Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 20 September 2017
Rob Inglis narates this book so well! It’s a very (very) long audiobook but the different voices for the characters adds entertainment and interest! Would definately recommend the series to anyone that’s after a good audiobook. And it’s definitely value for money!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 September 2017
Unfortunately Harper Collins' idea of a Large Print Edition is not my idea of large print at all. I have a large print Dickens novel from readhowyouwant.com which says it is 16pt and alongside it this print of the Tolkien is not much over half the size of the Dickens. Unfortunately no-one else seems able to help with a set of Rings, rights must belong just to HC. So now that I am retired and have the time to read and re-read these wonderful books i can't. No disrespect to Amazon but all three volumes are being returned.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 January 2012
The conclusion to an awe inspiring trilogy written by a master of literature, "The Return Of The King": Volume 3 is a true jewel of a book. Still full of thrills, it never fails to transport me back into Middle Earth. The adventure continues for Frodo, Sam, Merry and Pippin. There are many moments in the story that make me angry or sad or incredibly moved (nearly to tears), just as there are the occasional light hearted, happy times, particularly at the very end when all is said and done, such as the one chapter concerning Eowyn and Faramir, as they are my two favourite characters among the race of Men, and I see them as the ideal couple. Sam, my favourite character out of the Hobbits as he evokes such care, compassion and determination to do what is right comes out as a true hero, which gains him a good deal of praise and good fortune. Pippin, my second favourite of the Hobbits is as troublesome as ever, earning him a trip to Minas Tirith where he is far more concerned about what is the best place for a pint of ale and a bite to eat, until he finds that bravery outstrips the need for food for thought. The songs and poems are just as lovely as ever, the Elvish language is positively enchanting and Tolkien's use of the English language is epic and masterful; he was a true genius, and his spirit lives on in this classic tale of adventure, good versus evil, love and self discovery.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2014
The Return of the King is the conclusion to Tolkiens epic saga, The Lord of the Rings. Widely considered as a classic, this trilogy begins in the rolling fields of the shire and takes us through a journey of enormous proportions till at last we reach our destination in Mordor. The character development as we go through this saga is second to none as we watch our heroes Frodo, Sam, Merry, Pippin, Gandalf, Aragorn, Legolas, Gimli and Boromir all do great deeds,to enable the fellowship to complete it's quest.

In this version of the book, it has a wonderful cover design which draws on the story itself and beautifully depicts the white tree of Gondor. As this is part of a set, it also has a sleeve design which when placed together with the other books in this set forms one of the most prominent images from the three books, the white tree of Gondor. A well crafted cover, with maps featuring inside the sleeves, I would recommend this version of The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King to any one who wishes to own their own version of this masterpiece.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2014
I first read these books about a year before the first movie came out. I loved them! The movies came out and changed cinema forever. They were epic in their scale and as faithful to the books as it was possible to be. As a result, Since then whenever lord of the rings has been discussed, it is the world created by Peter Jackson that is the focus and that is fine; it's a great world. Jackson, took the story that was said to be un-filmable and brought Tolkiens world to an amazed generation that may not have otherwise discovered the tale.
I recently re-read the trilogy and while the movies are an excellent guide to Tolkiens world, they are only a pale shadow to the books. The writing in these books is superb, the journeys of the members of the fellowship far more perilous than I remembered and Tolkiens mastery of the English language is used to full effect.
The depth of the world of middle earth is stunning. From the histories of each of the races there, to the languages that are fully formed and linguisticly beautiful or harsh depending on the race they belong to.
The first time I read the books I skipped past the songs and poems that litter the trilogy, but, this time I read them and they were another jewel of the tale.
Unforgettable characters that permeate the world we live in, and an unforgettable story.
I don't think any author of this genre has ever matched this trilogy for it's literary achievement. The only downside for me is that they are not long enough.
If you've never read The Lord of the rings, then I cannot recommend them highly enough; and if you have read them in the past, you would almost definately enjoy another trip with the fellowship.
Probably the finest fantasy tale, ever!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 28 February 2006
"Return of the King" is the worthy climax to J.R.R. Tolkien's epic saga, the fantasy that created the genre as we know it today. Now, as the blockbuster movie adaptation is over, many readers are checking out the dramatic story that ends Tolkien's masterpiece and life's work.
The story opens where "Two Towers" left off. Gandalf has ridden to the city of Gondor with Pippin (partly to keep him out of trouble), where the forces of Mordor are attacking. There is upheaval in the city itself, as the steward of Gondor is going nuts. Merry pledges his service to King Theoden of Rohan, not knowing what is ahead for the king and his relatives. And Aragorn is seeking out allies to fight Sauron on a military scale, even if they can't defeat him unless the Ring is destroyed. His search will take him to tribes of forest-dwellers, to Gondor -- and even to summon an army of the dead.
In Mordor, the unconscious Frodo has been captured by Sauron's orcs, and taken to the fortress of Cirith Ungol. Sam is desperate to free his friend, but knows that he can't take on an army, and that Frodo would want him to finish the quest. Sam manages to free Frodo from captivity, but they must still brave more dangers before they can come to Mount Doom, the only place where the Ring can be destroyed. As they travel Sam sees Frodo slipping further and further into the Ring's grasp. Will Frodo be able to destroy the Ring?
Usually, the climax of an epic adventure is a disappointment. "Return of the King" succeeds in almost every way, wrapping up each individual storyline, one by one. The ending has a feeling of finality; this is one story that could never have a sequel; Tolkien shows that in a war like this, there is no true "happy ending." Even if the good guys win, there will still be scarring, and death, and haunting memories of what once happened. And even if a person survives, he will never be the same.
This is the grimmest of the three books in this trilogy. Frodo and Sam are stuck in the vividly horrific Mordor, while the city of Minas Tirith is on the verge of completely crumbling. Tolkien does a phenomenal job of exploring the madness, despair, rage and sorrow that accompany a war, and the way it can affect even the idyllic Shire. And he doesn't forget the slow period of healing that follows -- for people, for civilizations, and even for nature.
Though a section of the book near the end descends into near-biblical prose, which changes post-Gondor, Tolkien does not waver in his ability to evoke emotion. One of the most touching scenes in the book is when Sam finds Frodo naked, unconscious and being beaten by an orc. Others include Merry's farewell to Theoden, Eowyn's slaying of the Witch-King, and of course the bittersweet final scene.
Speaking of Frodo, this trilogy's hero is almost unrecognizable in parts of this book. The bright, naive young hobbit of the first book has been worn down to a pale shadow of himself. As he grows increasingly attached to the Ring, we even see him doing what seems unimaginable: threatening Sam with a dagger. Sam has come a long way from the shy young hobbit who couldn't say a word around the High Elves -- now he's attacking orcs and carrying Frodo to Mount Doom.
And the supporting characters are not neglected either, with the younger hobbits being exposed to the horrors of war, Aragorn breaking fully into his role as the future king of Gondor, and passionate war-maiden Eowyn affecting the war as nobody else could. Some much-loved characters are lost, and others will be permanently changed.
The story doesn't really end on the last page; for more background, especially on Aragorn and Arwen, readers should also read the appendices at the end of the book. Another good addition is "The End of the Third Age," in which the unpublished epilogue of this book can be found. Though this is probably not canonical, it nicely concludes the story and is a heartwarming look at what happens in the years following "Return of the King."
It's difficult, once the story has finished, to accept that one has to say goodbye to Middle-Earth and its enchanting inhabitants. But as Gandalf says, "I will not say: do not weep; for not all tears are an evil."
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2010
For those unaware of the relationship, this is the third part of the Lord of the Rings in a binding with a large fold out map. It was the binding I read first as a child, borrowing it continually from my local library, and so is the one I am most attched to. Many have seen the film, and may be unaware of quite how much the film left out of the book, so those who have seen the film and enjoyed it might appreciate the extra subtlety and detail provided by the book, as well whole events not even alluded to in the film. It really does tie up all the ends. The great romantic epic of evil overthrown is described fully. Tolkiens poetic narrative stlye is hinted at in the film, but looks at times slightly camp, whereas in the book it seeems much more natural and consistent. Some of the most dramatic moments and the most poignant are filmed, but are hard to really understand alone and out of context. In the book, that context is provided. The conclusion is much more satisfactory and meaningful. A landmark in literature.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 January 2017
Drawing on all the richness of centuries of mythology, Tolkien both built on masterpieces like Beowulf and created a new genre of literature, from which writers as diverse as Terry Pratchett, Douglas Adams and J K Rowling have drawn.

A superb plot, rich characterisation and a deeply moral, but not moralistic, worldview make this book one of the greatest ever written in English. As essential as Shakespeare, the King James bible or Dickens for an understanding of English Literature.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 March 2016
7 volume set of Lord of the Rings, divided the way Tolkien intended. I already have the 3 volume sets and the single large volume but this is the best set to have. Easy to hold and read and they come in a nice slipcase, looks attractive on my book shelf.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 March 2014
At the age of 58 and a dyslexic I have completed my first set of proper books. Why did I not force myself to overcome my reading horrors years ago, only a dyslexic will understand this statement. I could not believe the places that I visited in my mind, Mr Tolkien thank you for helping me to overcome and carry on, what will be the next book, a new world to visit. These books were fantastic, I never got bored, or skipped pages, I loved these book's, if you want to lose yourselves in a different worlds this is the read for you.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse