Leather fan.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2008
Despite this being dated (before the 1997 handover), it remains a good read, and is recommended!

Howells is an ex-British assassin brought out of retirement to take out a Triad leader in Hong Kong. He kidnaps the daughter as bait, and takes on the wrath of all triads and the HK Police. At the same time the British, Chinese and CIA want to take out Howells.

The plot is strong and there are some very clever deceptions which keep the reader enthused. The novel is also a nice retrospect for those of us who have lived in HK pre-handover.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2002
As usual with Stephen Leather very readable and enjoyable. Geoff Howells CIA hit man is brought out of retirement to kill Chinese Mafia leader Simon Ng. Along the way he kidnaps Ngs daughter and therein lies my problem with the book . Sophie Ng is locked in a toilet on a boat for most of the book and yet forgottem about in the book for large sections. However still a great read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2015
I have read most books by Stephen Leather but this one slipped me by till recently. I live in Hong Kong and he does a great job at recreating the city, many of the bars he references are still active and he goes into small detail where necessary that is still freakishly accurate. It's worth a read besides this, and if you like the other books then you will love this one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2012
This books takes you straight to Hongkong from wherever you are reading it. The description of the town is really authentic and it reminded me of my visits to Hongkong before the takeover. Very well written, like all of Stephen Leather's novels. You can really tell, that the author has spent time in that town. Must read, if you like top end bestselling thrillers..!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2010
Recommended by friend who has read virtually all Stephen Leather's books.
Regrettably I found the plot two dimensional and predictable and the characters
too clichéd. It lacked pace and intrigue and I certainly would not have completed
reading it if there was something else to read while on holiday.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)