Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
205
4.2 out of 5 stars
Package Quantity: 1|Style Name: Original Packaging|Change
Price:£18.70+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 January 2012
We've had one of these Kidde 1.0 kg extinguishers at home for years, thankfully unused. I've just ordered a new one because after 10 years the recharge indicator indicates recharge is necessary (i.e. cheaper to replace). It looks fine on the wall, the bracket is simple to fix. This 1.0 kg size is adequate for a bin fire or small kitchen emergency. I would say that a fire blanket is more important to have, or buy both. A smoke alarm is more important than either, so get that first!

This is useful: How to use your extinguisher:

Remember the PASS Word
Stand 6 to 8 feet away from the fire and follow the four-step PASS procedure recommended by National Fire Protection Association:

P - Pull the pin and hold the extinguisher with the nozzle pointing away from you.
A - Aim low at the base of the fire.
S - Squeeze the lever slowly and evenly to discharge the extinguishing agent. (When the agent first hits the fire, the fire may briefly flare up. This should be expected.)
S - Sweep the nozzle from side to side, moving carefully toward the fire. Keep the extinguisher aimed at the base of the fire.

Only use your extinguisher after making sure:
All residents of the home have been evacuated to safety.
The fire brigade has been notified.
There is a clear exit behind the person using the extinguisher.
Use your extinguisher only to keep a small self-contained fire from growing, only when the room is not filled with smoke, or to create a safe pathway out of the home. Read the instructions and become familiar with your fire extinguisher's parts and operation before a fire breaks out.

Fire extinguishers are only one element of a complete fire survival plan.
33 comments| 109 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2015
Just bought two- one for the car and one for the kitchen.Have just had a real experience of using a similar Kidde extinguisher to put out a a car fire (catalytic converter caught fire in car in driveway of house). before the arrival of the fire services..The previous one was old but still worked .So on the basis of our experience a very useful product to have around.However for a fat fire say in the kitchen this should not be used as it can spread the fire -use a fire blanket.In terms of maintenance one is advised to check that the nozzle is not damaged every so often and according to the fireman one might also invert or turn over the extinguisher periodically so that the powder inside is equally spread
11 comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
i bought a few of these directly from amazon and as such i can fully confirm that this is 100% genuine kidde extinguisher.
if you are buying from amazon you will get what is pictured, i am not sure why others are not getting kidde but i can only assume they are not buying from amazon and using a market place seller.

this is a multi purpose abc extinguisher as such can be used on all household fires including electrical.

i like having the peace of mind having a extingisher or more in the house, to be honest its a must just like having a smoke alarm every home should have a couple,safety sake alone this is worth every penny it could save your life or a loved one you never know, so dont risk being without one!, they are fantastic quality, simple and easy to use, works on just about every fire you might face one time in your life,the quality is of very high build too. be safe and get one, you are worth it!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 July 2015
I'm sure that most people (or I would hope everyone) has the necessary number of functional smoke alarms to protect them by offering an early warning against fire. However I doubt that many people have a fire extinguisher which often surprises me. Most fires will start small and quickly grow feeding on oxygen and being fuelled by everything around them, but if you can stop them when they are small they you save not only property but possibly your life.

I would always recommend that every household has at least one fire extinguisher to offer an additional safe guard as this "Kidde KSPS1X Fire Extinguisher Multi Purpose" is a great place to start.

This extinguisher contains dry powder as opposed to water or foam. This is the ideal fire fighting agent not only for the kitchen but to give you good protection for the home as it can be used on class A, B, and C fires. In other words it's suitable for burning solids such as wood or normal combustibles, flammable liquids and gases, as well as electrical equipment.

This extinguisher is NOT suitable for deep fat fryer or chip pan fires, which requires either a specialist wet chemical extinguisher or fire blanket.

Its small size and light weight make it easy to wall mount, inspect, and most importantly use when needed. The design of the extinguisher also allows for single hand operation with a simple squeezing action which releases the powder (after you have aimed at the base of the fire).

It comes with a five year guarantee and the extinguisher should be replaced after that time. It does recommend that you carry out periodic inspections (usually once a week) just to ensure that it's not been tampered with, the nozzle is clear, and the status indication is still in the green.

I have this fire extinguisher in my kitchen which is the best place as it's the most likely the place where a fire is going to start. Remember that this extinguisher can only be used on small fires, and you should always ensure that you have a clear escape route.

If in doubt get out!
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2013
We ordered this Kidde fire extinguisher as it has good reviews from buyers who had actually received the Kidde product, & Kidde is a well known manufacturer, 'the world's largest manufacturer of fire safety products.'

I noted several previous reviewers had found that what they received was not in fact a Kidde product but I assumed, wrongly, that that such a problem would have been fixed. It has not been.

What we received was a '1Kg ABC Dry Powder Fire Extinguisher with Bracket' made by a 5-yr old Kent company called Fireblitz.

Their product is for sale on amazon under its true identity (at a higher price!). It has no reviews. But, checking out Fireblitz, it does seem they make reliable products. It is the sort of extinguisher we wanted. So we decided to keep it.
11 comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2015
Packaged well but upon opening the sealed inner box I found the pin holding the 'trigger' to the extinguisher was broken. The gauge was flat in the red showing '0'. There was no apparent damage to the case or evidence of leakage.
No problem with return/refund.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2013
It's not what it says it is which is a problem for a safety item. It is not Kidde. The image for this product is incorrect.
11 comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
I was very disappointed with the item. was not KIDDE Fire Extinguisher at all. A total con leave well alone.
22 comments| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
Just have to say that a different extinguisher turned up. It wasn't a Kidde one. I should have trusted the previous reviews that stated this problem.
11 comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
This is NOT a kidde brand. the one I received is some off brand replacement. I feel misled by picture, it is NOT A Kidde brand. Although it's not what I bought into, I am happy to keep it as it's just a fire extinguisher, but if you want the name brand, don't buy here.
44 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 22 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)