Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
166
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 April 2017
A history masterclass in its own right. A powerfull, insightful and at times emotional journey which has not only left me with a better understanding of Scotland and the Scots. But has left me passionately wanting to see Scotland gain its independance as quickly as humanely possible.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2017
Item in better condition than expected for "good". Content excellent as watched on tv. Good to have the extras.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2017
I think Neil Oliver does a great job. Its not a college course, but I learned a lot and really enjoyed watching it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
Another quality BBC Documentary
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2017
present and good series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2017
5 disk version - an exciting story of the history of Scotland
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2017
vERY GOOD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2010
Neil Oliver's History of Scotland was absolutely enthralling and interesting from beginning to end. Visually, the series is stunning with wonderful landscapes, cities and historic buildings.The music perfectly complements and enhances the whole- and unlike many modern documentary series, the music did not drown out the narration. The dramatisations were not intrusive but added to the visualisation of the people and the periods. Neil Oliver clearly explains a long and complex social, cultural and political history and his constant appearances are not intrusive but add to the intensity of the story. His quirky little asides add a lovely element of Scottishness. The second half of the series from the Union of the Crowns to the present day clarified a period which though closer to our own has always seemed remote and unknown even to Scots, probably because it does not have the romantic elements associated with earlier Scottish history that we all cling to and enjoy.
I would recommend this to Scots who would like to better understand their history and to non-Scots who have very little knowledge of the long and rich history of this nation.
I saw the first part of the series on Australian tv and it was much admired and enjoyed by Australians.
Neil Oliver has done for Scottish History what David Attenborough has done for Natural History!
Can't wait for his next production.
0Comment| 63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2010
This is first-class production of the high standard that we have come to expect from
The BBC. Historian Neil Oliver skillfully navigates us through the highlands and lowlands
,the places and faces that have shaped the country's history with all its triumphs and defeats,
beauty and brutality in the stuggle for independance. He peirces the veils of myth and
legend to bare the sometimes shocking truth whilst still keeping up the excitement
and romance. At once. Both educational and entertaining. He tells the story with
doses of dry scottish wit and obvious patriotism for his native land yet maintains the
objectivity of the professional historian.
The cinematography is excitingly innovative.At first I was somewhat irritated by the out-of-focus close-ups but this is far out-weighed later by the spectacular scenic
shots and incredible stop-motion sequences.
The musical score by Paul Leonard-Morgan is just brilliant and perfectly
mirrors the ever-changing moods of ther narrative and scenery.
In fact I loved it so much I bought the CD!
All in all, a real bargain in its 10 hourlong episodes.
I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)