Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
28
4.3 out of 5 stars
Gorilla Manor
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.69


on 8 July 2010
I was going to there gig at Shepard's Bush Empire so wanted to get a little more familiar with there songs. I love this album and they were even better live!!! Amazing atmospher and great entertainers, will go again as well as buy the next cd :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2011
but very strong songs and arrangements - they do some danged strange things with drums some times....very good - would love to see them live (here's hoping someone books them for glastonbury)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
I bought Hummingbird first and so was slightly disappointed with this album since Hummingbird is such a fantastic album....but I'm getting used to this album. Looking forward to next album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2013
Heard these guys first on Radio 6 Music, loved their sound straight away, quirky vocals, great harmonies.
Buy immediately. Get 'Hummingbird' too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
Great album, takes a few listens and you can hear some influences coming through, but nothing wrong with that if the point of reference is good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2013
I love this album and very happy with my purchase :) I love all the songs and there is also a video of live jamming sessions. Even better (:
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2010
Local Natives are a band which arrive with a hyperbole level of hype mostly based upon advanded singles 'Airplanes' and 'Sun Hands', which were both released earlier in the year. The band hail from Los Angeales but the record is named after the building in New England that they spent most of ther time recording (much like Grizzly Bear did with the album 'Yellow House'). Comparisons to the Dodo's, Fleet Foxes and Arcade Fire have been prominant, but it is definetly with the afore-mentioned Grizzly Bear that this band stands mostly beside.

Debut single 'Airplanes' is probably the most indicative song on the album as a whole. It is all layered vocals and crushing percussion with the song's majesty laying in the fact that it never explodes as you think it might, instead it keeps the pace restrained and is all the stronger for it. Unfortunatky the same can't be said of second single 'Sun Hands' which inexplicedly decides to go into a Foals-esque (remember them?) math-rock riffage, this is thankfully one of the few hiccups on an otherwise restrained and mature release for a band so young. Track 5 'Shape Shifter' is a wonderful vocal-led collage of ideas and within it's five-and-a-half minute length goes through more peaks and troughs than Mauna Kea, once again the song gains most of it's strengh through subtle changes and inconsequental percussion. Other highlights include 'Card's And Quaters' and 'Who Know Who Cares' which both feature a wonderful use of strings and in the case of the former, a rolling drum beat that I'm sure Timbaland will try and incorperate into one of his pop-produced songs in the future. The band also find the time to cover the Talking Heads' classic 'Warning Sign' and whilst Local Natives can't manage to better the New Yorker's original, they can at least lay claim to the second best recording of such a faboulous song.

I hope Local Natives are given the time they need to grow and explore their musical pallete because there is a masterpeice within this band which I'm sure with the right amount of time and nurturing they will one day discover.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2013
Such a great 'play it over and over and over again' album! Need extra copies for the office, the car and your friends!! Buy at least two!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
Absolutely brilliant first album. Its a real grower that i still count as one of my favourites of all time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2011
For me this was by a whisker the best album of 2010. Mr Wolf as usual sums it up... GLORIOUS
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Hummingbird
£8.59
Sunlit Youth
£9.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)