Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 30 January 2011
Ok, this isn't great literature but I like Weisenberger's light touch and wayward humour. The whole point is that the book is full of people NOT worth knowing - the PR girls, models, celebrities who assume the world revolves around them. Bette's descent into their world is deliberately over the top, exposing the bitchiness, back-stabbing and hypocrisy of which this fake and frivolous lifestyle consists. Offsetting this, are Bette's true friends: her hippy-dippy parents, her old-fashioned girl friends obsessed with Harlequin romances, even her hard-working, talented potential boyfriend.

There are lots of points at which this books feels aimless and directionless, it's almost like a series of magazine columns rather than a fully-plotted novel, but that makes it very easy to pick up and put down - ideal for reading in the bath or just before bed.

So this certainly isn't a page-turning, just-one-more-chapter read, but it's a nice antidote to the idea that celebrity is the high point of anyone's life.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 January 2017
As described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 January 2017
Easy beach read but not as instantly engaging as The Devil Wears Prada
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 April 2015
Couldn't really get into it...I loved The Devil Wears Prada and Revenge Wears Prada, but I did not enjoy this book that much. Couldn't get passed the first few chapters...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 November 2016
great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 February 2013
I love this writer, have read all her books but she is not normally someone I look out for releasing books for some reason. When I saw this book and realised I had not read it, downloaded it straight way and tucked into it. Very Good, thoroughly enjoyed it. really good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 December 2013
LOVE THESE BOOKS BY THIS AUTHOR. CANT WAIT TO READ IT. IHAVE ALL HER OTHER BOOKS - SO THANK YOUI
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 September 2013
her books are always readable and i enjoy the whimsy from time to time.I do not have much more to say
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 June 2014
I like all these products although the"Paraguayos" CD is not what I wanted because just about every musical assembly from Paraguay uses that same name. The CD I wanted was made by the old partnership of many years ago and it seems to be extinct by now.
All the best!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2014
Easy reading!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)