Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 November 2009
This excellent book is aimed at the 99% of the business world who are faintly befuddled by the strange world of youtube and delicious that they find themselves living in. It's aimed at plumbers, hairdressers, lawyers and oil company executives; at people in large corporations and small businesses alike who are dimly aware that their working lives are about to change - indeed, have already started to change in disconcerting ways - and who don't know what to do.

The premise of the book is that the old marketing is dead or dying. Gone are the days where simply throwing money at print or radio advertising guaranteed succees. Instead, you need to engage your customers. Give them reasons to come to visit your web site, and once they are there give them reasons to come back again and again. Turn your web site into a hub, stuffed with remarkable blog posts, videos and interviews. As the authors put it (they have a pleasing way with words) "ten years ago, your marketing effectiveness was a function of the width of your wallet. Today, your marketing effectiveness is a function of the width of your brain."

"Inbound marketing" is clearly - and explicitly - inspired by authors such as Seth Godin and David Meerman Scott. But where this book differs is in its emphasis on hands-on advice. Not only is it inspirational, but it's also brimming with practical wisdom. Sure, it talks about the power of Twitter. But then it gives you advice on how to choose a twitter handle. Sure, it talks about the rise of the superstar blogger and the death of the press release. But then it talks about how to decide whether you need a PR agency and, if you do, then how you should hire one. Sure, it stresses that your employees will need to learn new skills if they are to survive in this new world. But then it talks about what those skills are, what steps your employees need to take to get them and how you can track how they're doing. Each chapter contains a checklist of things you should do, right now, to start improving your inbound marketing.

This is no dry textbook. It's full of anecdotes, some from the usual suspects (Whole Foods, Zappos and Barack Obama) but from others too: accounting software, a shutter manufacturer and a PR firm among others. It's well written, and there are cartoons too.

Inbound marketing - get found using Google, social media and blogs is an excellent, mainstream introduction to new marketing. If you want to dip your toes into the cold water of social media then buy a copy. If you know all about social media then you almost certainly know people who need this book. Buy them a copy from Amazon. They'll love you for it.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2009
Inbound marketing argues that the way to get attention is to produce great content and it certainly practises what it preaches. It is not a book about theories by some acadamics trying to push a new theory - its actually a candidly honest guide to the new marketing rules created by the internet from two guys with a great deal of experience who share their knowledge in a very honest book. I particularly liked their honesty about the pros and cons of various social media tools - you could almost sense their exasperation at trying to get content onto the front page of digg only to see it fail. And I laughed at the brutal honesty at times - don't worry about what you put in your tweets at the a start because nobody is going to be reading them at this point....

If you are looking for a book that will allow you to turn your business or idea into the next Internet sensation in 7 days you are not going to find it. But if you accept that it will require sustained effort, and want a book which explains how to market better on the internet (and the examples quoted range from Amex to one-person shops), is full of good advice and gives you a clear path to develop your marketing using the new rules of marketing, this is the book to read.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2012
Having spent 10 years working with Further Education Colleges using tired old (and sometimes unwelcome) outbound marketing methods I have found this book to be an invaluable tool in understanding how and why shifts in sales & marketing have taken place to make traditional methods ineffective. This book goes on to show how to apply inbound marketing techniques that will allow you to engage with your partners, clients & community in a fun, engaging and much more meaningful way.

It is worth mentioning that these methods are equally applicable to educators who are looking to attract new students.

This book is a must-have practical guide to anyone working in sales & marketing today, a brilliant book!! I would also recommend subscribing to Hubspot's You Tube Channel to see some great clips of inbound vs outbound marketing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2009
If you run a business and you've heard of blogging and social media but you don't really think it applies to you, think again!

Buy this book today, right now, and your view will be totally transformed. In fact you really can't afford not to read it. As business owners we're always trying to entice new customers to buy our products/services and this book gives pages and pages of tips and techniques on how to do that online without spending a fortune on marketing and advertising. And it does so using language anyone can understand - you can do most of the action steps yourself, you don't even need a techie.

The way people buy from us has changed. This book explains how customers want to interact with businesses, what they're looking for and how you can capitalise on it. It puts all aspects of inbound marketing together and gives you clear strategies and 'to do' steps so you can get started right away.

Above all this is just a very interesting and easy read, I'm an SEO consultant and I learnt plenty of stuff from the book. In fact I've implemented some of the recommendations on my own websites and am already seeing the benefits of them!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2012
There are four parts to this book, which are entitled:

`Inbound Marketing'
`Get Found by Prospects'
`Converting Customers'
`Make Better Decisions'

Part One defines what Inbound Marketing is and explains why all marketing should make the transition. It sets the scene by looking back at how people's buying habits have changed. There are 3 opening chapters: Shopping has Changed ... Has Your Marketing?; Is Your Web Site a Marketing Hub? and Are You Worthy?

Part Two has 4 packed chapters: Create Remarkable Content, Get Found in the Blogosphere, Getting Found in Google, and Get Found in Social Media. Although the book was published in 2010 and the internet is constantly evolving, the principles in these chapters still hold true and give valuable suggestions to be found by prospects.

In Part Three, there are 3 chapters: Convert Visitors into Leads; Convert Prospects into Leads, and Convert Leads to Customers which is where all the getting found tactics from Part Two are turned into results. There are ample screenshots and diagrams to demonstrate each stage.

Part Four contains 6 final strategy chapters: Make Better Marketing Decisions; Picking and Measuring Your People; Picking and Measuring a PR Agency; Watching Your Competition; On Commitment, Patience and Learning: and Why Now? Perhaps more relevant to larger companies, there are still lessons for the small business owner.

Each of the 15 main chapters contains a case study and ends with a useful suggested To-Do List and space to add your own actions too.

Although there are several self-promoting references to the authors' company, they do not detract from the valuable how-to information which all marketers can apply right away.

The chapters follow a logical path, enabling the reader to put each of the lessons into action (using the To-Do list) before moving on to the next. This format makes the book a useful guide or workbook too. I wish it had been around 5 years earlier as it would have considerably shortened the time it's taken me to put all the pieces together by myself.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2010
If you've heard about Facebook, youtube and all the other forms of social networking, but didn't think they were much use for business, then this is the book to change your mind. Written with bitesize chapters and a very readable style, this book gives you a how to do it approach. Was given the book as part of a business course and have been recommending it such much to friends, family and anyone who'll listen - I wish I was on some commission!

A geek free guide to using the internet to drive more customers to your business - and if you haven't got a customer then you haven't got a business
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2012
I'm an ex-computer programmer and have created functional webpages before.

I read this book to learn more about the latest internet related marketing techniques.

This book served the purpose reasonably well. It was easy to read and covered the basic ground e.g. bloggs, twitter, basic SEO (Search Engine Optimisation)

The book was encouraging and pointed out that its IM is not difficult to do, and to get significant effects you need to invest take a little time (2 hours a day) every day for a period of months. If you do this consistently great results can be seen.

If you are a beginner then this book isn't a half bad place to start.

If you are a pro, you'd be better off going not reading this book.. instead go to a bar and try & get laid as you obviously spend too much time with your computer 8-)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2009
This book is a great introduction to the newer techniques called Inbound or Attraction Marketing by using Google, Social Media and Blogs to create your Personal Brand i.e. YOU inc. Very readable, easy to follow and full of great advice.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 November 2011
I bought this book as the thought of getting involved in "social media" was terrifying given the hype in the written media. As a sole trader, I wanted a book that would tell me exactly what I needed to do to be found by potential customers without making too many mistakes along the way. It did just that and I now have a plan of action which I am putting in place bit by bit following the guidelines in the book. I found it really easy to use and simple enough for me to understand fully. A great buy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2015
This book is the sort of book that doesn’t come along very often but when it does, it changes everything. Halligan and Shah are the CEOs of HubSpot, the marketing automation company that recently went public and surpassed most expectations for their entry to the stock market. HubSpot practices exactly what it preaches, inbound marketing, to such an extent that they reap huge rewards for it, too.

The concept of inbound marketing is pretty simple – no longer should you interrupt customers by placing billboards, TV adverts and radio spots in front of them. Instead, by providing top quality content such as entertaining videos, informative how-tos and even price comparisons between your own products and those of your competitors, you can reach your customers when they’re actively looking for you, through Google, social media and blogs.

The concept of inbound marketing is something that I use every day at work, and this book is essentially the ultimate guide to carrying it out, and you can use the ideas here on pretty much every social networking site imaginable. Think of it as a new way of communicating with people – a way in which you offer value, instead of sitting there demanding things from your consumers arbitrarily.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)