Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 April 2017
where does she get her ideas from? I recommend any Robin Hobb book - great story
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
Great series. I love the Rain Wild books
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
This book follows closely on from the Tawny Man trilogy though changing the perspective to that of the new Dragons and Rain Wilders.

It follows the pattern of other Hobb books and feels like the start of a trilogy with lots of time being spent introducing the main characters and explaining their backgrounds and motivation. This however is also one of its failings the author spends too much time on the sexual preferences of certain characters adding detail where none is required.

This would have been a 4 star review if she could cut down on the gratuitous sex and spend more time on the main plot line. It won't stop me buying the next book but I'll probably read something else first.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2015
Fantastic book, another brilliant story by Robin.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
I love these stories. Dragons, magic, love, intrigue and fighting. What more could you want. part of a series need to be read in order.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2010
I'm a big fan of Robin Hobb books. And again it was a pleasure to read her work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
This book and series lack the detail, imagery and enthusiasm of earlier works, there are few if any new ideas and invention. The author had a wonderful opportunity to create a literary feast , building on the magical side of the rain wilds and the dragons themselves. Instead of a banquet of ideas and invention, we are served a convenience meal of burger and fries as the author plods through page after page, clearly fulfilling a publishing contract to earn a fast buck, what a waste of ingredients. The latter books in the series are also shorter in length as the saga is chopped into as many pieces as possible to maximise earnings. There is no effort made to ensure the books in the series provide a stand-alone story, all of the sub plots are left hanging in mid air at the end of each book. The fact that the books are then padded out with pointless recaps just highlights the cynical process of ripping off readers. By the end of the third book fans are left with the choice of persevering and buying the hugely over-priced and final book 4, in the hope that the various story threads are pulled together, or giving up. I advise not starting the series as sadly the author couldn't be bothered to finish the final book, with poor, weak or lazy conclusions to various story lines. This has to be one of the biggest literary let downs ever and one can only weep and the lost opportunity. Spend your money on the author's earlier books or elsewhere, junk food adds little to the quality of life.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2009
Given that this book is part one of two, it is exceptionally good. Without that understanding though, you may wonder why it only really starts to get exciting right at the end with the rest of the book being gentle set-up.

Robin Hobb's writing style is beautiful. Slightly flowery but never too ornate for clarity, it soothes and calms me. The writing in this book flows particularly well with characters and places coming alive through careful descriptions.

Her world is, in my opinion, her strongest selling point. The realm of the Elderlings has been carefully constructed in other books (it is probably helpful though by no means necessary to have read at least the Liveships before this one) and is continued here. The life cycle of the dragons is given a strong focus and there are delightful peaks at Elderling relics, magical objects from a lost time. It feels unique in the world of fantasy as it does not draw on medieval times but a more prosperous era of trading and travel with a Puritanical society.

The characters themselves aren't as fresh as those in her other books (for example, the Liveships series with the pirate Kennit) but they are presented with the potential to be magnificent after a bit of growing up. A strength of this book is the multiple point of view storytelling which allows for the same character to be seen from different perspectives. The cast is quite small though and it takes very little time for them to become embroiled in the same plot making it easier to follow than many other sprawling multi-pov fantasy books. Plus her depiction of how dragons think is fantastic.

The book covers themes of marriage, sexuality, deformity, appearance, society, emancipation... and I daresay I have missed many. The plot is simply the formation of a ragtag band, including dragons, travelling to find a better place.

Overall I highly recommend this book and other books by Robin Hobb. Her writing is lyrical and her worlds original.
0Comment| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2017
A nice easy read, bit slow at times and not a great amount happens but the characters really draw you in. Its more of a set up for the series, & the second book especially (which is amazing & hits the ground running with excitement in comparison) also hasn't got as many characters and sub plots as other fantasy books such as Game of Thrones or Wheel of Time, but makes it a nice enjoyable read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2017
Very good condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse