Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 18 November 2017
Bought as a gift, and much appreciated
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2017
Very good read guiding us to be conscious thinkers in all we create on a daily basis
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2017
I really enjoyed reading this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2017
Excellent! Thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 29 August 2012
The Intention Experiment by Lynne McTaggart, Element (HarperCollins), 2007, 350 ff

This book is really a sequel to McTaggart's best-selling book, The Field. The Field gave us a detailed account of the quantum or zero point field - what is was and how its existence and properties had been confirmed and investigated by a number of prominent quantum physicists, mainly though not exclusively in America. McTaggart is herself an American journalist and had access to researchers that you and I would never get a chance to meet, so the information in that book and this comes directly from the researchers involved. This book tells us how we can all transmit positive wellbeing through this cosmic field.

There have now been several books published providing the evidence that our mental state influences - perhaps even determines is not too strong a word - our physical wellbeing and, even more remarkably, the wellbeing of others. No book that I have read explains this more comprehensively than this one. These findings that are still viewed with scepticism by some mainstream materialist scientists, but there is now a wealth of empirical evidence to refute their denial. Although McTaggart is not a scientist herself, her journalistic skills allow her to present quite complex ideas in a way that makes them accessible to all.

Spiritual healers and psychokinetic practitioners can affect the chemical bonding in water, as demonstrated by Masaru Emoto. Chinese qigong master and physicist was able to use the technique to kill harmful bacteria in the laboratory. Herbert Benson and Bruce Lipton have shown the powerful effects, both negative and positive, of corresponding states of belief. We all know from everyday experience how we feel calmer in the presence of someone who is themselves calm but agitated by someone in a state of stress. These and many other examples are discussed by McTaggart in this excellent, authoritative and inspiring book. I suspect that those who view the ideas in this book negatively were confirmed unbelievers before they started and in fact demonstrate the very effect McTaggart is describing.

Howard Jones is the author of The Tao of Holism

The Field: The Quest for the Secret Force of the Universe
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 December 2014
The basic premise of this book is that thoughts have power. The power to heal, the power to change and the power to project. Unfeasible? Maybe, but unlike you Lynne McTaggart has done extensive research in to the power of thought and the results are intriguing to say the least (if you leave out the bit about homeopathy anyway).

The book was part of a global experiment to determine how far this thought-power goes and how its effects can be measured. I didn’t partake but many thousands of people did and the results are interesting and suggest that what we think of as our reality is connected in more ways than we can see. There were various experiments to increase the germination rate of seeds, change photon emissions from water and plants, changing the molecular structure of water and a fairly ambitious one involving world peace.

It all sounds a little woo-woo but these are genuine, peer reviewed, crowdsourced scientific experiments on the nature of consciousness and it’s effect on the physical matter of the universe. Quantum Physics high-street style, if you like.

The mechanics of it are that we live in a giant electromagnetic (EM from now on) soup made up of the natural EM fields from the earth, our own EM fields and those caused by other living organisms. We interact with this soup, and therefore everything else, all of the time but our potential is increased in groups or when multiple people focus their thoughts. These intentions can be positive, negative or just noise and how we think affects the world around us and how others perceive us.

Ever been in a room when someone walks in and you get ‘that feeling’? There it is at work. McTaggart also claims that our minds affect our surroundings even when we are not conciously sending intention so be careful what you are thinking.

We all use some level of intent everyday whether we realise it or not. People pray, people wish for things and people hope. In some small way all of these count but could count more when performed in concert and with a specific focus. Can you wish to win the lottery? Apparently not. It only works with systems subject to quantum influence like organisms (people, plants, animals) and natural systems subject to the EM soup previously mentioned.

A good book, bound to irritate some people and amaze others but worth adding to any fortean library.

Oh and homeopathy? It’s still sugar and water no matter what Lynne McTaggart says.
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 November 2013
This is a very interesting book and thankfully a million miles away from 'The Secret' and the plethora of books in a similar vein. If you want to get nearer to what `The Secret' tries to convey this is it, a cross between a scientific and spiritual book. Although I was disappointed to find that behind the scenes, it does follow the same modus operandi i.e. franchise/multiple selling/courses etc. Some readers have had a dig at the science behind parts of the research. I doubt a book exists that someone will not have had a pop at but in this instance I would say dismiss negative views and buy the book, although the reviews are interesting and well worth reading. It is true that in parts it is questionable just how objective the author has been but overall it is thought provoking. That said I do not stick with a book unless it provides useful 'how to' information or is deeply thought provoking. I recommended the book to someone who is known for a 'glass half empty' take on life and I still shake my head at the profound change in him, his glass is now fuller than my own. I refer to a grounded individual who is often surprised at my own choice of reading, 96% non-fiction research, and business orientated but with a good smattering of the esoteric.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 14 January 2010
Although very interesting, and certainly stronger on the science aspects than a lot of similar titles.

The author very much wants you to believe that this is a thorough and objective investigation of scientific evidence available for the power of thought to affect the physical world. It might be thorough, but it's not really that objective. Although generally well-written, the main short-comings (given that it is presented as a science book rather than a spiritual book) are:

1. It seems to assume that many unproven phenomena, such as ESP, faith healing, psychokinesis, etc, are fact - and then presents studies to explain how these phenomena work, without ever questioning in the first place whether or not the phenomena actually exist.

2. In line with the first point above, she is very keen to explain away results that don't fit her hypotheses, but never questions studies which support them, even if alternative explanations are readily available. For example, in one section she says that plants did not respond to an event as predicted because they were 'too attuned' to the mental state of the experimenter - rather than the more usual conclusion one might draw that the plants did not respond as predicted because the theory being tested was false. This is just one example of many.

3. She does not distinguish in the slightest between results published in high quality journals such as Nature or The Lancet, studies published in rather more dubious journals, and personal anecdotes - all are referenced and given the same weight in her accounts.

4. She reports some remarkable findings such as studies demonstrating Qigong masters being able to knock people over through the power of thought alone, without ever addressing the obvious question of 'If this has been demonstrated in a reproduceable environment, why isn't it huge news that everyone knows about?' - but this comes back to her habit of treating personal anecdote as being just as worthy as evidence published in respected peer reviewed journals.

But, having said all that, it is a very interesting read, it does present a lot more science than most similar titles (albeit some of it pretty dodgy), and you never know, some of it could be spot on. I don't regret buying the book, but it wasn't as exciting as I'd hoped it would be.
1111 Comments| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 July 2016
The book is extremely well written and contains lots of information for anyone interested in, say, ESP and healing but it hasn't been updated. It links to the website home page which has been unavailable since May 2015. The Facebook page hasn't been updated in ages and messages there receive no acknowledgement. It's as if the author has died (but I'm fairly sure she hasn't). In short, It was frustrating to read a book that seemed to offer membership to a "private club" only to discover that it didn't. If the author reads this, I suggest updating the links in the book, updating the web site and monitoring your Facebook page.

Note: Parts of the web site are still there if you can find them.

I spotted a few errors in the Kindle edition:

"A fixed valve resistor" (should be value).
"no matter now far away" (how).
"it become" (became)
"hair's breath" (should be "hair's breadth")
"worse excesses of man" (should be worst)
Modern TVs don't use 11,000 volts so that paragraph should be rewritten.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse