Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
37
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 March 2017
as expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2015
Kindle book, still reading it, but so far so good.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2002
I would recommend this book to any girls or teenagers who are interested in Anne Frank or the second world war. It is a good idea to read this book before starting to read the diary; as it gives a good description of Anne Frank's life before moving into hiding, her friends and her family. Anne was obviously a real flirt, and at times I laughed out loud at the things she did! But at others I almost cried to hear what happened in Anne Frank's life and other jewish childrens' when they moved to concentration camps. You can really sense what it would of been like before moving into the annexe, and then what kind of atmosphere there would of been in it. It also describes exactly what happened when the nazis found Anne and her family, and what it would of been like in the concentration camps. It is very moving to hear how Margot dies and what people really went through in the war, and shows how cruel the nazis really were.
A wonderfully sad tale, and yet a good one, to anyone who's never felt safe or has ever wondered about how life must of been for poor Anne during the second world war.
11 Comment| 65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2010
I'm reading this with my daughter aged 8, and we are both really enjoying it. Plenty of detail without being too onerous for children.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2011
Bought before trip to Amsterdam so that grandson would have a clearer understanding of Anne's story before we went to visit the house. It was a good move because the whole experience meant more to him having increased background knowledge and details. A moving story.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2013
I thought that this was interesting but was about the facts about who she was where she lived her family and more. I was hoping to read a bout the story of her diary instead of her details. It is very interesting if you are the kind of persons who wants to learn about the history side of her but i would recomend to read the diary if you want to learn about her experiences during her time in her hideout. I rated it 3 stars because i did learn quite a lot but I would have found the actual diary more interesting,
I hope this helped,
Bella
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2015
As someone who had heard of Anne Frank but knew nothing about her story this book is very informative. I read this before reading the diary and found it gave me a good insight as to what happened to Anne and her family after they were discovered. Great read would recommend it to anyone, also it's great for children.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2013
This was recommended as a book to read before embarking on the actual diary. As a 44 year old there are many things I haven't understood about the Holocaust and what Hitler did but this really explains everything. Well worth reading.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
I loved this book and the author did a wonderful job of giving the reader an indepth insight into Anne Frank's life as well as other people who were touched by Anne.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
Anne Frank's story is just outstanding! Because of what she's been though and how she has coped with it, Anne Frank has become my rolemodal.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse