Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
38
4.3 out of 5 stars
The Road to Jerusalem
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.99


on 20 October 2015
If you like the subjecy this is quite good just dont think of it as history
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2002
I read the whole trilogy - and the following book about Arn Magnusson's son, all in Norwegian language. Loving fiction, but being interested in ancient history, these books appealed to me like the books about indians when I was a child (long ago now). Most interesting is that even if the first book is excellent, the two (three) following are even more exciting. They give insight not only into Swedish and Nordic history, but also The "political world" of the 12th century. It even made me reflect about today's Middle East conflict; the leaders in Israel and Palestine could maybe learn something about how things might be solved to the better - together - by reading these, especially the Knight's Templar. And not to forget, the plots and the the personalities described in detail are fantastic, I really came to know them all in person while reading.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 January 2004
The Road to Jerusalem is the first in a trilogy of historical novels tracking the life of Arn, from boyhood to his participation in the crusades. It gives a unique insight into the historical realities of the day, from papal influence to pagan kings, the rise of Islam and militant Christianity and their crossroads in the battles for control of Jerusalem.
The characters are well developed, the historical detail legion and the intrigue spun like the finest tapestry of the time round plots and subplots with a firm thread holding it all together and making it an absolute pleasure to read.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2007
This book is the first of a Trilogy- which are indeed a great read - they have all the elements of a great story and are being made into a movie currently. The books are quick to read (read addictive) and contain that ever so brilliant combination of factual figures based around real events and real people. We rarely get a glimpse of the Nordic countries post Viking and pre Ikea. These books are written by an author that i would only urge Orion to publish more of.
However only 2 of the 3 books ("The Road to Jerusalem", "The Temple Knight") are available - the last instalment - "The kingdom at the end of the road" or "Riket vid vägens slut") is pretty much MIA - no longer in publication and not in stock. Thus whilst a great story and a worthwhile read - you will have to wait for the 3 part movie (in production check imdb) to find the conclusion.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2010
To understand my review ...you must have seen the movie The Kingdom of Heaven. I am thinking Ridley Scott has read this book too.

There are so many similarities between the book and that movie...that at first i thought the movie was the result of the book. Can't be coincedence right?

Example: Arn like Balian from the movie are both tasked with protecting travellers in the holy land. Both Arn and Balian met their later enemy and became more or less friends AND got saved by them. Both Arn and Balian didnt become the leaders of their respective sides.(Seemed like it would have changed the events if they did)

Sadly for the movie..it was not. The book (isn't it always)was much much better. It describes the end of the kingdom of Jerusalem. It took time to explain how the templar order has changed since arn was in the holy land.

Anyway it's a wonderfull story and a worthy 2nd part of the trilogy.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2009
Having read a number of books of this period by British Authors I was intrigued to see a series written by a Nordic Author. Although I was unfamiliar with the style (and the locations described) it was a book I thoroughly enjoyed and I immediately opened the next one in the series to continue reading the saga.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2009
With its North European setting, this book provides an interesting perspective on the existing Medieval/Crusades fiction genre. It is mostly fairly captivating, with a well developed plot and cast of main characters. However, at points the book suffers from what I believe are editorial or perhaps translation mistakes, with certain sequences, statements and sentences lacking their apparently intended impact and a few sub-plots here and there simply vanish without being concluded, and are not mentioned again. This makes parts of the book a little confusing, but the novel remains a decent read.
One final point is that you should not expect conclusiveness from this book. Even as the first part of a trilogy, the plot is left wide open and you are left somewhat with the impression that what you've read was more of an extended introduction than a full novel.
22 Comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2010
I found this quite slow but still intrigueing this being the first in the trilogy I thought the 2nd and 3rd would improve but they were equally quite slow.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2016
Like many others I was left disappointed by the lack of conclusion to this part of the story. There is a very long build up to the final 20 pages which haven't left me wanting more.

Worse, however, is the awful state the Kindle edition is in. It is full of typos and formatting errors, with words crammed together and paragraph breaks mid sentence. I have submitted 65 errors via my device and have doubtless missed a few. The poor condition has a detrimental effect on the reading experience, hence the low rating
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2010
Whilst initially I wasn't sure as I started to read the first in the series, I became totally engrossed and read the next two in quick succession. The books are a great insight into the making of the Swedish royal family. They are exceptionally well written, and well, Arn is great character, though sometimes a little unbelievable as he rarely puts a foot wrong. Thoroughly recommend reading and just wish the films were in English!
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse