Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
59
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£21.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 November 2009
If you enjoyed the album, this is a must-purchase.

Elbow very much support the idea of an album rahter than cherry-picking tracks off iTunes and this production tells you why. A complete and coherent album, no fillers, taking you on an emotional ride with the atmosphere of a live orchestra making the hairs stand up on your arms at times.

Originally released as a limited box package, this is pretty much now the definitive version of the album for me - I haven't played the standard album since I received the Abbey Road one. Buy it if you are a true fan of real music, crafted tunes and meaningful lyrics - or just if you want to listen to a truly special moment in British music.
0Comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2009
While live performances can wow you with exciting energy, there are times when I have listened to live music and come away feeling that something just did not have the impact of the recording. Could be the vocals are not quite right, the balance of sound has not been mixed very well, the timing is a bit rushed etc.

A live version of the Seldom Seen Kid (my favourite album from the last couple of years) could so easily have disppointed. How wrong I was to even think this! The dynamics range from the most gentle and intimate to a sound that makes your whole body vibrate. The lyrics and musicality of Elbow is amazing, and this is not swamped in any way by over sentimental orchestral arrangements, but somehow taken to a new level that wonders the merging of the two.

If you are a fan of the original and are unsure about owning two versions of the same songs - I emplore you to get this. I really do think that this is the best live performance of any band that I have heard.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2015
An absolute triumph already a brilliant album but this live version takes it to a new level the bands performance along with the backing from the bbc concert orchestra is superb and really send shivers down the spine!
The cd alone is brilliant but the dvd is something else again obviously you don't only hear but also get to see the absolute passion & emotion amongst everyone involved while performing this outstanding piece of work.
As already mentioned the bands performance is outstanding and the backing from the orchestra is wonderfully understated never at the forefront just adding extra musicianship, vocals and emotion from the back exactly as it should be (there's also a guest appearance from Richard Hawley for The Fix) which is also tremendous.
As you might have guessed I really can't say enough about this wonderful performance so I'll stop now before I end up repeating myself!
Only thing to add is if your a fan of this album or Elbow or just great music in general then buy this you won't be disappointed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2009
My experience of Live albums has been a compromise in the production and vocals, but often made up for the raw energy of the event.

This album has it all! I can't stress enough how good this is. If you were a fan of the original, you won't be disappointed buy this. The albums feels as if it was written for an orchestra. Guy's vocals are spot on and if anything, there is more emotion in them than on the original.

The DVD is the cherry on top.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2017
Brilliant cd and quickly delivered
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"The Seldom Seen Kid" was my favourite album of 2008, bar none. It is an incredible piece of work - romantic, touching, sentimental, intelligent and truly magnificent. This live performance of the album in its entirely at Abbey Road together with the superb BBC Concert Orchestra doesn't only do the original recordings justice - in the case of many of the compositions, it takes the tracks to new, even greater heights. The orchestra just explodes on "Starlings", the choir is amazingly beautiful on "The Bones Of You" and the band themselves give an absolutely flawless and impassioned performance of their greatest studio album so far. There are so many talking points. The way the orchestra builds towards the climax of "Weather To Fly" is just jaw-droppingly gorgeous. "Grounds For Divorce" sounds twice as powerful with the orchestra augmenting the hard-hitting guitar break to hairs-on-the-back-of-the-neck rising in appreciation, spine-tingling effect. The version of "The Fix" with Richard Hawley is vastly superior to the studio version, infinitely more atmospheric and underlining the underhanded nature of the lyrics wonderfully.

Listening to (and watching) this live album is a truly emotional experience. I find myself close to tears at various points of the performance as Guy Garvey's sensational voice delivers his superb poetry with such passion and at such a timbre that it seems to bypass your ears and go directly to your heart. I can honestly say that there aren't many songs on this earth which have the power to move me as much as "The Loneliness Of A Tower Crane Driver" when Guy hits those high notes, soaring above the sweeping strings of that incredible orchestra and the magnificence of that choir. "Some Riot" is almost equally as stirring (the strings are just... wow) and, of course, the heart-achingly romantic "One Day Like This" is more than just a little bit special, although it is during the finale of this song when the loudness of the performance seems just a little overpowering. It's to the credit of the arranger/musical director that, otherwise, the dynamics are perfect throughout. "Friend Of Ours" is a touching and stirring ending to one of the most remarkable performances I have ever seen.

I'm tempted to say that this concert depicts Elbow at the height of their powers, but, quite honestly, I hope that they have the potential to realise even greater things in their musical careers. It's quite difficult to imagine that they could possibly improve on something which is this close to perfection, but a fan can dream. If you loved "The Seldom Seen Kid", you really must not pass this album & DVD by. This is absolutely esssential and, in my opinion, perhaps even the greatest live album ever.
44 Comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
Brilliant cd just annoyed I didn't buy it sooner
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2010
Anyone who has the original studio version of TSSK would wonder if the original could be improved ? Well stand back and be prepared to be blown away. Recorded for Radio 2 at Abbey Road studios this is the best live album I have ever heard.

Sometime words are not enough and this is the case for me with this album. At times it makes the hair stand on the back of your neck up such is the sheer brilliant and beauty of the songs.

It is the definitive Seldom Seen Kid album.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2010
I've discovered Elbow hearing the astonishing version of "Mirrorball" performed by Peter Gabriel. I wanted to hear something about them and bought the studio version, only to discover that there was a live one with a dvd. I bought this too and can say that orchestra added something special to the already wonderful songs. I've also downloaded from iTunes the cover of PG's "Mercy Street" by Elbow and it's wonderful. Now have to go back in history to buy previous cds.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)