Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
33
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 September 2015
Playing catchup so I'm commenting on a lot of Kim Harrison books all at once and they are addicted once you get into them
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The latest book by Kim Harrison which fans around the world has had fans waiting for what feels like an age. However what will cause some concern is that depending where you're getting it from will depend upon the title to which it will have which will cause no end of confusion as fans chat about the events upon different message boards.

As you've come to expect from Kim's writing its witty, classy and a book that concentrates upon the characterisation and interaction of the principle protagonista and her Investagative Posse. Addictive, fun and above all a story that will amuse not only the fans but open darker doors for which we can only speculate as to how much trouble Rachel is going to wonder into in later novels. However one thing I would say to readers is, if this is your first KH book, don't, whilst it is the newest you will lose out on a whole host of adventure as well as plot points by having missed out the earlier tales. You could read it as a new reader but to do so would ruin the opportunity of reading the earlier novels as certain plot points are gently placed within this book's pages.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
love the book half way through I was gripped... the hours of reading felt like seconds...hard book to put down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2012
yes this one was really good follows the theme well in good condition was a great read role on the next
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2016
This is one of my favourite series - I would highly recommend this book to anyone :):) <3 <3
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2009
This is actually the US import of Where Demons Dare so if you already have that don't buy this!Where Demons Dare (Rachel Morgan 6)
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2016
Allthe following books were requested as presents, and were thoroughly enjoyed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2008
Well here we are, Rachel Morgan book 6 already. If you have read the previous books in the series you should know what to expect by now and this will not disappoint her fans.

Several months have passed since the end of the previous book and our plucky heroine is still trying to come to terms with all that happened back then. It's nearly Halloween and out on a shopping trip with her mother Rachael is attacked by her old enemy 'Al' who should of been locked away in Demon prison with no hope of release. Escaping Al with the help of an unexpected ally she learns someone is summoning Al every night and leaving him unbound and free to kill her as the Demons reward. Rachael must find out who before one of Al's attacks succeed.

Personally I thought Book 5 (For a Few Demons More) even though it was the darkest novel so far, it was also the best in the series uptil now. Where Demons Dare does not have the same impact the previous book did mainly because this one concentrates a lot more on the resolution of the many issues Rachaels was left with back then rather than the "threat to our heroine" plotline. Most of the earlier novels are fairly evenly split between the action / soap-opera sections, this one feels more about the character development.

This isn't neccassarily a bad thing as Kim Harrison writes about all the character interactions very well and the interpersonal relationships between all the characters is one of the best points of the series. The loss of her boyfriend(s) and how she moves on, her relationship with Ivy, dealing with the dark magic she has had to use and a number of suprising revalations dealing with Trent and their parents - these actually seem to be the main plot threads that are handled in this book.

As has been typical in the series so far certain plot-threads will continue on into the next book or two. Now that many of Rachaels personal problem are resolved (to a greater of lesser extent) at the end of this novel, here's hoping these see her returning back to usual ass-kicking self.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2015
Another fab book by Kim Harrison. Love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2011
i would like to know why kindle edition books are so expensive? this particular book is more expensive than a paperback copy - obviously publishing in e-format is much cheaper - why the price gouging? amazon makes more than enough profit without this - please check the relative prices before you commit to paying far more than is reasonable.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse