Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 28 January 2012
Laurence and Temeraire are finally back in Britain after their long travels - but all is not well with their friends, dragon and human. The pair are forced to take off to Africa - and make a very tough decision that affects their lives at the most profound level...

I really love these books, and it's a delight to be back in the company of Temeraire's companions, especially grumpy, enormous Maximus. I felt that this book, in particular, really raises the emotional stakes for our friends, with some hard decisions being taken on the sides of both Laurence and Temeraire.

I really don't want to say any more about the plot which would spoil things for other readers. Suffice to say these are brilliantly written books with real heart and soul. The relationship between Laurence and Temeraire is wonderfully realised, with some very underplayed but incredibly moving scenes towards the end.

More, perhaps, that the other books in the series, this ends on a bit of a cliffhanger so it's well worth having the next instalment (Victory of Eagles (Temeraire 5) ready for the moment you finish this. I can't get enough of this series - highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 August 2016
Due to poor formatting and editing in the Kindle edition, I can't in good conscience rate this higher than 2 stars. Otherwise I'd rate it at 3.8 or so; a fun read, if sometimes lacking the tension of the earlier books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 April 2017
Enjoying book Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 March 2017
great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 June 2013
Still well written, engaging and entertaining.

I tend to devour these books, with the strange side effect that I find myself talking like Captain Lawrence for a day or so after.
I think my favourite thing about the books (other than the dragons) is that Naomi has so succesfully brought to life a 19th centure Englishman, with the ridiculous patriotism and unconcious prejudice that entails. And then challenges these through the voice of Temeraire. Its masterfully done.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 February 2008
Novik is back on form with the fourth book in the Temeraire series. The pace is great at the beginning and end of the book but lags a bit in the middle. The cliffhanger ending left me frustrated, mostly because I'm impatient and want to know what happens next.
This is a great series of books. The period detail is fantastic and I love the fact that the characters interact with real historical figures such as Nelson and Napolean. The manners and way of speaking seem very authentic to me. If you've read any Austen or Hardy you will be familiar with the strict etiquette and precise language of the time.
I recently started a friend on these books who is a great fan of the Patrick o Brien books (Master and Commander etc.), which are set in the same era and he loved them so its not just a book for fantasy fans!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Last year, Naomi Novik burst into the fantasy scene with three highly entertaining novels which earned her the John W. Campbell Award. Temeraire/His Majesty's Dragon, Throne of Jade, and Black Powder War were a veritable breath of fresh air in an otherwise often stagnating genre, each installment showing more potential than its predecessor. Using the Napoleonic Wars as a backdrop, Novik revitalized the oldest cliché in fantasy -- the dragons. And in so doing, she created something fresh, hip and extremely original.

Hence, it was somewhat of a tall order to follow this up. Indeed, Empire of Ivory needed to live up to the high expectations generated by the first three volumes in the series. And once more, Naomi Novik, writing with the skills of a veteran and with remarkable panache, rose to the occasion!

A tragedy has struck His Majesty's Aerial Corps. An epidemic of unknown origin is decimating the dragons' fleet, forcing most of the survivors into quarantine. Which leaves England virtually defenseless against Bonaparte's encroaching armies. As France's sorties become bolder and more frequent with each passing day, it's up to Laurence and Temeraire, along with a few uninfected dragons, to find a cure to the deadly contagion. Their mission takes them to distant Africa, where they believe a cure might be discovered. Yet in the heart of that mysterious continent lies a secret which could change everything. . .

Once again, Novik builds on existing storylines and comes up with a number of fascinating new plotlines. In previous reviews I claimed that some facets of Novik's earlier Temeraire novels hinted at a lot more depth than meets the eye. And Empire of Ivory demonstrates that it is indeed the case, and no doubt about it.

I must admit that I feared that this series would become a bit formulaic and episodic in style and tone, with Temeraire and Laurence coming through at the end of every book. Well, let's just say that Naomi Novik disabused me of that notion with this one. The author has quite a few surprises up her sleeve, which Empire of Ivory proves beyond the shadow of a doubt.

My only complaint lies in the fact that this novel ends with a major cliffhanger. Don't get me wrong: This one is as self-contained as the previous volumes. But I hate the fact that I now have to wait a year before discovering what happens next, especially in light of that ending! Incidentally, the next volume will be published in hardcover (at least in North America).

With four interesting and entertaining novels under her belt, there is no question that Naomi Novik is for real. And with such accessible books, it won't be long before she surpasses Anne McCaffrey as the "dragon lady."

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2007
In terms of writing, I would rank it either on the same level or slightly below Black Powder War. Better than Throne of Jade but nowhere near Temeraire. It does feel rushed, then first part was mostly me yelling at the characters for being so thick and there was a lot of repetition. Out of a four hundred page book, it took them more than 100 pages for them to actually get the Africa, meaning that a sea voyage of several months had to be cut to barley 15 pages. In comparison it's better than the hundreds of pages dwelling on that in Throne of Jade, but I do think it should have been longer, dwelling more on Harcourt and Riley's relationship, and the tension between Lawrence and Riley, and perhaps developing Erasmus' character a bit more.

The Africa chapters were pretty good on the other hand, the search for the mushroom was well done, giving a sense of tension without taking so long as to get dull. I liked that finding the mushroom wasn't even half the struggle, that they still needed to find more, and how the cave full of mushrooms was turned into a plot point. I thought some of the confrontations were a bit rushed, but the ideas in that blew the book straight out of the doldrums. They was incredible. I loved how the dragons had been incorperated so seamlessly into African culture, and the little fragment at the back of the book was wonderful. Equally, the mention that the Inca empire is still alive and well due to the dragons has me squeeing.

Once again, I deeply admire how Novik makes every character that Lawrence and Temeraire come into conflict with so believably sympathetic. I am a bit annoyed that al the characters she kills are those that won't be missed. However, she does at least kill them realistically and it's always a shock.
And once again, I love how Novik deals with the problems of a Nepoleonic setting, the institutionalised rascism and sexism, by making them part of the plot. The inclusion of the Abolitionalists in this book not only enrich the setting, but also provide a nice comparison with Dragon Rights that were rather neglected in BPW.

Oh Lawrence, Lawrence, you brave, honourable idiot. Like Temeraire, I want to hug you and kick you in equal amounts. *hugs*

All in all, a fairly good book, getting better and better as you go along. The first part is mediocer, the second part is good but with some drawbacks, and the third is just plain fantastic. It's not mistake that the third is also the shortest. Novik needs to learn not to pad her writing too much.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 11 June 2011
When i picked this book up it was in the hope that naomi had managed to keep going a series that is both action packed and filled with great characters, and to start with i was worried, the action was not there, what was there though, was a new depth to the characters, a real depth of sadness and despair for Captain william laurence that really carried over to the reader, but was also counter balanced by the intelligence but naivety of Temeraire and his dragon friends.

And for those that dont care about that and just want the action...do not worry, when it does arrive it does so in spades.
As usual i finished the book in about 24 hours and was left really looking forward to the next, and that the only pointer i need to know its been a great book, if a little slower and has the potential for the series to be flogged a little too hard...maybe more concentration on the books rather than the movies??
(Parm)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 October 2007
The fourth part in Naomi's epic Temeraire series (Or His Majesties Dragon if youre in the US) and one that gets back more to the flavour of the first two with the last feeling a bit more like a filler to me. Cracking read and if you know a fan of Dragon fiction and they've not heard of this series then it's a must buy, especially for fans of Anne McCaffrey.

Wonderfully written with the continual growth of the characters both personally and emotionally, especially the complex dragon/rider relationship between the two principle protagonists. Idealistic, alternative fantasy fiction topped off with enough writing talent to keep the reader more than satisfied and demonstrates why Naomi is so popular amongst critics and fans alike, with the film rights having been bought by Peter Jackson.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse