Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 April 2008
As the title suggests - down to earth guide. You can really relate to the author and the information goes further than the usual veg books, rather than the usual colour photos of tools, veg etc, its crammed with tips and advice that are usually passed down from generations. There are diagrams and sketches when needed - simple clear and easy to follow. Another thing I liked was the author covers all methods and doesnt 'preach' a certain method, just gives the facts so you can choose yourself. VERY highly recomended and very thorough. Easy to read and a book I will keep close at hand - fits in the handbag. Such good value for money, every page has been used to its full. Well done John Harrison
0Comment| 295 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2008
You can spend three times as much as this book costs and get lots of glossy photo's and an impressive looking bookcase., but that's all. I doubt if this Book will spend much time on the bookcase anyway.

The joy of this Book is that it gets down to basics, is well set out and unlike some books, you can get to where you want to easily.

Mr. Harrison obviously runs a very efficient vegetable garden. I would imagine he is very well and healthily fed through his practical knowledge!

Worth every penny.
0Comment| 168 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2008
This is a really useful guide in straightforward user-friendly language. I am new to vegetable growing and find the guidance in this book invaluable.
0Comment| 110 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2008
Have to say the book is written in a way that it is an easy, engaging read, which puts across an interest and detail in the subject that is rather infectious. It gives explanations & descriptions in plain English, as if the author is standing next to you holding a conversation with you rather than talking at you. It doesn't have lots of glossy pictures of marvellous gardens and plants, but it has something far more important: necessary information put across in a way that as a beginner, I felt I wasn't being talked down to in a way some celebrity gardeners do tend to do IMO. The information given is incredibly useful and practical. It's going to be one of those books I pop in and out of when needed, and will be come well-thumbed and well-used. I recommend it.
0Comment| 68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2008
I thought this was very good value - puts some rivals to shame. It's the right size for you pocket or shed too. Sensible advice without being bossy.
I would recommend this to beginners and more experienced gardeners alike.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2008
I can second all other positive comments on here but let you all know that if you get it from www . allotment . org . uk / book / index . php it will cost you £6.99 including postage but, and here's the good bit, you get £10 worth of seeds with it for free!!! (apologies for putting spaces between all the dots and slashes but I have a feeling Amazon don't let you submit reviews containing web links)
33 comments| 63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I'm afraid I was very disappointed by this book. I purchased it on the title and reviews expecting what it said on the box. A book that took me, a newbie to all this, through the season month by month.

Well yes there is a small section with perfunctory descriptions of tasks for that month. This is little more than one chapter of the entire book however and not at all what I expected. The rest was just padding. The sort of incidental fluff you can probably find in all the other books you will not doubt accumulate on the subject.

If you want a simple guide to growing vegetable fine. If like me however you was seeking a book that would lead you by the hand through each month setting out in detail what to do and plant each week then this is not it.
44 comments| 65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2008
Written by a real gardener, it's thorough, concise, inexpensive, well-laid out and a good read.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2008
I bought this book and was really happy that I had. It isn't full of glossy photos but it has lots of information and really tells you what you need to know to get growing. I would recommend this to anyone who wants no nonsense information.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2008
This is a brilliant and very cheap little book. It doesn't take much reading and has all the area you could require for a simple garden. The A-Z of vegetables is clear; just what is needed to go with the month by month guide. It is also helpful to deal with any problems one might come across. All together a well rounded book! Some of the diagrams would perhaps benefit from some colour though. Carla x
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)